PDA

View Full Version : Hawx full version for PC delivered today but won't work



Gunner_2009
03-17-2009, 01:27 AM
I Pre-Ordered Hawx and received it today but after installing it, i can't get it to work.

1. After the install there was no shorcut put on my desktop and no links in the start menu.

2. When running the game from the program files folder, it will start and i get to create a profile, but after clicking on apply, it freezes and i have to ctrl+alt+del to get out of it. Once when i go to my desktop, there is an error message -

HAWX.exe - Saved dump file to 'C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X\HAWX.exe.dmp'

I'm running Vista Home Premium SP1. All my specs get the ok after the install. After the running the game from the DVD it asked to run an update and downloaded from ubisoft. It fails to work before the update and after.

Please help!

JobDun
03-17-2009, 02:47 AM
Was demo of HAWX working fine ?

LiquidPinky
03-17-2009, 02:52 AM
Maybe date locked. You will probably have to uninstall then re-install it on the official release date. The download from Ubi will be to confirm the date from the Ubi server.

Now I think of it, probably DRM checking the date and stopping it loading up.

Gunner_2009
03-17-2009, 03:16 AM
Sorry i should have mentioned the Demo didn't work either. Same error comes up at the same point. I'll try set my date on the pc to next week and see if that makes a difference. Don't know if that will work though because the demo didn't work.

JobDun
03-17-2009, 03:20 AM
Do you have the latest graphic card drivers installed ?

LiquidPinky
03-17-2009, 03:26 AM
Maybe something to do with it not creating a profiles folder or similar, i am sure there was a thread about the problem a when the demo first came out.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...1007546/m/6401014047 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3981007546/m/6401014047)

SneAkzz
03-17-2009, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by LiquidPinky:
Maybe something to do with it not creating a profiles folder or similar, i am sure there was a thread about the problem a when the demo first came out.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...1007546/m/6401014047 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3981007546/m/6401014047)

that would be more logical since the Q&A tells us the game will not have any DRM

Gunner_2009
03-17-2009, 03:56 AM
Just tried changing the date. Still didn't work. Must be something to do with the creation of the profile. Nothing helpful in that thread yet.

Has anyone else got it working with Vista Home Premium 32x SP1?

Gunner_2009
03-17-2009, 04:18 AM
OK so i fixed it.

1 of 2 things fixed the problem.

1. I had all of my profile folders redirected to another location on another partition - e.g - C:/users/User/Documents - pointed to D:/users/User/Documents. I moved them all back by restoring the defaults on each of the folders.

2. I created a folder called 'My Documents' in the C:/users/User/ directory. There was an icon called My Documents in there already but wasn't pointing to anywhere so i deleted it and recreated the folder.

I hope this helps anyone having the same problem.

Happy flying everyone!

JobDun
03-17-2009, 04:20 AM
Well the realease dates are set for tomorrow in US so there not many ppl who have HAWX full game.

LiquidPinky
03-17-2009, 05:23 AM
Originally posted by SneAkzz:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by LiquidPinky:
Maybe something to do with it not creating a profiles folder or similar, i am sure there was a thread about the problem a when the demo first came out.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...1007546/m/6401014047 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3981007546/m/6401014047)

that would be more logical since the Q&A tells us the game will not have any DRM </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'll put my hands up and admit I never read the Q&A, I just made the assumtion that Farcry 2 had it so this probably would.

Glad Gunner_2009 got it sorted out though.

bob01uk
03-18-2009, 07:30 AM
any link on this patch as ididnt get a patch update during install

lunaticfringe80
03-18-2009, 08:05 AM
Same problem, same relocating of user folders.

Is the coding so bad in this game that it can't read the registry entries to see where the user folders reside?

Anyways, just moving the "Saved Games" folder back to its original location seemed to have done the trick. There's no need to move all of your folders back. I guess I can live with Saved Games being on my raid0, god forbid one drive should fail and I lose my all important saved games :P

Core.TG
03-18-2009, 08:46 AM
Originally posted by Gunner_2009:
Just tried changing the date.

ubi software checks its own date, as long as you have an inet connection open itll connect to an external clock, thats ubi games http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Darts-
03-18-2009, 09:14 AM
Same issue here : I relocated "My Documents" to a RAID1 array and I will not take the risk to move it back to the unprotected part of my computer.

We need a patch on this one...

dielcar
03-18-2009, 10:21 AM
I got the same problem but i do not realy understand what you have to do to solve the problem.

scraptatous2
03-18-2009, 07:59 PM
http://support.amd.com/us/gpud...4.1.3.5&lang=English (http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista32.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.5&lang=English)

I have been trying to play Hawx but a dump.exe file was not allowing me to start the game updated my ATI driver from the site above and started working

THS-Tritonb
03-18-2009, 08:30 PM
I have very simlilar problems. crashing, getting a dump file. have vista 64 ultimate though, Documents located on D drive. are you saying that a def problem?

broken85
03-18-2009, 09:34 PM
You don't even have to move your Saved Games folder back.

Just create a new Saved Games folder under C:\Users\YourUserName\

So for me it was: C:\Users\Ben\Saved Games

Then the game should work fine. Just note that your HAWX saves will be on the C drive instead of wherever the rest of your saved games are.

This is a bug apparently in the game which hard-codes it to check for the Saved Games folder on the C drive in Vista. This is not a problem in XP (why it generally works in Compatibility mode) since it uses My Documents, wherever it exists.

UnknownTarget
03-18-2009, 09:46 PM
Good call, that fixed the compatibility issue. Now if anyone has the store-bought copy, could you please upload the DX10 EXE for us Steam folks?

missingman808
03-18-2009, 10:59 PM
Well I have tried and tried to do this whole folder swtching thing and this damn game will still not run for me. I am getting this same dump warning. Could someone please make a step by step for dummies like me to make this work

scraptatous2
03-18-2009, 11:05 PM
http://files.filefront.com/HAW...91426;/fileinfo.html (http://files.filefront.com/HAWX+dx10exe/;13491426;/fileinfo.html)
file download above
Hawx dx10.exe

scraptatous2
03-18-2009, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by missingman808:
Well I have tried and tried to do this whole folder swtching thing and this damn game will still not run for me. I am getting this same dump warning. Could someone please make a step by step for dummies like me to make this work

After many tries Step by step I used to get rid of the dump file when loading HAWX retail software.

1. Installed HAWX
2. Loaded game (Received dump file)
3. Open HAWX DVD
E:\Support\DirectX\dxsetup.exe
and ran dxsetup and installed files
4. Download Patch 1.01 retail and installed
http://www.gamershell.com/news_72154.html

I tried to run the game but still got the dump file

5. I udated my ATI Graphics Software at
http://support.amd.com/us/gpud...oad/Pages/index.aspx (http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx)
6. Reboot
7. Open Hawx_dx10 from the program file
(Right click properties with windows xp compatibility checked.)


I did nothing with moving and routing folder files

broken85
03-19-2009, 01:02 AM
scraptatous2,

You have a different problem than I did. There seems to be three separate issues in this thread, each having a different solution.
1. Can't create profile in Vista - solution is to make sure "C:\Users\Username\Saved Games" exists
2. Crash immediately when opening - solution is to unplug any joysticks or extra input devices and try again
3. Software issue - caused by DirectX, .NET Framework, or driver issue, fixed by re-installing or updating

dielcar
03-19-2009, 02:02 PM
I tried all this but still won't work.

Is it normal that hawx creates the savegame files in this folder?
C:\Users\Username\Documents

Also: I have a dutch version of vista and the folder Users is named "Gebruikers" which is the dutch for Users and i can't create a map Users or rename the map "Gebruikers" to Users. Maybe this causes the problem?

missingman808
03-19-2009, 02:45 PM
Well I have tried everything and I am at my witts end. UBISOFT...CAN YOU HEAR ME?? UBISOFT FIX this please. I spent money on this game and you would expect with pc stats like this I should have no issues.

CORE 2 Extreme 3.06 ghz
Dual ATI HD 3870 in Crossfire
Vista Home Premium 64 bit
4gb RAM

missingman808
03-19-2009, 03:09 PM
Also..I will be uninstalling this piece of crap until UBISOFT fixes it. I have also made sure in my reviews that it is noted not too buy this game until UBISOFT fixes it.

crazymcdazy
03-19-2009, 11:22 PM
same problems here and with my friend.

Got full retail version and doesnt work. This game is broken. There is no hardware issue because i can play SOMETMIES.

First tried to play dx10 version, this worked good (but i did get a slight freazy when logging in to the online part but that restored itself in bout 5 seconds.

Played dx10 version fine in single and LAN.
Then we tried to log in to an online server. We could not use the friends list when in lobby.
We could not join same game in any loby.

So we decided the play dx9 version.
This is when dump file crash started.
It happened at least 5 times or more. So we relized there was a patch, and proceeded to install.

Tried again.

Errors still bombarded hard and strong.
We could get in to a few online games maybe 4.
We got alot of errors during the day.
We installed the latest 9.3 driver for ATI.
Errors contined and got more frequent.

Last night could not log in to online at all.
tried single. This worked however there was an prob the flight controls. The plan would not roll right and would continually roll left.
I thought this may be a joystick issue. So restart game with out joystick. Game would not load. Was getting a "bing!" sound at the load profile screen after profile selected. Then game crashes to desktop. (this error has happened sooooo many times.)

Restarted PC(no 3rd party hardware connected). Single player loads(would not dare to try online match at this stage.) but i still have the flight control error would not bank right.

So went to slepp hoping this would be fixed over night.

Next day.

Hawx still having issues.
Tried dx10 again.
Got in to the single player eventually.
Joy stick now works fine. Played happily for a while. Tried to log in online and FAIL!!!!!!

Tried to play dx9 version and FAIL!!!!!!

WTF IS WRONG WITH THIS GAME WHY WOULD U RELESE A GAME THAT DOES NOT WORK. WHAT IS THE SOLOTUION TO FIX THIS?????????????????

warspike
03-20-2009, 12:26 PM
i have fixed my problem and follow the below link to a form that i posted telling how to fix it.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...941039247#8941039247 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=3981007546&m=8941039247&r=8941039247#8941039247)

Hope it helps

crazymcdazy
03-20-2009, 01:12 PM
Originally posted by warspike:
i have fixed my problem and follow the below link to a form that i posted telling how to fix it.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...941039247#8941039247 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=3981007546&m=8941039247&r=8941039247#8941039247)

Hope it helps

No post found??

but i got a fix

Found a temp soloution for the random crashes.

When on the choose profile screen create a new profile and use the new 1. Then change back to original and seems to work fine.
The multiplayer is good for a while but i get random DC here and there and can not connect to alot of servers

core duo E8500
Striker II formula
ATI HD3870X2
4 GB DDR2
Vista HP 64

missingman808
03-20-2009, 01:17 PM
link to your post does not work. Pleas repost I am trying so hard to be able to play this game and nothing has worked for me so far.