PDA

View Full Version : Need help with 109 sight -- Not centered!



sparx1951
08-24-2006, 08:37 PM
I am currently playing the Pilot Career segment of the game, flying for Finland.

I just was upgraded from the P-39 to the BF109 and the gun sight is not centered on the windscreen.

Can I fix this, I tried in 'controls' but moving left and right sight commands must be for bombsight only.

Check out my screen shot.
Thanks for assistance.
jim
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v281/sparx21/bf109shot.jpg

AFJ_rsm
08-24-2006, 08:40 PM
press shift F1

sparx1951
08-24-2006, 08:52 PM
That works!
thanks AFJ, is this in the fold out manual? If it is obviously I missed it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_redface.gif

Appreciate the help.
sparx

Scharnhorst1943
08-24-2006, 08:54 PM
For future referance, if you ever fly the Val or the Oscar, "CTR D" will open the gunsight. You can change it, though.

Also, if you ever start flying bombers, you press "SHIFT F1" to look into the level bomb sight.

sparx1951
08-24-2006, 10:08 PM
Ok Scharnhorst thanks.
There is so much to learn on how to operate this game (or the planes) but that's what makes it so enjoyable.

Have yet to play online, I am trying to finish out the campaign with Finland. Been playing now for about 3 weeks, ordered 2 gig of RAM this game seems to need more than the 1 gig I have now.

I still need to pick up headphones, just have not had the time.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
sparx

Scharnhorst1943
08-24-2006, 10:46 PM
Are you using the stock campaigns, or have you downloaded Lowengrin's DCG? If you have not I highly recomend doing so. It is really complicated at first, but I would be able and willing to walk you through it. Definitely get it, especially if you are going online. Once you get the hang of it, which won't be that long, you will be able to do coop and dogfight campaigns with really cool objectives and other affects.

That is because DCG lets you control and edit more parameters and adds more "randomness" I guess you would call it. Anyway, something to think about. Here is the link

DCG 3.28 (http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php?view.103)

And here is the readme files, which I will be able to help explain

DCG documentation (http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php?list.7)

If you have any questions, you can either PM me and we can have a private topic where I walk you through it and explain how easy it is to create your own or modify existing campaigns. If you decide to stick with the original DGEN, that is cool to. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Either way you decide, you will be happy. And I agree. The great thing about this sim is that there is always someone better than you OR you can play your whole life, and never fully 100% master this game. The replay value of this game is what makes it. It would be sunk if not for the Dynamic Campaign.

mortoma1958
08-24-2006, 11:02 PM
You upgraded from a what?? Finland did not fly any P-39s. They had a tendency to fly captured planes but I don't have any recollection of the Finns capturing any of those. And it's certainly not available to fly the P-39 for the Finns in game, since it's a red planes the the Finns are on blue ( axis ) side.

hamrtime
08-25-2006, 01:37 AM
Yes, as far as I know, the Finns flew P-36's, Fokker DXXI's, Hurricanes, and a few others captured, but no P-39s.

Kaiser_W
08-25-2006, 02:05 AM
LMAO

Knowing that should make the dogfights a lot easier. Although I have shotdown planes with the gunsight in the default position. Centering the sight takes a lot of guesswork out of it.

JG53Frankyboy
08-25-2006, 04:26 AM
Originally posted by hamrtime:
Yes, as far as I know, the Finns flew P-36's, Fokker DXXI's, Hurricanes, and a few others captured, but no P-39s.

http://www.sci.fi/~ambush/faf/color.html (http://www.sci.fi/%7Eambush/faf/color.html)

sparx1951
08-25-2006, 07:31 AM
Originally posted by mortoma1958:
You upgraded from a what?? Finland did not fly any P-39s. They had a tendency to fly captured planes but I don't have any recollection of the Finns capturing any of those. And it's certainly not available to fly the P-39 for the Finns in game, since it's a red planes the the Finns are on blue ( axis ) side.

Hey I am no expert but I am flying the stock campaign (Pilot Career section) began with Finland and my teams icons (labels) on the planes were "P39", issued after we got rid of th bi-plane, cannot recall the model. It is a stubby little plane, I crashed several!
sparx

sparx1951
08-25-2006, 07:35 AM
Originally posted by Scharnhorst1943:
Are you using the stock campaigns, or have you downloaded Lowengrin's DCG? If you have not I highly recomend doing so. It is really complicated at first, but I would be able and willing to walk you through it. Definitely get it, especially if you are going online. Once you get the hang of it, which won't be that long, you will be able to do coop and dogfight campaigns with really cool objectives and other affects.

That is because DCG lets you control and edit more parameters and adds more "randomness" I guess you would call it. Anyway, something to think about. Here is the link

DCG 3.28 (http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php?view.103)

And here is the readme files, which I will be able to help explain

DCG documentation (http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php?list.7)

If you have any questions, you can either PM me and we can have a private topic where I walk you through it and explain how easy it is to create your own or modify existing campaigns. If you decide to stick with the original DGEN, that is cool to. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Either way you decide, you will be happy. And I agree. The great thing about this sim is that there is always someone better than you OR you can play your whole life, and never fully 100% master this game. The replay value of this game is what makes it. It would be sunk if not for the Dynamic Campaign.

I am playing stock, I simply created a pilot and began the Pilot Carrer from the top which is Finland.

I will take your advice and download DCG. Not so sure I am ready to script my own campaign yet. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif But when I get a chance I will grab it and contact you Scharnhorst. Right now life has me very busy so it might be a while.
thx
Sparx

VMF-214_HaVoK
08-25-2006, 09:15 AM
1GB of ram is more then enough for this sim. The only thing you will noticed with 2GB is maybe a slight increase in mission load time not actual game play. My experience anyway. Perhaps you could have opted for a new GPU instead, although you may have a super card Im just guessing.

sparx1951
08-25-2006, 01:53 PM
I have a 7800 gtx with 256 meg of RAM. I have a 3700 AMD San Diego overclocked running at 249 x 11 or 2739. At times I get a millisecond of freeze, it happens when a voice begins, or as I have noticed with the map up on the screen a new enemy plane or squadron appears. I have had zero performance issues with this computer and other games. I notice after quitting the game my machine is a little sluggish for a while, as though the RAM does not get cleared immediately.


I also get very slow response when I end a mission, or quit the game. I have been told this is normal.
sparx

super71957
08-25-2006, 02:10 PM
After hitting shift f1 if I"m not mistaken you can hit end or page down to "slide" the seat forward or back for a different view.Sometimes shift f1 puts me to close to the gunsight other times not close enough.

Good Luck!

Craig

Fox_3
08-25-2006, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by sparx1951:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by mortoma1958:
You upgraded from a what?? Finland did not fly any P-39s. They had a tendency to fly captured planes but I don't have any recollection of the Finns capturing any of those. And it's certainly not available to fly the P-39 for the Finns in game, since it's a red planes the the Finns are on blue ( axis ) side.

Hey I am no expert but I am flying the stock campaign (Pilot Career section) began with Finland and my teams icons (labels) on the planes were "P39", issued after we got rid of th bi-plane, cannot recall the model. It is a stubby little plane, I crashed several!
sparx </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think you will find you mean B239, not P39.

sparx1951
08-25-2006, 02:49 PM
Originally posted by Fox_3:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by sparx1951:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by mortoma1958:
You upgraded from a what?? Finland did not fly any P-39s. They had a tendency to fly captured planes but I don't have any recollection of the Finns capturing any of those. And it's certainly not available to fly the P-39 for the Finns in game, since it's a red planes the the Finns are on blue ( axis ) side.

Hey I am no expert but I am flying the stock campaign (Pilot Career section) began with Finland and my teams icons (labels) on the planes were "P39", issued after we got rid of th bi-plane, cannot recall the model. It is a stubby little plane, I crashed several!
sparx </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think you will find you mean B239, not P39. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ah... you are correct! Well I got the "39" part correct anyway. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
Thanks for correcting me Fox_3

sparx