PDA

View Full Version : High Altitude & German Aircraft in FB



XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 02:05 AM
I am curiouse to know why it is that fuel mixture is not modled for german AC.

As I understand it the higher the Altitude the thinner the air wich would require LESS fuel to maintain proper AC Preformance...

I have tested FW190A9,109K4,P47,Yak,La and many others...

I can set German AC to 120 Fuel Mixture & go from
0m to 8000m with out changing the Mix....

This seems very very very wrong.......

Ive tested setting the Mix to lower settings @ Altitude in German AC and the results are either no change or degraded Preformance...

Again this seems very wrong.

Huricanes can fly @ 9k with 120 mix !!! (what is that ?)

P47's Only small amount of testing but seems there as bad as german ac @ altitude regaurding fuel Mixture


Only the Yaks and La's display a Preformance change when adjusting the Mixture properly @ altitude wich seems like a definate plus for Russian AC.

Will the German and other AC CEM be addresed and corrected in the Patch ???


No flames this is not a whiner posting

Dont even bother posting if you dont have some real answer or can tell me some reason why fuel mixture does not apply to German AC/P47



<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 02:05 AM
I am curiouse to know why it is that fuel mixture is not modled for german AC.

As I understand it the higher the Altitude the thinner the air wich would require LESS fuel to maintain proper AC Preformance...

I have tested FW190A9,109K4,P47,Yak,La and many others...

I can set German AC to 120 Fuel Mixture & go from
0m to 8000m with out changing the Mix....

This seems very very very wrong.......

Ive tested setting the Mix to lower settings @ Altitude in German AC and the results are either no change or degraded Preformance...

Again this seems very wrong.

Huricanes can fly @ 9k with 120 mix !!! (what is that ?)

P47's Only small amount of testing but seems there as bad as german ac @ altitude regaurding fuel Mixture


Only the Yaks and La's display a Preformance change when adjusting the Mixture properly @ altitude wich seems like a definate plus for Russian AC.

Will the German and other AC CEM be addresed and corrected in the Patch ???


No flames this is not a whiner posting

Dont even bother posting if you dont have some real answer or can tell me some reason why fuel mixture does not apply to German AC/P47



<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 02:50 AM
Well, the Bf-109 and Fw-190 have auto fuel mix. And auto prop-pitch [Currently the 109E does not have an auto-pitch prop, but it will after the patch].

The Bf-109F/G/K also have automatic radiatiors.

I'm not sure about the P-47.

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 03:00 AM
I thought I read in the readme or in someone's complex engine management guide that engines with turbo/superchargers may not require manual fuel mixture for one reason or another.

<center>
http://www.brooksart.com/Icewarriors.jpg


Message Edited on 07/30/0302:00AM by kyrule2

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 03:06 AM
If they have auto fuel mix then why can I adjust it manualy ?

hmmmmmmmmm

Ill go read the readme's real quick

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 03:11 AM
You have to adjust fuel mix manually at high altitude.

<div align=center>http://www.members.shaw.ca/fennec/plane.jpg </div><font size=-9>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 03:29 AM
Well, I'm not real sure about all the planes but the Dora will trail black smoke if you dont lean it out some at high altitudes. And I have seen some others with a black smoke trail at higher altitudes. Performance deteriorates in the Dora if its not adjusted. As posted I do believe some are auto settings as well as the auto props. I think I read that there are 3 types of props used on various planes. Most anything on a plane can be adjusted manually by the pilot. That would account for you being able to adjust it. I would think its because things dont always work properly and there has to be a manual overide of some sort.

...and once you have tasted flight, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward,
for there you have been and there you long to return.
~leonardo de vinci

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 07:20 AM
StG77_Fennec wrote:
- You have to adjust fuel mix manually at high
- altitude.
-
- <div align=center>http://www.members.shaw.ca/fennec/plane.jpg
- </div><font size=-9>

I do LOL

but it makes no differance in 109s not that i can tell or 190s

doras yes I noticed some differance & yaks & la's

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 08:40 AM
wair for the patch ...

at the moment you can set the mixture in a 109 to 0% and the engine dosen't stop. (that means mixture doesn't work in a 109 but the textmessage is shown)

in fact the 109 and 190 had automatic mixture that means they don't need tu adjust it for normal flight situation.
(but the can adjust it manually for example to cool the engine with higher mixture or safe fuel with less mixture)

http://www.top-flite.com/airplanes/topa0135.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 11:03 AM
don't superchargers supply the engine with enough air to allow the same amount of fuel to burn? ie unless flying at extreme altitudes, fuel mixture used at low alt should work at high alt.

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 11:31 AM
- FMs in FB end at 10.000m. Above, the flight engine has no physics integrated... FB is intended as Russian mudmover sim. Up there at height were all the K4s, Doras and Ta152s outrun other fighters...no comments.
- All 109s and Doras had fuel injection systems with automatic mixture control, Fw190s had a Kommandoger¤t controlling mixture, proppitch and throttle.
FB does not correctly model the german engine management. Could you imagine a rookie german pilot in late44/early45 would fly a hot Dora without engine management for more than a minute? (15 - 20 hours of training, 2 hours on the Fw). Constantly adjusting thottle, proppitch and mixture like the allied pilots?

Flyingdoc

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 11:44 AM
Actually... the 109 G/K series do NOT have auto-mix... which means he has a valid point...

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 02:02 PM
you is wrong and oleg is right

++ 88.IAP_Manuc ++

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 08:45 PM
^

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 08:51 PM
VVS-Manuc wrote:
- you is wrong and oleg is right
-
- ++ 88.IAP_Manuc ++

This is not a Post for your Im right your wrong bullchit

Im not trying to be right im trying to find out if these ac use mix @ altitude or not

I know some do right now but others that I thought did dont
seem too

thanks for the informative postings

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-31-2003, 05:15 PM
^^

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059415926.jpg </center>

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-31-2003, 06:32 PM
Oleg already stated a long time ago that the CEM will be reworked in a major way so it's pretty safe to say your issues are among them.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-01-2003, 10:19 AM
Sadly high altitude fm hasn't been worked on in FB!

Didn't you notice that when climbing away from the I-16 (30's relic) they will folow you up to the stars with out a problem, altough your highaltitude machine will become very prone to stalling!
This is ridiculous the radial polikarpof could not perform even over medium altititude!

O.k. origanaly in Il2 there seemed to have been ltittle need for high altitiude since most fights where at low altitiude on the eastern front.
VVS rarely showed up on higer altitudes then 2km, their mistake and succces to a lot off Luftwaffe experten who could dive down kill and climb back to savety. This is reality sadly not the same in this great sim!

Regards,
Kees.

XyZspineZyX
08-01-2003, 10:41 AM
Kees, did you read the patch readme info posted by Fishdog as well as patch info posted Oleg some time ago?

I suggest you do before making posts like the one above.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-03-2003, 12:15 AM
Cappadocian_317 wrote:
- Oleg already stated a long time ago that the CEM
- will be reworked in a major way so it's pretty safe
- to say your issues are among them.



rgr we will see

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="black">
I am He who lives, and was dead
and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-03-2003, 05:56 AM
RE the 109 and 190's adjustable mixtures:



As you've noticed on 109s, it does nothing. Have you considered that it is merely a bug? Maybe they left the text message on. It does NOTHING.

On the 190s, mixture manual should NOT work. As stated above, 190s had a Kommandoger¤t which automatically adjusted mixture.



Just some bugs. FB has plenty.




_______________________________
Hauptmann Jochen "Heidi" Heiden
Jagderband 44
www.JagdVerband44.com (http://www.JagdVerband44.com)

XyZspineZyX
08-04-2003, 04:41 AM
Salute

Not adjusting fuel mixture in the P-47 dramatically reduces power.

At 10,000 meters, if you don't have mixture set to 60% or less, you will get much worse performance.