PDA

View Full Version : New video card



Chuck_Older
01-13-2006, 02:44 PM
OK, well maybe not brandy-new, this afternoon's hottest thing

I worked some OT last week (which I didn't want to, long story, but it had to be done), and in reward to myself (and for my pinched nerve in my back that got aggravated by jobs I did during the OT, yeah b!tch moan), I'm buying an upgraded video card

I have 1 gig of RAM, running Win XP, with a 2.08 Ghz Athlon. Right now I have an old GeForce FX 5700 Ultra AGP card.

I am not interested in upgrading my MoBo and getting PCI express; I will build a new PC in the forseeable future, probably 8 or 9 months, and that's when I go PCI express. This is the last upgrade I do with this PC

I have been happy with nVidia in general for a long time; I do more on my PC than play flight sims

I'm looking to spend around 400 dollars. What do you suggest?

Chuck_Older
01-13-2006, 02:47 PM
eh, should have checked the ATI vs nVidia thread first http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

danjama
01-13-2006, 03:17 PM
Apparently that thread is actually an "what should i build", and it is not really very good thread, so good job u started this. I said it there and ill say it here, whichever way u look at it, the best bang u will get for your pound is with Nvidia. Because of ur CPU i wouldnt say a 7800(oops just looked u r on AGP), maybe a 6600 since they are available in AGP.

If u must get ATi, the X850 will do.

Im using a 6800 and its great. Couldnt be happier, (well, ignorin the fact that 7800's in SLi would be a dream). http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Chuck_Older
01-13-2006, 03:24 PM
How much was the 6800?

jimDG
01-13-2006, 03:40 PM
High-end Ati cards reach full potential only with CPU-s above 3.200 GHz (for Athlons this means Athlon64 3200 and above). So, even a Radeon x800 will be a slight overkill.

fordfan25
01-13-2006, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
OK, well maybe not brandy-new, this afternoon's hottest thing

I worked some OT last week (which I didn't want to, long story, but it had to be done), and in reward to myself (and for my pinched nerve in my back that got aggravated by jobs I did during the OT, yeah b!tch moan), I'm buying an upgraded video card

I have 1 gig of RAM, running Win XP, with a 2.08 Ghz Athlon. Right now I have an old GeForce FX 5700 Ultra AGP card.

I am not interested in upgrading my MoBo and getting PCI express; I will build a new PC in the forseeable future, probably 8 or 9 months, and that's when I go PCI express. This is the last upgrade I do with this PC

I have been happy with nVidia in general for a long time; I do more on my PC than play flight sims

I'm looking to spend around 400 dollars. What do you suggest?

6800gt. if your planning on upgradeing that cpu in the near futer maby go ahead and get a 6800ultra. to be honst if your planning on keeping that cpu till your next full upgrade i would just get a 6600gt. save the extra cash for when you build a new rig. remember more than likely your next pc will be PCIE based so what ever card you get now will be useless and that current cpu of yours will most likely NOT make full advantge of even a 6600gt

danjama
01-13-2006, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by fordfan25:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
OK, well maybe not brandy-new, this afternoon's hottest thing

I worked some OT last week (which I didn't want to, long story, but it had to be done), and in reward to myself (and for my pinched nerve in my back that got aggravated by jobs I did during the OT, yeah b!tch moan), I'm buying an upgraded video card

I have 1 gig of RAM, running Win XP, with a 2.08 Ghz Athlon. Right now I have an old GeForce FX 5700 Ultra AGP card.

I am not interested in upgrading my MoBo and getting PCI express; I will build a new PC in the forseeable future, probably 8 or 9 months, and that's when I go PCI express. This is the last upgrade I do with this PC

I have been happy with nVidia in general for a long time; I do more on my PC than play flight sims

I'm looking to spend around 400 dollars. What do you suggest?

6800gt. if your planning on upgradeing that cpu in the near futer maby go ahead and get a 6800ultra. to be honst if your planning on keeping that cpu till your next full upgrade i would just get a 6600gt. save the extra cash for when you build a new rig. remember more than likely your next pc will be PCIE based so what ever card you get now will be useless and that current cpu of yours will most likely NOT make full advantge of even a 6600gt </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

6600GT sounds ur best bet! The CPU will bottlneck a 6800 IMO

Owlsphone
01-13-2006, 09:56 PM
I used to run the game on the same Athlon chip as you are currently running with a 6800GT and the game ran very smoothly. I did a quick price check on what an AGP 6800GT runs for and if you're willing to spend up to $400 I would get a 6800GT and another gig of memory. That would be a killer upgrade.

wayno7777
01-13-2006, 10:21 PM
What Owlsphone says. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif

Xiolablu3
01-13-2006, 10:41 PM
Get yourself a 6800 vanilla/GT or a X800 Pro/GTO or better.


These will give you a great performance boost for around 120/$160 and keep you going till you get a new system.

Dont pay over $200 for a video card, you pay a lot more for very little extra speed. I know the graphs make things look so much better, but really a 6800/X800 is the best bang for buck and all you need.

Like Danj says a 6600GT is a good card too, and this is a good buy, but 6800 vanilla/X800 Pro are about the same price and a little faster with more pipelines, so go with these if you can. I dont think it will bottleneck your CPU, remember its about the equivalent of a Pentium 2.7ghz, and bottlenecking is all dependant on Graphics settings anyway, you will be able to run higher settings with more pipelines/faster card.

panther3485
01-13-2006, 10:59 PM
Chuck, if your new rig is only 9 months away, why not save ALL the money (or most of it at least) to go towards that? For a 'reward', maybe you could treat yourself and partner to a good night out?

But if you MUST get a new GPU, then most of the guys here are on the button; NOTHING LESS than a 6600GT and NOTHING MORE than a 6800GT - that's my honest recommendation, given your specs.

Happy gaming and best regards,
panther3485

dieg777
01-14-2006, 01:00 AM
Here are a few thoughts-

If you are looking for FPS increase from the card then you will only see minor improvement, but will be able to run better quality e.g. perfect.

As the others have pointed out yOur processor is your limiter on your system- your $ 400 would be better spent on upgrading this and and a 6600GT than a sh*t hot card.

Check your motherboard manual or manufacturers web site to check what is the largest processor your board will take.

You can spend it all on a card- I would lean towards Nvidea until ATI sort out the blocky text problem and then when you upgrade get a dual AGP / PCIE motherboard to take it- this will allow you to upgrade to much faster processor initially and use the new card and then upgrade card using pciE when prices settle down on the higher end cards of this type.

hope this helps

Xiolablu3
01-14-2006, 02:15 AM
He will see a big FPS improvement from a 5700 to a 6800.

Why do you think he wont? Plus his 2ghz Athlon is fine for playing todays games.

I would say a Graphics card is the perfect upgrade and his CPU is fine.

dieg777
01-14-2006, 02:55 AM
I based my post on my experience on a recent upgrade and what I have seen on other threads such as
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/4731086783/p/9a

I went from a FX5900XT to a x8500 PRo and only picked up 4 FPS on the BLack death with a 3000 Athlon.

Sometimes people expect huge gains by swopping video card and it has been my experience that it is better to consider the whole system. I was just wanting to pass some of this on to Chuck_Older so he could decide wether this was worth considering for his $$

panther3485
01-14-2006, 02:59 AM
"He will see a big FPS improvement from a 5700 to a 6800.
Why do you think he wont? Plus his 2ghz Athlon is fine for playing todays games.
I would say a Graphics card is the perfect upgrade and his CPU is fine."

I'm inclined to agree with Xiolablu3 here, plus I'd tend to advise against trying to purchase an AGP card with a view to somehow integrating this into the new system later (which would almost certainly be PCIE) - Mobo's that support both are rare beasts indeed.

Then again, if it was me I'd save all/most of the money for the new rig - which is only 9 months away - and 'soldier on' with the 5700.

But as Chuck seems set on getting a new card now, reckon he should go for 6600GT, 6800 or 6800GT.

Your call, Chuck!


Best regards,
panther3485

panther3485
01-14-2006, 03:09 AM
Amendment to my previous post - I'd agree with Xiolablu3 except for the bit about a 'big FPS improvement'. There would be a 'noticeable' improvement but probably not a 'big' one, which is part of the reason I think the $ would be best invested in the new rig, 9 months from now - and forget AGP.

Otherwise, my post stands!

panther3485

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 05:17 AM
A lot to think about. Thanks all

SeaFireLIV
01-14-2006, 05:27 AM
Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
Get yourself a 6800 vanilla/GT or a X800 Pro/GTO or better.




Got the 6800 vanilla GT , 256 meg.
Wonderful card, not even found the need to overclock it yet. Not even a whisper of a problem. Every game I`ve tried so fa, GTL, HL2, NFS Most wanted, COD2, Morrowind and of course IL2 work great. Got it 5 months ago for 250 (cheaper now). There`s the Ultra and 7800 which maybe worth a try.

Install with latest drivers. HIGHLY recommended imho.

Brain32
01-14-2006, 05:43 AM
OK, here's my upgrade story, first of all I deal with hardware a lot, second I've been through 3CPU's,4GFX cards,4motherboards, and many sticks of ram through this game and never, nothing brought so much fps improvement as a GFX card, and that wasn't only with this game but with all games I ever played. Of course you can't put wonder card on bad CPU and expect wonders, but Chuck's CPU is not bad at all, and with ANY AGP card he will notice a great improvement in speed/quality...

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 10:15 AM
I just looked at MoBos in a retail store.

if they are that cheap at a store, my PC build will not be in 6 or 9 months, it will be more like 4, and only because I'm lazy

Xiolablu3
01-14-2006, 10:50 AM
For those who dont think chuck will see a massive improvement, please compare his 5700Ultra to a 6800GT on these benchmarks -->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/10/04/vga_charts_iv/page10.html


I would say 11 fps (5700 Ultra) vs 80 fps (6800GT) is quite a massive improvement?


Pacific fighters test at high settings, 5700Ultra could not cope with the test however, the 6600GT which is much much faster than his 5700Ultra is the lowest in the graph.-->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/07/05/vga_charts_vii/page14.html


And lower detail and resolution Pacific fighters test which includes the 5700Ultra.-->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/07/05/vga_charts_vii/page13.html

(The top cards in this last test are all CPU limited and so cannot show there true potential)

fordfan25
01-14-2006, 11:14 AM
Originally posted by danjama:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by fordfan25:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
OK, well maybe not brandy-new, this afternoon's hottest thing

I worked some OT last week (which I didn't want to, long story, but it had to be done), and in reward to myself (and for my pinched nerve in my back that got aggravated by jobs I did during the OT, yeah b!tch moan), I'm buying an upgraded video card

I have 1 gig of RAM, running Win XP, with a 2.08 Ghz Athlon. Right now I have an old GeForce FX 5700 Ultra AGP card.

I am not interested in upgrading my MoBo and getting PCI express; I will build a new PC in the forseeable future, probably 8 or 9 months, and that's when I go PCI express. This is the last upgrade I do with this PC

I have been happy with nVidia in general for a long time; I do more on my PC than play flight sims

I'm looking to spend around 400 dollars. What do you suggest?

6800gt. if your planning on upgradeing that cpu in the near futer maby go ahead and get a 6800ultra. to be honst if your planning on keeping that cpu till your next full upgrade i would just get a 6600gt. save the extra cash for when you build a new rig. remember more than likely your next pc will be PCIE based so what ever card you get now will be useless and that current cpu of yours will most likely NOT make full advantge of even a 6600gt </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

6600GT sounds ur best bet! The CPU will bottlneck a 6800 IMO </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif yea thats what i said

heywooood
01-14-2006, 11:28 AM
Chuck - I have a 6600gt and it is fine -
I bought it as a stopgap to use with my
AGP board until I can afford a major
1cBoB upgrade next Jan 2007
I have 2gigs of ram and an aMD 3500+
chip to go with it so my performance may
differ from yours but its a good card
and I have had it for a year now with
no problems atall.

fordfan25
01-14-2006, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
For those who dont think chuck will see a massive improvement, please compare his 5700Ultra to a 6800GT on these benchmarks -->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/10/04/vga_charts_iv/page10.html


I would say 11 fps (5700 Ultra) vs 80 fps (6800GT) is quite a massive improvement?


Pacific fighters test at high settings, 5700Ultra could not cope with the test however, the 6600GT which is much much faster than his 5700Ultra is the lowest in the graph.-->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/07/05/vga_charts_vii/page14.html


And lower detail and resolution Pacific fighters test which includes the 5700Ultra.-->

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/07/05/vga_charts_vii/page13.html

(The top cards in this last test are all CPU limited and so cannot show there true potential)

the problem is, his CPU will not take advantge of the deffernce between the 6600gt and the 6800gt. i have a 6800gt BFG OC with a 3000 64bit amd cpu and even that cpu is holding back the 6800gt. i had a 6800 before that and in FB+AEP+PF when i went up to the GT i saw NO FPS increase eather in game or in the tracks such as black death. in 3dmark 03 i saw a 2000 point deff but that is because 3dmark is much more gpu dependent while this sim is well known as a cpu killer. with that cpu he has, he is going to waist mony if he gets the 6800gt.

id say eather get the 6600gt or wait till your going to build a new PC. also with 400$ to spend a option might be to spend 150$ on a 6600gt and 200$ on a faster CPU.

fordfan25
01-14-2006, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by heywooood:
Chuck - I have a 6600gt and it is fine -
I bought it as a stopgap to use with my
AGP board until I can afford a major
1cBoB upgrade next Jan 2007
I have 2gigs of ram and an aMD 3500+
chip to go with it so my performance may
differ from yours but its a good card
and I have had it for a year now with
no problems atall.

listen to haywoood. he is almost as smart as i am http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 02:28 PM
Well, I just installed a 6600 and bumped my RAM to 1.5 GB (they didn't have another 1 GB stick, and I ws using two 512s before. The memory and old card goes into my dad's machine)

So that is what F.E.A.R. should have looked like. Pity I already finished it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I have played around with FB for a few minutes, and everything seems great, I have increased graphics with better performance. With a basic mission, I have never seen 8x speed with no stuttuers when I use external view and pan before! With a complex one, I see about the same as before, but with around 60 aircraft in the air in close proximity, I see no hiccups, with some pretty high graphics settings. Not Perfect, just very high. Since I saved couple bucks with the 6600 and have a 25 dollars rebate, I'll get another stick of 1 GB RAM next week, then Dad's PC will have 1 GB which will be nice as Mom clutters the d@mn thing up faster than I can clean it out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Questions:

my water looks odd. Before with water turned down to almost nothing, it looked better. Seems to be a draw distance issue, coupled with an odd effect. I'll post a pic in a while

What drivers do you recommend? I sorta think this is my water trouble

I still see better performacne AND looks in DirectX, although for the first time ever, OpenGL is playable. Why? I have always understood OpenGL is better and faster, but I've never seen this with this sim ever

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 02:45 PM
here is the water from about 3300 feet:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/twp.jpg

here is the water up close:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/one.jpg

danjama
01-14-2006, 02:51 PM
Make sure u are using OpenGL and set gfx to perfect in game, also in game setup screen from start menu, put on vertical sync and make sure the gfx card setting is correct.
Then open your conf.ini file and change water to 2(water is at the bottom). Make sure u change the one under Open GL not DirectX.

The screenie looks like u have the wrong gfx card selected in game setup menu.

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 02:55 PM
Roger that, you is right. One second, will run the sim and report

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:11 PM
Changed to OpenGL, with and without stencil buffer

perfect not available, I have FSAA set at 2X. I am running at 1024x768 32 bit

Water was at 2. Visually identical

danjama
01-14-2006, 03:15 PM
Perfect shud be available, lemme get some screenies up for you of my settings, then u can check them to yours.

danjama
01-14-2006, 03:19 PM
Setup should look exactly like these, very simple looking too id say.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a194/danjama/2.jpg

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a194/danjama/1.jpg

And this is the OpenGL section of my conf.ini

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=1
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=3
Water=2
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:22 PM
will triple check

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:28 PM
Those setup settings are 100% what I have, no question

I copied and pasted your OpenGL settings

No perfect mode available

no excellent landscape lighting available

danjama
01-14-2006, 03:37 PM
this is very strange http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

I bet were just missing one little detail too

Let me think about it, maybe link this over in the community help forum for now too!

heywooood
01-14-2006, 03:52 PM
you enabled stencil buffer ? - cause that should absolutely get you 'perfect' settings

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:53 PM
I once stumbled over something that enabled 'Perfect', and ignored it, because I thought I'd never try it anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

But as far as benchmarking goes, I am just now playing at the highest resolution possible, all my options at their highest available, in a custom mission of my own, with 60 planes in the air, big bomber battle. I got one solitary stutter, and that was when their bombs exploded. I used to drop frames at 1024x768x16 on that mission, with modest graphics. I can live with that, especially as I prefer 1024x768 for spotting aircraft. But I'd like full performance

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by heywooood:
you enabled stencil buffer ? - cause that should absolutely get you 'perfect' settings

I will quadruple check

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 03:55 PM
I must not have really attempted the buffer before, because now I have it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I have been perfecting the idiot since 1971

FoolTrottel
01-14-2006, 03:58 PM
I used to drop frames at 1024x768x16 on that mission

Perfect requires 1024x768x32!

Have Fun!

danjama
01-14-2006, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
I must not have really attempted the buffer before, because now I have it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I have been perfecting the idiot since 1971

lmfao, even missed it with screenies from me!

Well done, at last. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I used to drop frames at 1024x768x16 on that mission

Perfect requires 1024x768x32!

Have Fun! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

you misunderstand.

On my old card, I ran 16 bit. I am now running in 32 bit with my new 6600

I wasn't running 16 bit at any resolution with the new card that I just installed while attempting Perfect

FoolTrottel
01-14-2006, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I used to drop frames at 1024x768x16 on that mission

Perfect requires 1024x768x32!

Have Fun! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

you misunderstand.

On my old card, I ran 16 bit. I am now running in 32 bit with my new 6600

I wasn't running 16 bit at any resolution with the new card that I just installed while attempting Perfect </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


My bad, no misunderstanding, I just stopped reading at "perfect not available" and never saw
"I am running at 1024x768 32 bit"

Sorry! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

(Still wondering why perfect is not available for you. How's the Video setting in yer IL2Setup.exe?)
(Or, wait-a-minute- did you already post that somewhere too? I'm tired. I'm gonna go to sleep now. Bye!)

Chuck_Older
01-14-2006, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I used to drop frames at 1024x768x16 on that mission

Perfect requires 1024x768x32!

Have Fun! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

you misunderstand.

On my old card, I ran 16 bit. I am now running in 32 bit with my new 6600

I wasn't running 16 bit at any resolution with the new card that I just installed while attempting Perfect </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


My bad, no misunderstanding, I just stopped reading at "perfect not available" and never saw
"I am running at 1024x768 32 bit"

Sorry! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

(Still wondering why perfect is not available for you. How's the Video setting in yer IL2Setup.exe?)
(Or, wait-a-minute- did you already post that somewhere too? I'm tired. I'm gonna go to sleep now. Bye!) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

read whole thread when nap is done http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

panther3485
01-14-2006, 09:01 PM
Hey, Chuck

Pleased to see you've got a worthwhile improvement (which I was expecting) and are enjoying the 6600GT.

If my experience is any indication, perhaps the extra half gig of RAM might also have helped just a tad.

I've tinkered around a lot with the three systems in my Household and though they are all Intel CPU's (2.8, 3.0 & 3.4 GHz respectively), my experiences may be of interest. GPU's are FX5700 with the 2.8, FX5950 Ultra with the 3.0 and 6800GT with the 3.4.

Starting from 512 MB, I experimented with increasing amounts of RAM on all three systems, to see what difference it made to gaming performance.

Games tested were LOMAC, IL-2FB and Ravenshield.

Although the 3.0 GHz system with the 5950 outperforms the 2.8 with the 5700 and the 3.4 with the 6800 outperforms both (as you'd obviously expect), the amount of improvement achieved by upping the RAM was found to be almost identical for all three. It can be summarized as follows:

Starting out (512 MB), performance varied from barely adequate to just OK. Ravenshield would run perfectly well at or near max settings even on the 2.8/5700, but FB wouldn't go much past about 3/4 settings at 1024x768x32 or 2/3 settings at 1280x960x32, even on the 3.4/6800, if I wanted complete smoothness .
When it came to LOMAC, any attempt to up the settings much past half-way at 1024x768x32 would lose the 2.8/5700 completely and have the best system only barely coping.

Now, for the results of increased RAM:

Extra 512, now 1 GB total -
A very substantial improvement was noted on all three systems, especially playing FB , allowing resolution and other settings to be increased while maintaining or slightly improving on frame rates. (For all three systems, the gain was most noticeable with FB. Ravenshield, which was already near perfect, didn't have much to gain. At 1024x768x32, LOMAC became just playable at lower settings on the 2.8/5700 and was now somewhat better on the other two, with the 3.4/6800 system doing just as well as the 3.0/5950 but doing it at 1280x960x32 and starting to look quite good!)

Extra 1 GB, now 1.5 GB total -
A further improvement was noticed but it was quite small (worth about one setting notch in FB).

Extra 1.5 GB, now 2.0 GB total -
There was no noticeable improvement on any of the three systems, with any game.

From this I was able to conclude that with today's games, and on my household's systems at least, the 'sweet' amount of RAM to have is no less than 1.0 GB and no more than 1.5 GB.

Don't know if this will be of any use to you, Chuck, or anyone else reading the thread, but you never know.


Best regards to all and enjoy your gaming,
panther3485

dieg777
01-15-2006, 12:03 AM
Glad you like your new purchase- http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I liked these drivers on my fx5900xt - I tried lots of others and apart from these went back to 66.93 set

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1265

good luck

FoolTrottel
01-15-2006, 03:18 AM
read whole thread when nap is done http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Nap done, read it.
All clear. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

LameDuck.
01-15-2006, 11:15 AM
Just found this thread. I have a similar system if you want to compare notes; Still don't have PF, though.

A clarification, your post says "Well, I just installed a 6600 and..."
Is it a 6600 or 6600GT?