PDA

View Full Version : Is there a point to the single-player campaign?

Vladimir_Berkov
03-19-2008, 08:34 PM
Hello, I am new to IL2 1946 having just bought it two weeks ago. I was hoping I would have some fun with some nice single player campaign action flying as a Russian. I am really just after the simple pleasures of winning medals, watching the war advance, new planes come online, etc. Just like it was in the orignal Red Baron, Aces of the Pacific, etc.

I am finding the Russian fighter campaign absurdly difficult, however, and can't figure out why! It seems basically impossible to fly the I-16 type 18 against any enemy fighter, 109 or 110. The 109s always seem to have an altitude advantage, as do my I-16 AI wingmates. I usually end up flying around half-stalled trying to gain altitude following a dogfight around the map while hearing frantic radio messages. When I am lucky enough to get into some action, I am either getting blasted head-on by a 109 from 12 o'clock high or else watching a 109 zoom by and disappear like a rocket into the sky.

Pretty much the only kills I get are damaged enemies that I am lucky enough to finish off, or bombers which at least are usually slow enough to catch, although it is hard to down the bombers with 4 x 7.62 machineguns.

What the heck am I doing wrong? Should I just give up on my single-player campaign dream?

ffb
03-19-2008, 08:47 PM
It was probably pretty much like that at the start of the war for the russians http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Wepps
03-19-2008, 08:59 PM
Get in the hairballs, find a 109, get close and blow his wing off. You have the most powerful guns in the theatre according to Oleg. If you're more than 2km from the fight, just hit autopilot lol.

VW-IceFire
03-19-2008, 09:34 PM