PDA

View Full Version : A couple of newb questions(Large image, dont know how 2 resize)



BatleshipHunter
12-12-2006, 09:55 PM
What downloads do you reccomend? Also is there a mod for this effecthttp://img523.imageshack.us/img523/778/smokesl7.jpg

schwarze_Katze
12-12-2006, 09:57 PM
I cannot be 100% certain, but that looks like the Real Damage mod available at uhhh subsim, I think.

Goose_Green
12-12-2006, 10:03 PM
Looks like something nasty is growing on the hull http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n235/Goose_Green/GGSig3smalljpg-1.jpg
Need gameplay help with SH3? Then check out the Community Manual (http://www.communitymanuals.com/shiii/index.php?title=Main_Page) for useful tips and info on Silent Hunter III

sevenem
12-13-2006, 11:21 AM
The radar really is only useful in poor weather.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v670/sevenem/sig.jpg

lecek
12-13-2006, 11:45 AM
The two buttons work like so:

Range selects range, you have two scales on your radar, when the switch is to the right you use the scale on the right. Despite the max marking on the scale the first radar has a range of 7500 or so.

The Focus/Sweep just changes the radar mode. When it is on sweep the radar just keeps moving around. You can watch the wheel turn. When on Focus the radar works like your hydrophone and will only move where you move it.

If you are testing the radar, one thing you should know is that counter intuitively (or its a bug http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif )the radar contacts are largest when the target is far away. So if you are sitting 500 meters away from a T3, you will have hardly a blip on the radar. To test radar you need to be at least 3km's away. Smaller targets make smaller blips, don't try to test the radar on a fishing boat.

The radar works and is useful, even the first one. But only in foggy conditions. If you don't have any fog at all, your watch crew can spot a ship first.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

100K Club Member

demigod151
12-13-2006, 01:48 PM
Thanks lecek! i assume if I leave the radio man to operate the radar he will shout out if he sees something right?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

__________________________
Proud captain of U-95!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v324/Spider-Hulk/SH3/Lonewolf2.jpg

RangerX3X
12-13-2006, 02:06 PM
Yes, you will receive an update that there is a radar contact if you have the station manned by AI.

lecek
12-13-2006, 04:03 PM
But if the weather is bad, the radar might get doused and shut off. Normally you need like 11m/s winds or so before that happens.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

100K Club Member

arhoolie
12-14-2006, 10:06 AM
I have radar on my boat (late 1943) and have tried using it a few times but never seen a thing on it. Nor have I ever received notification of a contact via radar, though probably that's because I leave it switched off nearly all the time. Also I tend not to use it for fear of it giving away my position. At this stage of the war, any time I'm surfaced, if there's an allied escort anywhere near, they seem to locate me quite handily with their own radar; no sense in making it even easier for them! My best luck always comes with hydrophones; by comparison, keeping visual watch on the surface isn't worth the risk of detection.

demigod151
12-14-2006, 11:22 AM
I had my first big successes with Radar today.

Being I am probably the most reckless Kaleun on this board, I have no qualms about leaving it switched on permanently, and todya paid dividends, yes, I attracted a Destroyer to me, but who cares about that because I sank him anyway. LOL

MY little radar found two C2's headed out to sea, after a few minutes at flank I made a visual contact with them, and then I went in submerged for the kills. Got the pair of them.

It also picked up some enemy aircraft giving me chance to submerge before they got near to me. All in all, I have reaped some benefits of having radar. I also have a sonar system too, I like that.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

__________________________
Proud captain of U-95!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v324/Spider-Hulk/SH3/Lonewolf2.jpg

lecek
12-14-2006, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by demigod151:
I had my first big successes with Radar today.

Being I am probably the most reckless Kaleun on this board, I have no qualms about leaving it switched on permanently, and todya paid dividends, yes, I attracted a Destroyer to me, but who cares about that because I sank him anyway. LOL

MY little radar found two C2's headed out to sea, after a few minutes at flank I made a visual contact with them, and then I went in submerged for the kills. Got the pair of them.

It also picked up some enemy aircraft giving me chance to submerge before they got near to me. All in all, I have reaped some benefits of having radar. I also have a sonar system too, I like that.

The threat of bringing planes into you like a beacon is overstated. So you could run with it on. But if the weather gets windy it will shut off on you.

There is a bug with sonar as well. If you have two ships and sink the one you have targeted and then accidentally try to range the second ship you can crash the game. I have only every encountered the bug with C2's that I broke in half but then I avoid the situation so that it doesn't happen.

Another tip with sonar, if you have a range filled into your notepad and you ping for range, you will find some kind of average. So if you ping a ship and wait 5 minutes and ping him again without clearing the notepad first you will have an overstated range. One ping is decent for a good solution. But if you want a really good range, ping him 3 or 4 times one after the other without clearing the notepad. It is only if you stop pinging for a few minutes that you need to clear it.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

100K Club Member

BatleshipHunter
12-14-2006, 09:42 PM
Just a bump. Maby someone else knows.