PDA

View Full Version : RAF Singapore Campaign HELP!



LegolasGreenlef
06-04-2007, 01:28 AM
Guys im playing the RAF First Operation which is the Singapore Campaing. After I am done with it will there be a second operation and will I ever get to fly the Spitfire with the RAF under Pilot Career?

GerritJ9
06-04-2007, 02:52 AM
If you are flying a Buffalo, then forget Spitfires. From memory, they don't appear over Singapore in that campaign- they didn't appear in real life either. Get used to the Buffalo, discover its strengths and weaknesses over your opponents. One thing you can do to help improve its overall performance is to set fuel load at start of mission at 50%, which was what the RAF did in real life (the RAF used 60%). You only require a full fuel load on long-range missions since the Buff had a better range on 60% than the Hurricane on full load. The Buff's behaviour is transformed with a lower fuel load. Unfortunately, it isn't possible to modify the Buff like the RAF did since the programming is locked, and a "Field mod" Buff isn't in the sim (nor, for that matter, is a "Field mod" Far East Hurricane IIB).
You MIGHT get a Hurricane IIB later on (it's been ages since I flew that campaign) but as you will discover the Hurri doesn't improve matters against A6M2 and Ki.43- in 1942, it didn't improve matters either.

Breeze147
06-04-2007, 08:44 AM
I flew the Hurricane in that campaign. Most of the missions were of the suicide variety. You won't make it back from long escort missions without running out of fuel. I finally finished it and was time warped to 1945 to fly cover for the U.S.S. Indianapolis. At that point, I quit.

DKoor
06-04-2007, 09:16 AM
Hurricane over Singapore is nothing short of a suicide campaign... but not because it's hard (it certainly is that too) but because they simply send you to one way trip without enough fuel to make it to target and home.

Quit that campaign if you want to play for RAF play NWEurope campaign, or best yet, go at DCG pages (my sig) and check that out.

Xiolablu3
06-04-2007, 12:06 PM
Yeah LowenGrins DCG is amazing, replace the ingame DGEN with it so its integrated into IL2, then fly allt he Spitfire campaigns you want.

There is also a good Spitfire campaign in the top20 downloadable missions at M4T

Battle of Malta, Gladiator>Spitfire>Beafighter

http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=309

As long as you have got 1946 you will be able to play any of them.

LegolasGreenlef
06-04-2007, 12:43 PM
Where can i find the NWEurope Campaign?

Xiolablu3
06-04-2007, 01:33 PM
I think you have to download the USAAF and RAF packs, maybe?

That gives you all the RAF and USAAF voices.

If I start an RAF campaign in 1946 after new install, I can only fly the Singapore campaign if I pick RAF too.

LegolasGreenlef
06-04-2007, 03:36 PM
Alright, the DCG Campaign generator is too painstaking and complicated and makes no sense. Can someone just point me to a good long realistic SPitfire campaign please?

DKoor
06-04-2007, 04:21 PM
Hey Legolas I have a link for ya.. check your PM http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Phil_K
06-05-2007, 06:58 AM
Thoroughly recommend Miker8's "Hurricanes Singapore" campaign for those who haven't tried it....

http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=1298

Xiolablu3
06-05-2007, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by LegolasGreenlef:
Alright, the DCG Campaign generator is too painstaking and complicated and makes no sense. Can someone just point me to a good long realistic SPitfire campaign please?

Simply click 'Replace ingame DGen' from the options at the top of DCG.

The you get lots of options of Dynamic Campaigns where you can choose tofly the plane you want when you start a new mission.