PDA

View Full Version : Help Please, problem with Logitech Wingman!



XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 12:38 PM
Hi all,
I have a twist rudder on my wingman and i want to know how to disable it as it has a mind of its own!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif Ive tryed to go to controls in game and it doesnt say any command on rudder. Please help!!!!

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 12:38 PM
Hi all,
I have a twist rudder on my wingman and i want to know how to disable it as it has a mind of its own!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif Ive tryed to go to controls in game and it doesnt say any command on rudder. Please help!!!!

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 12:44 PM
It's there, under HOTAS controls.

You can also unscrew the handle, lube the pot and it's OK again! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

(I have one)

'Smoke and a pancake?'

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 12:47 PM
There's a locking mechanism at the base of the handle, it slides and locks the handle in place. This is a physical device, look under where the bottom flares out for a handrest, it's a little piece of plastic that will slide inward to lock. What is wrong with the twist? Mine is great, as long as you calibrate it all the time it's very good to control, leaves you to use more keyboard commands or at least move your view around while you are turning.

Psycho Pete
(king of the Heinkel)

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:03 PM
yep psychopetey is right on target, there should be a lock right under the handle that looks like a little flat head screw, turning that will lock the handle...S!

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:12 PM
Logitech Wingman is a piece of junk!

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:16 PM
Lithium1970 wrote:
- Logitech Wingman is a piece of junk!
-
-

Yep...and that's what i use. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:24 PM
its got a stupid sticker on it

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:25 PM
Lithium1970 wrote:
- Logitech Wingman is a piece of junk!
-
-

why?

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:26 PM
beats me, I'm happy with it! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

'Smoke and a pancake?'

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:30 PM
ok there isnt a screw at the bottom, and there isnt anything under HOTAS controls, HELP!

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 01:54 PM
bump


http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 02:30 PM
I bought a Logitech Wingman about a month ago, and noticed that putting the stick to the right rolled the plane all the way over! There was no "gradual" movement. It was just on the right roll, not left roll nor putting the stick foward or back. But it sure didn't make flying any easier. I thought it was the game, then I looked at the diagnostics. It was obviously a physical defect. I took it back to CircuitCity and got a new one which works fine. If you have problems, perhaps do the same. (Granted, however, if I were buying a new stick, I would probably opt for another manufacturer given the repeated complaints.)
Blade_X_ wrote:
-
- Lithium1970 wrote:
-- Logitech Wingman is a piece of junk!
--
--
-
- Yep...and that's what i use. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
-
-

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 02:49 PM
S!

Bought one about a year ago, after two weeks there was a Phsst!! and smoke coming out of it, burnt out.

Took it back, got a replacement, two weeks later, Phsst!! same again.

Went back to the shop, they were happy it was a defective product and let me take away a more expensive stick for the same price as the Logitech.

Had a mate about 6 months ago bought a new stick.

"What make" I enquired.

"Logitech Wingman" He Excitedly told me.

"Oh Dear". I told him about the problems I had with them.

"Maybe a bad Batch" He hoped.

Flying with him two weeks later, Phsst!! Blew up, he got a replacement Phsst!! blew up after a month.

Dont expect it to last. And wait for the main Thyristor on the FF circuit to become a fire incendiary.

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 02:55 PM
I love my Logi Wingman!

Have you calibrated the joystick? You're going to be at a serious disadvantage if you dont have rudder control. You also wont be able to taxi worth a flip...

http://www.stuartairshow.com/images/p51mustangs.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 03:02 PM
It's the "Strike Force 3D" you're talking about, yes?
Fragile piece of crap...
I certainly expected something better from Logitech, as I previously owned an excellent "Wingman Interceptor"; I only "upgraded" to Strike Force 3D because I wanted the FF and rudder twist.
The Strike Force 3D is simply a bad stick; it's way too light, fragile, loosely assembled, unprecise and several levels below what Logitech should be able to put out. But maybe they decided to cut down on the quality "now that we've build a costumer-base of gullible morons"...

Bah! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif



-----------------------------------

"I don't know what weapons World War 3 will be fought with, but World War 4 will be fought with sticks and stones."
-A. Einstein
"And any leftover assault weapons" -Fallout Fan


I am an Arado whiner. And proud of it.

http://www.vectorsite.net/avar234.html
Not my site. But a good place to start if you want to join the Arado-whining. The Arado needs *you* today!

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 10:30 PM
Ruder screw is on botom from stick-not botom of base....

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 10:41 PM
there is a black plastic "screw" that turns about 1/4 turn to look the stick just above the whit part of the base of the handle. That said, I was able to fix mine, though do this at your own risk. My rudder was erratic and would spike, I used to rebuild it every other day but one day, when I was just going to throw the thing out I decided that I had nothing to lose and put a dollop of dielectric grease (auto parts store) on the top of the rudder pot, and worked it in there. Whatdayaknow. . .it still works after 4 months. (though I still dont use it other than for guests or on my girlfriends laptop)

S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

Reserve Pilot Aircraft #2 of Gruppo 313
Pattuglia Acrobatica Virtuale
http://www.pav-amvi.it

http://www.calaggieflyers.com/



http://www.txsquadron.com/images/txsquadron_main.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 10:42 PM
On the Wingman Extreme 3D, the lock-out screw is at the bottom of the grip, on the left side. It takes about a half-turn to lock the twist out. Careful though -- the screw is nylon and the head can strip rather easily.