PDA

View Full Version : How long are the runways?



jolly_magpie
02-27-2007, 12:37 PM
How long is your typical Il-2 Runway, in feet? Are the dirt and paved strips different? How about the wide online ones?

Also, I seem to remember, a few patches ago, a rumbling sound as you accelerated down the runway, it ended as your wheels left the ground. I found this very helpful, especially on landing. Please bring it back for BoB!

Taylortony
02-27-2007, 04:54 PM
don't know about the length, but never realised the rumble had gone lol, we do get a squeal now when we touch down though.....

jolly_magpie
02-27-2007, 06:48 PM
Someone has got to know the lengths. I am guessing around 3000ft??

Akronnick
02-27-2007, 06:59 PM
Why don't you measure one?

jump in your favorite plane, take off, establish level flight at constant speed, buzz the tower, time how long it takes to fly from one end of the runway to the other, do the math(s, just for you Brits http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif).

Taylortony
02-27-2007, 07:21 PM
Oh go on , I'll say it, there extremely short but bloody wide http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Treetop64
02-27-2007, 08:00 PM
Lol!

T_O_A_D
02-27-2007, 08:05 PM
You can do as I did, when I built this Gunrange.
I looked up the specs of a B-17 and used it as a ruler to roughly measure this runway.
1200 meters.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v37/T_O_A_D/IL2%20AEP%20PF%20pics/Gunrange.jpg

FlatSpinMan
02-27-2007, 08:14 PM
Couldn't you open the fmb, find a runway and count how many little squares long it is?

T_O_A_D
02-27-2007, 08:21 PM
Yes but then you would just wonder how big those little squares are. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif


Originally posted by FlatSpinMan:
Couldn't you open the fmb, find a runway and count how many little squares long it is?

FlatSpinMan
02-27-2007, 08:33 PM
I THINK each large square (such as those you'd see on the unzoomed maps in the briefings screens and so on) is 10 square km. Each of these is further divided into smaller grids which must presumably be 1 square km.
If that is the case then the length can be calculated fairly simply by counting the grids.
If my assumptions are correct then the runway at Gossen is 2000m long give or take a few metres.
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y184/FlatSpinMan/gridsize.jpg

I don't guarantee this is correct but I think it is.

Red_lightning1
02-27-2007, 09:02 PM
Using a method similar to toad (FMB, stationary aircraft, some spare time and a lot of madness) I worked out that the concrete strip at sevastopol is approx 4xP.11 across and (57xB-29 + 1xB-25J + 1xP-38) in length..... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Or... 42.88 x 1745.05 meters (140 x 5725 Ft) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

jolly_magpie
02-27-2007, 09:56 PM
A good way to work it, though I would have used the Me323, I think it's the biggest ingame.

jolly_magpie
02-27-2007, 10:34 PM
Wait! The answer is obvious. Use the largest things...

Here I've used trusty Okinawa.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/160/405402089_28e220639a_o.jpg

7 and a bit POW's
Length given in game info page: 225m, 739 ft.

Runway=1573m
5178 ft.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/125/405402091_0b9f6c0fa5_o.jpg

Geez, here I am thinking I'll be lazy and ask the forums and the next thing I'm bashing around in the FMB....

K_Freddie
02-27-2007, 10:55 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif
Those ships will never take off in time... They'll need 8 props http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

jolly_magpie
02-27-2007, 11:19 PM
"You'll never get me up in one of those things"