PDA

View Full Version : How to get new ships part of a Convoy? - Pictures added!!!



Messervy
12-10-2006, 09:37 AM
What exactly one has to do to the RND file to make it include other than stock ships.
Do I just change the "spawn probability" of Generic ships to 100%?
Will that do?

bunkerratt
12-10-2006, 11:36 AM
hey man..no prob this i can help you with ..i'll send a pm later ..it's fairly simple ...i just need to have a look at a few lines and numbers<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/Kensnewsigrevised.jpg
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/voted.jpg http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/omegadriversnet_logo.gif
"the blurry images show man bent over with his pants down and a white flash as the firecracker exploded."

Goose_Green
12-10-2006, 12:02 PM
Any chance you could tell us BR?

I'm a bit cheesed off with the lack of seeing these extra ships especially after all the effort taken to get them into the game in the first place.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n235/Goose_Green/sig1copy.jpg

bunkerratt
12-10-2006, 12:55 PM
yeah no probs man..i'll refreash my mind on the item at hand later ...i asked this same thing last yeah..wulfman hooked me up but it's actually a fairly strightforward thing to do ..right now i'm resetting the home network for all 3 systems and tweeking my new vid card ...goose try to look up my posts ..but i'll honestly try to address this tonight<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/Kensnewsigrevised.jpg
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/voted.jpg http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/omegadriversnet_logo.gif
"the blurry images show man bent over with his pants down and a white flash as the firecracker exploded."

geosub1978
12-10-2006, 01:14 PM
Well...It is not the easiest thing but it can be done!Listen carefully:

Go to Silent Hunter III directory and then to the directory data.

Find the directory Campaigns and go inside

Find the archieve campaign.RND and open this with notepad

The ships that appear in SH campaign are specified in certain lines there. The type of the ship is difined by the second line 'ClassName=KSQ': KSQ is an excample which defines the small merchants.

Do the following go to Find-Replace with and type

Replace: ClassName=KSQ

With: -blanck-

When the line ClassName=KSQ desapears from the entire text means that every time the game tries to load this specific line it will choose ANY merchant ship, defined as meerchant.

By this way instead of a small merchant you may find ANY merchant of your library.

If you want, go to the directory data-sea and see how other merchants are defind e.g. coastal merchant=KSS and do the same in the campaign.RND file so the game will choose any kind of merchant in the place of an exKSS. You can find the definition of a ship in the sea directory, by openning a folder and then openninf of the ....cfg file that there is inside. Do this with any kind of merchant you like.

I have erased the C2, small merchants, and coastal merchants this way. In their place it is likely now to find any kind of merchant.

Remember: Go to data-sea directory and inside there you will find all the ships of your roaster. Open a folder, find the ...cfg file, open it with notepad and mark the designation eg KSQ=Small Merchant. The do the procedure that I mentioned above.

All the above mentioned work fine for me.

How the game recognises a merchant from a tanker is another thing. You can make a transoprt appear as a merchant, but this is an entirely different procedure and I dont know if you want to know this. The reason for that is that there are not so many times that transorts appear in the game and you may want to increase their probabillity of appearance. If you want to know that tell me and I will explain this to you.

Bunkerrat if you know something easier please tell us because this is very important as these are thing that boost the intrest to the game!!

100K club member

Messervy
12-10-2006, 02:41 PM
I see what you mean, but as far as I can tell it`s the same thing as editing the file in Mission Editor, since you have to do this for each and every convoy.
And there are lots of them. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/U-251ShortNoswastika.jpg

bunkerratt
12-10-2006, 03:52 PM
i belive the convoys start with unit 67?tru 160? but yes thats what you have to do ..either deleate the class line and leave the type line only or change the class line and type line to what ship you want to add in the convoy<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/Kensnewsigrevised.jpg
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/voted.jpg http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/omegadriversnet_logo.gif
"the blurry images show man bent over with his pants down and a white flash as the firecracker exploded."

Messervy
12-10-2006, 04:20 PM
Well...I`ve just spent 3 hours editing it in "Mission Editor".
Basicaly what I did was to replace every Medium Cargo (I hate the look of that ship) that has 100% spawn probability with other ships.

Now it`s time to test it......let you know how (IF) it works.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/U-251ShortNoswastika.jpg

geosub1978
12-10-2006, 05:48 PM
No No don't mess with the Editor! Just open the campign.rnd file by notepad. Then use the function Replace-With. This will take only 10 minutes to replace e.g. KSQ with blank. I mean this will delete the entire classname line with...Nothing! So the merchant that you will type in Replace, will be replaced with...Nothing, so that choice for the computer will be generic!

No don't do it one by one either in the file or in the Editor! This will take days!!!

Of course if you want to add specific ships in the convoys then...good luck!You have to devote one entire weekend! You can just do what we have described above.
Furthermore, you can change the designation number of a ship to make it appear more offently. The .cfg file of each type which also exists in the roster folder of each country, definece the type of each ship with a designator. The merchants are refered as 102 and the transports as 103 (not sure, check it). If yoy change the designation of the e.g. Passenger Liner to 102 in .cfg file of sea and of roaster (every country that owns the type) and also in the campaign.rnd, then you can have the passenger liner appear in your carrier much more frequently, as it will be regarder also in the generic merchants!!!

BUT!!! If you do that the you have to change the designation also in the .scr file, otherwise you are going to have CTDs for sure!

The very first thing you have to do is open the .rnd file and do:

Replace classname=KSQ

with= (nothing)

This way you are certainly going to have a rapid encreasment of the types you may find!!!!

Then proceed with other types, eg KSS!

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Messervy
12-10-2006, 08:45 PM
TYPICAL !!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

Instead of a Convoy I got into a fight with Hunter Killer group.

Anyway I released my anger and Bogue Escort Carrier paid the price.

Bogue Dispatched

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/MidnightSurprise.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/BogueDispatched.jpg

Just about everything that could ignite on that ship did.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/Inferno.jpg

The Escorts weren`t all that happy.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/SearchParty.jpg


Anyway later that week I finaly got a contact with a Convoy and behold......

They were there just as I wanted them to be.
Not the big fat ones, but just your average 5000-7000 tonners.
No more dull convoys comprising C-2`s and C-3`s.

Rose Castle Ore Carrier
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/RoseCastleOreCarrier.jpg

Empire Celt Tanker
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/EmpireCeltTanker.jpg

Cargo Steamer
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/CargoSteamer.jpg

Pyro Ammunition Freighter
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/PyroAmunitionFreighter.jpg <div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/U-251ShortNoswastika.jpg

schwarze_Katze
12-10-2006, 09:06 PM
Nice to see it works. I just finished "randomizing" small merchants, tramps and small tankers. We'll see how it goes.

geosub1978
12-11-2006, 12:15 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I would suggest everybody should do it!

schwarze_Katze
12-11-2006, 12:41 AM
My first real test of it will be after the Norwegian campaign that I'm currently embroiled in. I'll (hopefully) produce positive results after this patrol.

FongFongFong
12-11-2006, 12:53 AM
I'm so hoping these ships will be in GWX<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y24/rupertlittlebear/tnuke.gif
GWX the Easy Way (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/857101043/m/3211059025)

GoldenEagle8
12-11-2006, 04:42 AM
Cool, nice to see it worked! But I think I hold on until GWX untill I do any more real modding of my game.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n126/GoldenEagle8/sig2.gif
Spinach Fer Britain (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2263301282676551422&q=Banned+cartoons&hl=en), Der Fuehrer's Face (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDWF8hznHZs), Commando Duck (http://youtube.com/watch?v=OFUQ7AgvgJU&mode=user&search=), Blitz Wolf (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5611353179314742028&q=WWII+cartoon&hl=en), Russian Rhapsody (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3169202416829336789&q=WWII+cartoon&hl=en), The Ducktators (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1633673673225697900&q=WWII+cartoon&hl=en), The Spirit of '43 (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2857278388843745235&q=WWII+cartoon&hl=en), Tokio Jokio (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvA1zphaeTQ)
"YES! Everything I do ist a surprise! Even to ME!"
"Nobody existed before the War. And I will make sure NOBODY EXISTS AFTER THE WAR!"
"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" -George S. Patton

schwarze_Katze
12-11-2006, 09:10 PM
Ok...I seem to have screwed this up and spent hours rebuilding SHIII and all of my tweaks because I was too dang stupid to make a backup of the file. Let me clarify what I need to do using the following as an example:

[RndGroup 61.RndUnit 1]
Class=KSQ
Type=102
Origin=British
Side=0
CargoExt=4
CargoInt=1
CfgDate=19390801
No=1
Escort=false
SpawnProbability=50
CrewRating=2

What I did was replaced "Class=KSQ" with "Class= "

I left everything else alone. Was this correct or should I remove the whole line to make the string look like:

[RndGroup 61.RndUnit 1]
Type=102
Origin=British
Side=0
CargoExt=4
CargoInt=1
CfgDate=19390801
No=1
Escort=false
SpawnProbability=50
CrewRating=2

I'd much appreciate feedback.

TheRealPotoroo
12-12-2006, 12:12 AM
Originally posted by schwarze_Katze:
Ok...I seem to have screwed this up and spent hours rebuilding SHIII and all of my tweaks because I was too dang stupid to make a backup of the file.
Heheh. That's what JSGME is for. I created a new mod called Better Convoys with the appropriate folder structure and copied Campaign_RND.mis into it. I made the edits with WordPad instead of NotePad because WP took about 2 seconds whereas NP took *forever*. Unfortunately something went wrong and I got a CTD but at least I've been able to roll it back for a second try.

EDIT. I finally got SH3 to load a campaign mission without crashing. Both "Class= " and "Class=" produced crashes, but removing the "Class=KSQ/KSS/KSL" line entirely seems fine, although I've yet to sail an actual mission to see the results in action.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~simpsond/images/potoroo%20sig.jpg
Want to keep have multiple installations of SH3 and keep your careers separate? Download MultiSH3 (http://mpgweb.de/downloads/index.php?act=category&id=6)

schwarze_Katze
12-12-2006, 01:27 AM
Your post got me laughing, Potoroo, because I use JSGME. Just not for this because it was something new for me, and I wanted to manually do it to make sure it worked. Duh on the backup file. I know, I know...

I'll try ditching the entire line and report back tomorrow or the next day. It's bed time for me. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

geosub1978
12-12-2006, 02:42 AM
Originally posted by schwarze_Katze:
Your post got me laughing, Potoroo, because I use JSGME. Just not for this because it was something new for me, and I wanted to manually do it to make sure it worked. Duh on the backup file. I know, I know...

I'll try ditching the entire line and report back tomorrow or the next day. It's bed time for me. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

You must delete the entire line and live it blank.

If you use REPLACE-WITH function for removing at once several lines, the line will remain blanck. I mean that the 3rd line will not become 2nd. But as long as this didn't cause any CDT to me I think the game code has no problem with that.

schwarze_Katze
12-12-2006, 02:24 PM
Got it working. Thanks, guys. First convoy looks quite nice. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif