PDA

View Full Version : Saitek Cyborg FFB any good?

DD_crash
10-10-2009, 08:47 AM
Due to X65 not being FFB I am toying with the idea of using one with the X52. Any thoughts? I want to be able to use Win 7 in the future so MSFFB isnt an option.

Extreme_One
10-10-2009, 09:30 AM
I used a Saitek Cyborg FFB for a long while and ended up disappointed by the way the stick became sticky in its travel. And the trigger is a bit flimsy and actually snapped off after a while.

There are some recommendations in this thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/2731072497)

Pudfark
10-10-2009, 09:59 AM
I use a MSFFB...I also own two of the Cyborg EVO FFB...I do not recommend that particular stick..it does not have a good "feel" to it and it gets "hotter than a two dollar pistol" pretty quick...have always wondered if it was going to melt internally...I really like my Saitek Peddals though....I have no other experience with any other Saitek products....

Mr_Zooly
10-10-2009, 11:07 AM
aside from heat issue mine has done me well for quite a few years.

squareusr
10-10-2009, 01:09 PM
Sure the best FFB stick for it's price, but that might be related to the fact that it is the only one available. I've used one until i replaced it with an integrated full-size (or more likely: oversize) pedal/stick combo and i found little reason to complain about it. It's not as good as an MSFFB2 but you won't find one for less than twice the price.

Now for some technical details i gathered from dismantling mine:

All axes except for the stick twist have digital optical sensors (slit counters, as in a mouse wheel or in ball mice), so there are no pots to break or A/D converters to be noisy. This is very good and a big advantage over pot-based sticks.