PDA

View Full Version : 700+ planes???



FI-Skipper
05-16-2006, 10:25 AM
"Oleg: In IL-2 series is also possible 1000+ bombers at once. Some users even make such missions where in air is 700+ aircraft and on the ground is 1200+ tanks, cars, 600,000 buildings, etc. And if you'll compare the AI, the work of aircraft engines modeling, and all previously described to the named above sims, you'll may find that it will be too slow running. Main FPS eater in IL-2 series for such a case was AI and modeling of each AI aircraft engine behavior like the player aircraft. Al planes are fair, the same as user, comparing to the simple programs of EAW and Rowan / Shockwave Battle of Britain."

Are we playing the game Oleg?I doubt even a new PC could get close to 700+ aircraft in il2 and even be vaguely playable...

The AI in the Shockwave BoB is also superior to il2 in my opinion and I hope this is an area you will put major work into for BoB as it needs to be massively improved.

Cheers

Skipper

PS-Please don't lock this thread because i'm not a fanboy.Surely we're allowed to have a fair and open discussion on these forums

LEBillfish
05-16-2006, 11:53 AM
I believe he is saying you "can" put that many in it.........Yet due to the complex FM/DM/AI/Object modeling it would cause your PC to run too slow in comparison to the others which are not as complex......

Exactly the opposite of how you're reading it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Viper2005_
05-16-2006, 06:59 PM
If somebody were to put 700 aeroplanes in a mission, would you count them?

Chivas
05-16-2006, 07:30 PM
As a lark I made a mission with over 100 bombers and fighters and it ran great. There were more than enough planes in the air to keep your attention. Any more would be overkill and all you might see is specs on the horizon. The mission was hugely immersive and far better than any other combat flight sim that has over hundred aircraft in the air.

slo_1_2_3
05-16-2006, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by Chivas:
As a lark I made a mission with over 100 bombers and fighters and it ran great. There were more than enough planes in the air to keep your attention. Any more would be overkill and all you might see is specs on the horizon. The mission was hugely immersive and far better than any other combat flight sim that has over hundred aircraft in the air.

you must have a beastly computer I get up to 30-40 and start slowing down.

LEXX_Luthor
05-16-2006, 07:56 PM
Slo::
you must have a beastly computer I get up to 30-40 and start slowing down.
What computer you running?

I have found that the fps really drops when large numbers of aircraft begin air-air combat, and lots of flak starts shooting -- flak heavy ships especially. Just the airplanes flying along is not bad, but its the combat that starts eating the computer.

Chivas
05-16-2006, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chivas:
As a lark I made a mission with over 100 bombers and fighters and it ran great. There were more than enough planes in the air to keep your attention. Any more would be overkill and all you might see is specs on the horizon. The mission was hugely immersive and far better than any other combat flight sim that has over hundred aircraft in the air.

you must have a beastly computer I get up to 30-40 and start slowing down. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

AMD 64 3800+
2gigs of DDR400
BFG 6800 GT OC

since then I picked up a 7900GTX 512 that may be the start of a BOB system...time will tell

LEXX_Luthor
05-16-2006, 08:04 PM
AMD Semperon 3100+
1GB DDR1
ATI-9200

Yes, that reads ATI-9200, and I can easily get 100+ planes flying, although it slows down if they all enter combat at one time. This shows the video card is not important here, but cpu calculations are the calling card on this issue.

slo_1_2_3
05-16-2006, 08:54 PM
Um I got a sony vaio want a dxdiag?

woofiedog
05-17-2006, 04:48 AM
Quote... There were more than enough planes in the air to keep your attention.

LoL... Using UberDemon's Great program and placing roughfully 100-120 aircraft up in the air is Very exciting and One Hec of a Blast.
It also takes a bit of flying to keep your Crate from being wasted from the skies.
You can have about 7-12 AI enemy following you along! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v438/woofiedog/watera.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v438/woofiedog/Pe-3d.jpg

HotelBushranger
05-17-2006, 05:09 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif Sweet jesus!

vocatx
05-17-2006, 11:29 AM
The co-op series "Phillipines 1941", which I helped test, has several missions with over 70 aircraft in the air, as I recall. All the missions ran very smoothly on my machine. I've never tried more than this. I might have to fire up the FMB and give it a try.

NonWonderDog
05-17-2006, 02:29 PM
A while ago, when I had a slower computer, I noticed that I could fit a LOT more fighters in the air than heavy bombers. I could get to 40-60 bombers before it was unplayable, but 100+ biplane furballs ran great. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif I guess the defensive gun AI must eat a fair bit of processor time (have to do a lot of calcs to get that deadeye shot! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif).

As far as I can tell there's no "maximum object" limit in the sim, which is probably what Oleg is referring to in that quote. I'm sure he doesn't think anyone can run 700 planes and 1200 tanks smoothly, he's just saying that the sim won't crash if you try it. That's pretty impressive on its own, compared to most games, but I guess it is kind of expected out of flight sims.