PDA

View Full Version : Gun jams

KraljMatjaz
03-31-2005, 04:58 AM
Hi all

I am relatively new to this sim and I find it very very good. In most cases it covers with historical data and performance charts well, I respect that very much.

Nevertheless I noticed that guns are not spontaneously jamming. They should, especially ones with high ROF and a lot of ammo. Further more, Japanese requirements for AC constructors were for the pilot to be able to reach cowling machineguns with hands and to be able to unjam them in case of jamming... IMO this is a big proof that gunjamming was serious problem in WW2, now in game we have jamming only due to damage.

Sorry if there have already been topics with similar matter.

KraljMatjaz
03-31-2005, 04:58 AM
Hi all

I am relatively new to this sim and I find it very very good. In most cases it covers with historical data and performance charts well, I respect that very much.

Nevertheless I noticed that guns are not spontaneously jamming. They should, especially ones with high ROF and a lot of ammo. Further more, Japanese requirements for AC constructors were for the pilot to be able to reach cowling machineguns with hands and to be able to unjam them in case of jamming... IMO this is a big proof that gunjamming was serious problem in WW2, now in game we have jamming only due to damage.

Sorry if there have already been topics with similar matter.

VW-IceFire
03-31-2005, 06:51 AM
Yep...its well known. Guns can also jam under high G load conditions. But that doesn't happen in this sim. Only so much CPU power to go around no doubt.

The next gen of sims that they are working on probably has this feature.

Blackdog5555
03-31-2005, 09:58 AM
Its not CPU power. It was implemented in RBI. Random mechanicals is just not part of the sim. I would like to see bolts moving, smoke and sparks, jamming and unjamming, manual charging and hydr- charging the guns. Oleg just didnt want to code it.

Fennec_P
03-31-2005, 06:35 PM