PDA

View Full Version : Wazoo's Nomograph Mod - NOW DRAGGABLE



wazooda
05-04-2005, 09:56 AM
After reading up on naval navigation, I found something pretty cool called a Maneuvering Board that navigators use to plot ship positions.

At the bottom is a very cool nomograph for finding out speed or distance or time just by drawing a line through two of the known values and seeing where the line intersects the third value.

For those who don't know (and frankly, I had never even heard of the term nomograph until 3 days ago), a nomograph is a representation of a mathematical formula that you can use to solve for different variables by just drawing a line.

Its like an instant visual calculator!

So, I decided to try my hand at making my first mod... and here it is:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/nomo1.jpg

So let's say you want to find the speed of a target after observing for 90 seconds. You measure the distance and it is just under .2km.

Just use your Ruler Tool to draw a line starting at 90 seconds, through just under .2km and then read off the knots (about 4 knots as shown below):



http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/findknots.jpg

I have also been using it to help on convoy interception. In this example, I wanted to see how far a ship going 4 knots would travel in 140 minutes. Drawing a line from 4 knots to 140 minutes shows an intersection on the Distance scale of just over 17km:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/distance.jpg

You can also find how long it will take a ship going a certain speed to travel a certain distance.... all by just drawing a line!

I dunno.... I just find it kinda cool... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Here's the link if you are interested:

www.paulwasserman.net/SHIII/WazooNomoMod.rar (http://www.paulwasserman.net/SHIII/WazooNomoMod.rar)

Lemme know what you think!

Wazoo

dagamecat
05-04-2005, 10:54 AM
gotta give that a go... looks bloody excellent, cheers mate! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Kpt_Zig
05-04-2005, 11:24 AM
Wow! Bloody impressive mate. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

wazooda
05-04-2005, 11:24 AM
Hey all,

I just posted a larger version of the mod and it makes a HUGE (pun intended) difference! It is now VERY easy to get and read values:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/nomobig.jpg

Adds a bit more screen clutter.... but I find this tool useful enough to deal with that negative.

Also... if someone knows how to get rid of that SCALE graphic in the bottom left corner, I could lower the graphic down even further.

Here's the larger version:

http://www.paulwasserman.net/SHIII/WazooNomoModBig.rar

Wazoo

carter001
05-04-2005, 03:38 PM
I think the nomograph is a great idea. I used to teach navigation and a nomograph is a little known "trick-of the trade" unfortunately made obsolete by cheap pocket calculators.

dog_U-333
05-04-2005, 04:42 PM
Actually, Wazoo, I like the clutter. It makes it look like I know what the hell im doin. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

dog

Corto
05-04-2005, 04:49 PM
Man, you remind me my days back at Naval Academy, almost 20 years ago. Snif, snif... that was times http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

wazooda
05-04-2005, 05:16 PM
A couple of guys over at Subsim requested a version of the nomograph that runs vertically on the right side:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/nomovert2.jpg

Due to the limited resolution, I cropped below 1 knot/minute to give a little extra zoom.

Here's the link if you are interested:

Vertical Nomograph (http://www.paulwasserman.net/SHIII/WazooNomoVert.rar)

Let me know if you find it useful.

Wazoo

Frederf221
05-04-2005, 05:28 PM
Congrats, you basically just made a slide rule http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Yoink!

Capt.LoneRanger
05-04-2005, 05:44 PM
Wohooooo!

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

You are my personal hero. I was trained to use these kind of scales in tactical navigation. Incredible you implemented them in SH3!!!

Gonna test them right away! Hope I'm not too rusted, http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif - my instruction officer wouldn't be pleased, I guess. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Great work!
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

DennyMala
05-05-2005, 02:34 AM
Outstanding work!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

mightyduck100
05-05-2005, 09:43 AM
Man, you remind me my days back at Naval Academy, almost 20 years ago. Snif, snif... that was times

Be careful Wazoo. Don't make it too realistic. You making these old Navy boys go all sentimental. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Great work dude. By the time you're done with these mods even I'll be able to hit something. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

MissouriMedic
05-05-2005, 10:16 AM
very nice work! I have to leave for work, but am looking forward to trying it out on my day off.

dagamecat
05-05-2005, 11:42 AM
wazoo, you're a bloody star! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Jose.MaC
05-05-2005, 06:03 PM
Btw, this tool may made useful the active sonar! Now we have bearings and distances than can be put in the map and get the speed from it... and find the place were torpedo must intercept the ship.

rudewarrior
05-06-2005, 08:12 AM
This is really increadible, I used to have so much trouble with the whole "take and observation 3 minutes later and calculate."

Now I can do it after any amount of time.

Plus I can also intercept convoys twice, something I always wanted to do!

Wazoo, you are one high speed individual! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Deerslayer2005
05-06-2005, 08:58 AM
Thanks for your excellent work as usual!

wazooda
05-06-2005, 09:13 AM
Originally posted by Deerslayer2005:
Thanks for your excellent work as usual!

And thank YOU so much for the generous donation!

Wazoo

wazooda
05-06-2005, 12:25 PM
Ok.... I figured out how to make this puppy DRAGGABLE!

Not only can you move it out of the way, but being able to drag it around enabled me to utilize the full resolution version!

So.... let's say you want to check the speed of a target. No problem. Just scroll over to the lower end of the scale:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/drag1.jpg

Now that you know your convoy is going 6 knots, you want to find out where they will be in 3 hours. No problem. Just drag to the left and solve for 6 knots at 180 minutes:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/drag2.jpg


All done??? Ok... move that puppy to the bottom of the screen to get it out of the way:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/drag3.jpg


If you don't like the full res. version and the dragging involved, one change to the config file can reduce it (or enlarge it I guess... although I won't vouch for pixelization) to say, 70%:

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y136/wazooda/drag4.jpg


A few caveats on the draggable version:

Due to limitations with SHIII, you CANNOT start or end a line with the ruler tool EXACTLY on the nomograph. However, you can get pretty darn close to the actual line. What I do is draw a beginning and end point ABOVE and BELOW the nomograph and then move those points until the line intersects the value I want to measure. Works just great!

The other caveat was that I had to "flip" the axis of the time scale so the actual axis was at the edge of the graphic to minimze the problem mentioned above. This enables you to get a ruler point VERY close to the actuall axis.... but has the negative of putting the time values near the distance numbers. I think the trade off is worth it though....

Here's the link:

http://www.paulwasserman.net/SHIII/WazoosDraggableNomoMod.rar


Anyway... I hope you find this as useful as I do....

Good Hunting!

Wazoo

U-49
05-06-2005, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by wazooda:
I hope you find this as useful as I do.... Thank you for this updated version, waz. Definitely a very useful mod. The premise for this mod is so good, it's ashame it wasn't included in the retail release of SH3 (perhaps in a future patch/expansion).

Great stuff! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

dog_U-333
05-06-2005, 12:33 PM
Hey Waz,

That's Great!!

You might want to ask Timetraveller if he can figure out how to hide it like his gauge slide out mod.

Just a thought.

Thanks again

dog

axeman3d
05-06-2005, 12:40 PM
I seem to remember reading some WWII submarine literature or novel that included something like this, but I think it was a curcular affair with inner and outer rings. You set 2 rings to find the value of the third I think, kinda like stuff you get today for working out what will be viewable in the night sky at what time of the year. I think it's official name was something similar to target data computer, but it was called a TisWas by the crew, since you put in where the target is and was. When I first saw the title of the mod I thought you'd found a diagram and made a cut-out-and-keep printable tiswas.

Frederf221
05-06-2005, 01:02 PM
One request of Wazoo: Could it be possible to "dual scale" the three scales so you'd have Knots/Kmph, Km/Nm, and Minutes/Hours? I'd imagine that could get semi cluttered.

Axeman, that'd be similar to the naval aviation's E6-B.

I got one of these in my flight bag: http://www.jeppesen.com/wlcs/application/commercewf?origin=itemsummary.jsp&event=link(details)&wlcs_catalog_item_sku=JS514105&wlcs_catalog_category_id=PS2&wlcs_document_type=details

http://pubpages.unh.edu/~jwc/eos03/jim-table/flight-asa-e6b-front-150.jpg

Philipscdrw
05-06-2005, 04:27 PM
Wow- that's very clever! I'm impressed.

U-49
05-06-2005, 04:41 PM
Originally posted by Frederf221:
I got one of these in my flight bag I thought I was the only one who still carries that (backup). If any of the crew carry one, they'll only bring an electronic version along.

VoidChoice
05-06-2005, 05:36 PM
Great job. personally i think you could tidy it up abit, but i am only being constructive so dont take me wrong. Now that it is dragable maybe you could experiment with dark backgrounds and get a more realistic feel? Also, would it be possible to put a tab at the top of it, so that you can drag it off the screen with only the tab showing?

U-49
05-06-2005, 05:48 PM
would it be possible to put a tab at the top of it, so that you can drag it off the screen with only the tab showing? Good idea. That would be a handy feature to add to an already very useful mod.

wazooda
05-06-2005, 06:47 PM
Originally posted by VoidChoice:
Great job. personally i think you could tidy it up abit, but i am only being constructive so dont take me wrong. Now that it is dragable maybe you could experiment with dark backgrounds and get a more realistic feel? Also, would it be possible to put a tab at the top of it, so that you can drag it off the screen with only the tab showing?

Good idea.... but I don't believe it would work. Any additional pixels you add above the time line would be the edge of the graphic. This would make plotting more difficult, IMHO, for most users.

Wazoo

Charlie901
05-06-2005, 07:29 PM
How do you use this wonderful tool, exactly?


I don't see the plotted line starting at zero, for instance?

GT182
05-06-2005, 07:45 PM
Wazooda, yer a bloody genius. I love it and thank you. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif This really makes things easier.

Hats off to the "Great Wazoo-da". http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif Keep up the great work Paul. ~S!~

Trydan
05-07-2005, 10:02 AM
Excellent stuff, Wazoo. I'm using the "vertical" version of your nomograph, and find it very good. My only comment, would be to replance "Knots" with "Kt" and "Minutes" with "Min". That way it looks right whether you are using the English or Deutsch version. Alternatively, you could supply an Englisch and Deutsch version separately.

Once again, thanks for making these mods... they are really good.

wazooda
05-07-2005, 10:44 AM
Great suggestion. You know us Americans‚‚ā¨¬¶ VERY ethnocentric‚‚ā¨¬¶ http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Out of curiousity, what is the German work for "minutes"?

Wazoo

U-49
05-07-2005, 10:52 AM
Out of curiousity, what is the German work for "minutes"? Minuten.

RedDwarf18
05-07-2005, 11:28 AM
Salute All!
I am ashamed to send a real noobie question
about where to put this fantastic file? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif
I did not found any RAR files to replace on my SH folder.Could someone please give a hand?

My very greatest thanxs to U Waz , math has never been my strongest triumph http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

RD

wazooda
05-07-2005, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by RedDwarf18:
Salute All!
I am ashamed to send a real noobie question
about where to put this fantastic file? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif
I did not found any RAR files to replace on my SH folder.Could someone please give a hand?

My very greatest thanxs to U Waz , math has never been my strongest triumph http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

RD

You need a program to decompress what is in the RAR file. RAR is just a better, more efficient version of ZIP files.

Go to www.rarlab.com (http://www.rarlab.com) and download the free decompressor.

Wazoo

RedDwarf18
05-08-2005, 04:04 AM
Salute!
Thank U! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif
RD

Mav87th
05-09-2005, 03:16 AM
Am i the only one that has a blank area to drag around with. aka there is no graphics in the area where the nomograph are expected....

Mav87th
05-09-2005, 08:47 AM
Come to think of it. Im running in resolution 1280x1024 with an altered map size in Maps.cfg

[Map0]
MapID=Navigation_map
Position=-128,-184
Resolution=1280,1024
;,656

and the position is changed to center the map in the navigations map view. Would that have an impact on the number to be entered in position for the "nomograph"???

Pos=287,659,1403,252

so that i have to alter those numbers??

wazooda
05-09-2005, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by Mav87th:
Come to think of it. Im running in resolution 1280x1024 with an altered map size in Maps.cfg

[Map0]
MapID=Navigation_map
Position=-128,-184
Resolution=1280,1024
;,656

and the position is changed to center the map in the navigations map view. Would that have an impact on the number to be entered in position for the "nomograph"???

Pos=287,659,1403,252

so that i have to alter those numbers??

could be.... I have not experimented with other resoultions.

Try switching back to 1024x768 just to see what happens....

Wazoo

Mav87th
05-09-2005, 03:15 PM
Ok i found my problem.

One DEFINETLY needs to put nomo.tga into the right directory for this to work...... :****:

Appart from that..

It works great with a larger resolution as well. Running at 1280x1024 with no problems on an XP pro SP2 - SH3 patch 1.2 RealSub 1.21 version. :up:

Zinger98
05-13-2005, 11:15 AM
Anyone else here go to Annapolis?