PDA

View Full Version : Smooth FoV zoom on all CH setup?

GoToAway
08-08-2006, 07:01 AM
I'm new to CH.

On my X45, I had it set up so that I could smoothly zoom the FoV using the hat. I haven't been able to get this working with my CH gear. Anyone want to point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Capt.LoneRanger
08-08-2006, 07:45 AM
You can assign keys (or Joytick-Buttons) to "Increase FOV" and "Decrease FOV" (under controls). If you know what keys you used in your X45 setup, you can assign the keys a hat of your CH-HOTAS.
On the other hand, it isn't a big deal to remap these functions.

GoToAway
08-08-2006, 10:46 AM
Originally posted by Capt.LoneRanger:
You can assign keys (or Joytick-Buttons) to "Increase FOV" and "Decrease FOV" (under controls). If you know what keys you used in your X45 setup, you can assign the keys a hat of your CH-HOTAS.
On the other hand, it isn't a big deal to remap these functions. I know. The thing is, that is not a smooth zoom. I don't want to have to hit the the button ten times to zoom out 10 steps. I want to hit it once.

The Saitek's software, it was pretty easy to bind increase/decrease FoV to any key and then use a macro to continually press that key while the hat on the hat switch was pushed in one direction. Hence it zoomed smoothly.

I'd like to know how to do this with CH hardware. I know it's possible. I just don't know how to do it (and I'm hoping that I don't need to go in and learn the scripting language, because I really don't have a desire to do anything more than this. I'm just so used to playing this way that I can't play without it.)

Crash_Moses
08-08-2006, 11:04 AM
I think it has to do with how fast your keyboard recognizes key presses. There is often a delay programmed in to cut down on unwanted key presses. I had the same problem with my F-22 but fortunatly Thrustmaster allowed for changing the key press speed in the programming.