PDA

View Full Version : Something I found out with fraps



XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 06:12 PM
My rookie two cents


I know the free fraps only captures at 640x480 but I lean towards a capture at 800x600, not sure why, thinking you get a little closer view, better ultimate res.

I captured a bunch last night at 800x600 and realized that it crops the chat line, microphone and speed/alt info as a side benefit but still gives you the meat of the scene. Does anyone else capture like this or do you just capture at 640x480 and then crop in the post process?

thanks

<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/john/BP-johann-9-4-03.gif <center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 06:12 PM
My rookie two cents


I know the free fraps only captures at 640x480 but I lean towards a capture at 800x600, not sure why, thinking you get a little closer view, better ultimate res.

I captured a bunch last night at 800x600 and realized that it crops the chat line, microphone and speed/alt info as a side benefit but still gives you the meat of the scene. Does anyone else capture like this or do you just capture at 640x480 and then crop in the post process?

thanks

<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/john/BP-johann-9-4-03.gif <center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 06:53 PM
johann,

I've been capturing 640X480, in a separate window, at 15 fps, using Fraps 1.9.

I have been cropping out messages and the "online" connection status indicator using VirtualDub.

I just figured that the lower resolution would help later,when I assemble the movie. Size is a big concern, of course.

My current movie, just about done, is 7+ minutes...

Zip

<center>BlitzPig_Zip

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gingernuts/blitz_anim.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 08:57 PM
Hi Johann

You can ask this to Scragbat and Davinci, do you think that their movies are crappy ? They recorded it using this method (640x480). You must think that using this "low" res lets you increase the workload of your video card without causing too much choppyness. Give it a try, you'll be amazed.

Good flight to you !

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2003, 12:06 AM
jagaetev wrote:
- Hi Johann
-
- You can ask this to Scragbat and Davinci, do you
- think that their movies are crappy ? They recorded
- it using this method (640x480). You must think that
- using this "low" res lets you increase the workload
- of your video card without causing too much
- choppyness. Give it a try, you'll be amazed.
-
- Good flight to you !
-


Not sure that I said 640x480 was crappy and hence Scragbat and Davinci movies are crappy. Remember my post was about capturing at a differnt res and the cropping as a result.

Sometimes things are just read into I guess. I understand that a 640x480 capture is just that and setting my screen higher doesnt give me more but it is a cropped image thats all. But sure I have no problem capturing 640x480 and cropping later. Keep in mind that at least Scagbat I know does final movie compiling and compression with software I dont have. That alone gives hime good crisp movies.



<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/john/BP-johann-9-4-03.gif <center>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 05:43 AM
I don't think I've ever tried recording in 800 x 600. Even at 640 x 480, I still have to deal with choppiness, so I've always left it there.

As far as cropping the film - always! First off, it looks cool. Secondly, it greatly reduces the file size, while taking nothing away from the movie. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.hollowlife.net/IL-2.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 10:24 PM
so are you guys saying you crop and final output smaller than 640x480?



<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/john/BP-johann-9-4-03.gif <center>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 10:31 PM
johann,

I will make a 640X480 version, and a smaller format version, too, to make available a smaller file version of a movie.

Zip

<center>BlitzPig_Zip

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gingernuts/blitz_anim.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
11-03-2003, 03:45 PM
i think this effect can help to hide the chat line while capturing the video recorded in on-line, 640x480 will show full screen scenes and the chat messages also.


http://www.sama.ru/~hope/1/1943(RussAn-2).zip (http://www.sama.ru/~hope/1/1943[RussAn-2).zip)

the final csene of this movie was taken in on-line and later captured in 800x600 so that to hide the chat line.

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 02:14 PM
Hi

You can simply crop those lines using VirtualDub: I don't remember the details but go check it at VWC

http://www.blacksheepwebdesign.net/VirtualWarCinema/

Good flight to you !