PDA

View Full Version : Coast of England



XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 01:54 PM
In this patch I was hoping to see a small piece of England with 2 runways on the Normany map. That would have been great to run some bombers across. Are they planning to add it in the payware addon.

Adding a map like this would move me and my whole squadron to this sim.

PLS add a full channel map of both coast lines.

Warriorbear

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2003, 01:54 PM
In this patch I was hoping to see a small piece of England with 2 runways on the Normany map. That would have been great to run some bombers across. Are they planning to add it in the payware addon.

Adding a map like this would move me and my whole squadron to this sim.

PLS add a full channel map of both coast lines.

Warriorbear

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 09:20 AM
i've just built a b17 escort co op' enroute to caen , i have them forming up mid channel at various hgt's stacked , spawning mid air off course .. so try that next best thing .


Bart

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 09:41 AM
Normandy Map #2 has this. Me thinks someone needs to do some more exploring...

--AKD

http://www.flyingpug.com/pugline2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 10:11 AM
No it does'nt.............

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 10:54 AM
I think this is what Davis is referring to(sorry about the size and the jaggies):

http://server2.uploadit.org/files/091103-BritBase.jpg


<center>47|FC <img src="http://rangerring.com/wwii/p-47.jpg"<

Message Edited on 11/09/03 04:04AM by necrobaron

Message Edited on 11/09/0304:04AM by necrobaron

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 11:10 AM
plimmy2003 wrote:
- No it does'nt.............
-
-

well, it's not actually England, it's just an imaginary island to offer an offshore base for allies. England's pretty far from Normandy for an FB map, and I think Oleg and crew are waiting for the next sim to model that green and pleasant country.

--AKD

http://www.flyingpug.com/pugline2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 11:11 AM
The Isle of White maybe?

<center>http://www.uploadit.org/files/261003-NewSig_06.gif

"Any information that we receive concerning the real world is carefully controlled"

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 12:05 PM
The Isle of Wight (My home /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif ) didn't have any active bases durring WW2, ALTHOUGH...many of the BoB raids by the Luftwaffe used the I of W as a convergence point for raids. It was also bombed many times, with Ventnor Radar a constant target.

Rocket

<center>http://www.il2airracing.com/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://www.il2airracing.com/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 12:25 PM
And Rocket, you forgot to mention the Polish navy stationed at Cowes /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

After all, the Isle of Wight did build them and they had nowhere else to go.

<center>_________________________________________________</CENTER>

<center>"Truth abhors a compromise."</CENTER>

<center><FONT color="green">Honorary Member of the Grand Order of the Pig</FONT></CENTER>
<Center>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gingernuts/blitz_anim.gif </CENTER>

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 12:26 PM
Scuse my crappy spelling.
I've been on scooter ralies to the Isle of Wight, back in the 80's.
If I remember rightly there's not a big enough flat spot on the island for an airfield. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center>http://www.uploadit.org/files/261003-NewSig_06.gif

"Any information that we receive concerning the real world is carefully controlled"

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 12:37 PM
There are presently airfields at Sandown and Ventnor /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center>_________________________________________________</CENTER>

<center>"Truth abhors a compromise."</CENTER>

<center><FONT color="green">Honorary Member of the Grand Order of the Pig</FONT></CENTER>
<Center>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gingernuts/blitz_anim.gif </CENTER>

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 02:10 PM
JimmyGiro wrote:
- There are presently airfields at Sandown and Ventnor

So there is!

http://daveg4otu.tripod.com/iowweb/san.html

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/classic/A612334

<center>http://www.uploadit.org/files/261003-NewSig_06.gif

"Any information that we receive concerning the real world is carefully controlled"

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 03:51 PM
dont forget the hard runway at bembridge
thats a good km long
it may not be operational but its still a runway and still figures in my emergency plans if im flying that way!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
G-BPDU
http://www.southernflightcentre.com/warrior-s.jpg

I fly this!!

http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk
No1-Squadron Royal Air Force/tea boy