PDA

View Full Version : Oleg....



XyZspineZyX
10-08-2003, 12:48 PM
Hello... just wondering something...

Will Battle of britain contain more than one map? I explain my point...

What about making a giant map instead of few small ones. That would get rid of the trouble we actauuly have... everyone ask for particular maps.

You would cover a larger area, at the same time people wouldn't have any map request. Making half of the britain & France in the same map would be possible ?

I'm wondering how microsoft are making it, but they make the whole planet as a map, that gets rid of the map problems right there,

Just asking you if it's possible to make bigger maps in IL-2. I don't want a map..just want to know if it's feseable.

Thx for your time..

S~

XyZspineZyX
10-08-2003, 12:48 PM
Hello... just wondering something...

Will Battle of britain contain more than one map? I explain my point...

What about making a giant map instead of few small ones. That would get rid of the trouble we actauuly have... everyone ask for particular maps.

You would cover a larger area, at the same time people wouldn't have any map request. Making half of the britain & France in the same map would be possible ?

I'm wondering how microsoft are making it, but they make the whole planet as a map, that gets rid of the map problems right there,

Just asking you if it's possible to make bigger maps in IL-2. I don't want a map..just want to know if it's feseable.

Thx for your time..

S~

XyZspineZyX
10-08-2003, 06:57 PM
thats a good ider

XyZspineZyX
10-08-2003, 07:42 PM
it is a good idea yes .......but i think a big map may lag more than a little http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif remember the gulf of finland http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ONLINE think ONLINE http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Colonel Hawk
Officier en second
609em West Riding
Air Kill: 35
http://users.cybernet.be/fabian.esmiol/test.jpg
http://users.cybernet.be/fabian.esmiol/signature.jpg

XyZspineZyX
10-08-2003, 11:11 PM
rgr..i think Online as well. The thing is...how come Microsoft can model the whole planet...they been doing it since CFS1 back in 1998 or even maybe earlyer. The game is not lagging much than that if you take in consideration everything being loaded at the same time.

Well, maybe that IL-2 graphic engine demands too much on our computers, but sure thing is, it makes a good job on the game looks !!

S~

XyZspineZyX
10-09-2003, 03:12 AM
WUAF_Gen_Falco wrote:
- rgr..i think Online as well. The thing is...how come
- Microsoft can model the whole planet...they been
- doing it since CFS1 back in 1998 or even maybe
- earlyer. The game is not lagging much than that if
- you take in consideration everything being loaded at
- the same time.
-
- Well, maybe that IL-2 graphic engine demands too
- much on our computers, but sure thing is, it makes a
- good job on the game looks !!
-
- S~
-
-

Microsoft doesn't map the entire globe with the detail that is found in FB. Basically, Microsoft's ground looks like a giant pizza with airports. It also doesn't load the entire "globe" when the game executes. It loads the scenery necessary to give you the views out of the cockpit, no other scenery is loaded. In fact the only scenery that is loaded into memory is the scenery out of the view out of the cockpit you are currently using. There is a name for this, but I'm not sure what it is.

This can be demonstrated by changing views quickly in FS2004, the ground is white for a moment, then wham, the scenery loads. FB doesn't do this, as the entire map is loaded when the game executes.



Message Edited on 10/08/0309:14PM by waterinthefuel

XyZspineZyX
10-09-2003, 01:52 PM
rgr about that lol..CFS2 ground look quite un├ gly compared to IL-2. Only asked why it could have the entire globe.

I do prefer IL-2, far better game !!

S~

XyZspineZyX
10-10-2003, 11:10 PM
Oh dont be cfs 2 dissin it's the next best i think with all the tweaks and stuf. cfs 3 is only crap But IL2 is the BEST

---------------------------------------
"I came to bring tha pain hardcore from the brain"
---------------------------------------

XyZspineZyX
10-10-2003, 11:54 PM
Well, either BoB would have to come with a couple 1Gig strips of RAM or you might have to upgrade yourself if he uses a similar system to FB's current maps.

FB loads the entire map into memmory and is SIGNIFICANTLY more complex than CFS.

A dynamic loading map system would be nice but might be tough to do so without noticeable lag.


<center>http://mywebpage.netscape.com/nyngje/charvel.JPG

XyZspineZyX
10-11-2003, 01:04 AM
One big map isn't doing those of us with moderate to low end systems any favors at all. And online, the lag it makes to have big maps as pointed out is very bad.
The BoB involved loads of AAA plus huge numbers of planes. To do a fight justice there needs to be a certain ground fire density that one big map would have to have, well count the guns!
The maps have to be big enough anyway as fights ran in and out over big distances ... it may not be possible to split the total theatre up into many pieces anyway. Maybe some maps should overlap or even be subsets of others? There might be attacks only involving the central to southern coastal airfields, defenses and observation stations while others may run over and past those for deeper strikes.
Perhaps with smaller maps the attackers and even defenders could enter as airstarts and have certain edges they'd have to exit over.
I'd rather see a set of maps that everyone can enjoy at least a few of if not all the maps for everyone.


Neal

XyZspineZyX
10-11-2003, 01:58 AM
It would be nice if the small square maps, say 100km x 100km could connected as needed to make a larger map as needed or not.

XyZspineZyX
10-11-2003, 04:11 PM
Did microsoft REALLY model the whole world?

I'm sure that there are less Details.

mfg Mats aus Ísterreich

http://www.pilotenbunker.de/Plakate/blindg%E4nger.jpg

"F├╝r jede Dummheit gibt es einen, der sie macht!"

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 09:45 AM
waterinthefuel wrote:
- Microsoft doesn't map the entire globe with the
- detail that is found in FB. Basically, Microsoft's
- ground looks like a giant pizza with airports.


Sounds tasty where can I pick one up, is it free...lmao

XyZspineZyX
10-13-2003, 11:36 PM
waterinthefuel wrote:
- WUAF_Gen_Falco wrote:

Basically, Microsoft's
- ground looks like a giant pizza with airports.



nooooooo please! i like pizza!! MS flight sim looks like pea soup with a bit of Mild green fairy liquid squirted in, and a few cross sections of broccholi as trees.
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 01:29 AM
LOL...well guys, you may call it the way you like, sure thing is..it's quite ugly in deed /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

S~

XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 05:36 AM
mats75 wrote:
- Did microsoft REALLY model the whole world?
-
- I'm sure that there are less Details.
-

Yes, they do, but in much less detail. You can fly anywhere on the globe in that game. If you are a real pilot and are exposed to common aircraft like Cessnas, Pipers and Beechcrafts then FS2004 is great.

You can't beat sitting on the ground at JFK, filing an IFR flight plan to Paris (going there to tell off Chirac) sitting in your 777 at the gate. It's a pretty cool feeling. At 500 feet you engauge the autopilot and listen closely as ATC gives you vectors out over the Atlantic and hands you off from controller to controller on your transatlantic flight. Is it just me who is feeling euphoric right now? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Both games have their positives and negatives.

http://www.80snostalgia.com/classictv/airwolf/pic1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 05:42 AM
Yes, FS2004 is quite good for IFR-flights, but the visuals, besides airports, is like wearing dirty glasses.

rgds