PDA

View Full Version : Catapult and CVE

Talos2005
01-18-2005, 11:19 PM
One fact that drew my attention when I first checked ships available in PF was the presence of CVE. Those were widely used not only in the Pacific but also for the Battle of Atlantic. Their top speed was around 20kt (around 37km/h), but they carried and launched mainly F4F, TBF/M, (the String Bag as well for RN),etc. Those planes must be heavily loaded with ammunition, bombs, rockets, and fuel to attack the enemy reported. I remember to read some documents insisting the CVE€s relatively low speed never limited the Allied€s using heavy laden aircraft because they mainly relied on the deck catapult to launch those planes in such cases (not always). The more large CVs were also equipped with the deck catapults, but those are not so widely used because those flattops could make a run around 30kt (around 55km/h) to the wind.
I am not an expert on the subject above mentioned, but it seems plausible to me because IJN failed to develop the effective deck catapult and that made the effective use of its small carriers very difficult in many cases. (Sometimes, those ships are used only as cargo ships to supply aircraft to Japanese occupied islands.)
Therefore, I understand fully some of the default single missions requiring to takeoff heavily loaded F4U from CVE around 20kt or less caused a lot of arguments among the community.
I think there must be in our community some gentlemen who could inform us how was real takeoff operation on CVE and how much extent the catapult was actually used to launch aircraft from the jeep carriers.
If the catapult was widely used on CVE to launch, we would be at least eligible to ask Oleg another favour. Please consider to fit it and get rid of exasperation among some of our fellows.
I am looking forward to your kind suggestions.

Kind Regards,

Talos2005
01-18-2005, 11:19 PM