PDA

View Full Version : Double Bike and Rider Bug



MadMotoMan
02-26-2020, 01:50 AM
After Feb-25 update:
There is an odd bug where the bike and rider both have a duplicate rendered just beyond the actual characters. It appears at about the width of the rider and beyond it. When I hit reset to checkpoints it randomly changes from a semi transparent copy to a fully opaque copy to none at all. The changes are not sequential and happen very random.
I tried to take screenshots but that's also not working for me now even after setting a different hot key.
This is happening only in the Track Editor. Don't see it in normal race mode or in Track Central.
It is not a shadow image it is a duplicate of Bike and rider. - Also the duplicates seem to have independant collisions with background objects.
Tried verifying files & reinstalling DirectX (11).
Tried online and offline modes.
Changing bike makes no difference.

MadMotoMan
02-26-2020, 06:23 PM
Ok I was able to get three screen grabs using another program.
Here are the three variations that randomly change everytime I reset to a checkpoint.
Hope it helps.
https://i.imgur.com/NHCIxQ5.jpg

MadMotoMan
02-27-2020, 05:20 PM
Adding to this report:
The editor crashes after about and hour (every time) and happens between clicking test run and starting a test run. Screen goes black and crashes to desktop.
Also, can't access the club screen to get the Anniversary helmet.

Ubi-Viral
02-27-2020, 07:06 PM
Hey, MadMotoMan!

Thanks for reaching out about this issue you are having. Is this not the ghost mode feature? If not could you take a video of the issue also please and share it here.

In regard to the game crashing, can you try the steps here: https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/Faqs/000025947/Basic-PC-Troubleshooting

For the helmet, do you get an error when you try to access the club screen?

MadMotoMan
02-28-2020, 05:20 PM
I don't know what the ghost mode feature is but as it's random everytime I reset to a checkpoint I'm guessing not. It's not something turning on or off.
The club finally loaded but only after about the 10th or 12th time restarting the game. No, there was no error message, just a quick flash (like one frame trying to load) then back to where it was.
I've also had the game freeze several time while trying to quite and submitted an automatic crash report.
Also, now get those stutters and short lock ups I've heard about but was not getting before the patch.
I will read through the rest of the forum and add to already posted reports before adding any other issues I've found.
I cannot submit a video as I don't have a way to do that. Sorry. But, the picture ↑ shows what happens with just resetting to a checkpoint.

Ubi-Karl
02-28-2020, 05:39 PM
I don't know what the ghost mode feature is but as it's random everytime I reset to a checkpoint I'm guessing not. It's not something turning on or off.
The club finally loaded but only after about the 10th or 12th time restarting the game. No, there was no error message, just a quick flash (like one frame trying to load) then back to where it was.
I've also had the game freeze several time while trying to quite and submitted an automatic crash report.
Also, now get those stutters and short lock ups I've heard about but was not getting before the patch.
I will read through the rest of the forum and add to already posted reports before adding any other issues I've found.
I cannot submit a video as I don't have a way to do that. Sorry. But, the picture ↑ shows what happens with just resetting to a checkpoint.

Thanks for getting back to us there.

In regards to duplicate rider, have you had a chance to try and change your outfits, to see if the same issue persists?
In terms of technical issues, let us know whether you've had a chance to go through the steps suggested by Ubi-Viral, and if issues persist, we will be happy to look into it further for you!

MadMotoMan
02-28-2020, 05:52 PM
Interesting. I will try that and report back.

MadMotoMan
02-29-2020, 04:57 PM
Nope changing rider & bike gear didn't make a difference.
I can tell you more though. When riding faster the the duplicate bike and rider move a little more forward and when moving backward the duplicate moves backward.
Almost reminds me of Left & Right eye 3D images but I don't use any VR soft or hardware and I'm not aware of any game settings for those. Plus as I said it's only in the editor and completely random but only changes on resets.
If you open the above image and look at it full sized you can see much better the effect I'm getting.

UbiDork
03-05-2020, 01:22 AM
MadMotoMan: Thanks for that update, MadMotoMan! Are you able to provide a video clip of this in game?

MadMotoMan
03-06-2020, 04:45 PM
I was asked that before. I have not idea how to record and share videos like that.
If I know what you are looking for I can try and describe what happens to you.
I can tell you it is there everytime I use the track editor since last update.
Changes everytime I test run or reset to checkpoint but stays at whatever transparency it is until next reset to checkpoint.
The more test runs and resets I do the quicker the game seems to crashes so it may be holding something in vid-ram or buffer.
It's an exact duplicate of the bike and rider but when the bike crashes the duplicates can jump around a bit.
I have reinstalled everything including directx.
Deleted cache files.
If you open the picture file above with the three variation images you can see better the effect I'm getting.

UbiDork
03-06-2020, 11:43 PM
MadMotoMan: Hmm, do you have access to a phone that can record or capture? You can try that way and upload the clip or picture to our support over Ubisoft Support Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pg/UbisoftSupport) or Ubisoft Support Twitter (https://twitter.com/UbisoftSupport)! After sending it in, please provide them with this link to the forums and that the video is for UbiDork. :)

MadMotoMan
03-07-2020, 04:48 PM
Well, aside from the forums, I may be one of the few people who doesn't really care much for mainstream social medias.
I actually just signed up for twitch a few weeks ago to watch and learn from the official Trials Rising channels.
I don't own a smartphone, don't use Facebook or Twitter and to be honest, have no desire to.
I don't think you're gonna see anything in a video that you don't see in the screenshots. It's literally just a copy of the bike and rider that only changes on restarts or resets.
Don't worry about it though. If I am the only person this is affecting, I'll just wait 'til the next update patch and see if the bug is still there before I take other steps. I've spent so many hours trying to help figure out the "inappropriate language" bug and thought I had it licked, only to find that it's still there, that I just don't have the energy right now to put more time into it. If it persists I will focus more on it again later when I'm feeling a bit more alert.
Don't get me wrong, I want to help, just don't have the mindset for it at the moment.
Who knows maybe it's somehow connected to the "Freeze/Stutter" bug.

UbiDork
03-08-2020, 02:37 AM
MadMotoMan: No worries, MadMotoMan, and thank you for explaining that out for me. I can definitely share what we have so far and see what we can do for you and get this investigated properly. Thank you truly for all your help on this Forum Thread! :) Truly a community leader!

MadMotoMan
03-08-2020, 04:39 PM
I appreciate your sentiments and responses and will bring you more when I have it. :)

UbiDork
03-09-2020, 12:26 AM
MadMotoMan: Much appreciated, MadMotoMan! :D

MadMotoMan
03-09-2020, 07:36 PM
I think I know what you were talking about now with the ghosts.
Editor Settings:
Show Fake Bikes: was checked, unchecking this option stops the duplicates.
However, because the double image was appearing randomly, solid, semi transparent and not at all - and the fact that it is there when I am not doing a multi-lane track but is there while editing a Trials map and a Skill Game track - makes me think this is still a bug.

Another thing I've mentioned is Crash To Desktop occuring after some time. This seems to be related to how much time I've spent driving/testing the map and not just time spent in the editor.
I've also noticed that the "Rider Path" when checked in editor options is now recording the entire test run, where as before the last update it was just the last several seconds. Is it possible this is causing a stack overflow error or something memory related?
I'll attach an image of the rider path trail displayed after a recent test run. Also I'll try running without this feature turned on for a while and see if I still get CTDs.
https://i.imgur.com/0CQm8yP.jpg

Ubi-Orion
03-09-2020, 08:23 PM
I think I know what you were talking about now with the ghosts.
Editor Settings:
Show Fake Bikes: was checked, unchecking this option stops the duplicates.
However, because the double image was appearing randomly, solid, semi transparent and not at all - and the fact that it is there when I am not doing a multi-lane track but is there while editing a Trials map and a Skill Game track - makes me think this is still a bug.

Another thing I've mentioned is Crash To Desktop occuring after some time. This seems to be related to how much time I've spent driving/testing the map and not just time spent in the editor.
I've also noticed that the "Rider Path" when checked in editor options is now recording the entire test run, where as before the last update it was just the last several seconds. Is it possible this is causing a stack overflow error or something memory related?
I'll attach an image of the rider path trail displayed after a recent test run. Also I'll try running without this feature turned on for a while and see if I still get CTDs.
https://i.imgur.com/0CQm8yP.jpg

Perfect, thanks. Please do keep us updated on this but hopefully the CTD issues are now resolved for you.

MadMotoMan
03-10-2020, 03:23 PM
Ok, last night I spent about three hours in the editor with "Rider Path" Turned off and had no crash even doing long tests.
So, while there seems to be a way to avoid the crashes, it doesn't really resolve the issue because having the Path on is handy for placing objects.
Might be nice if someone else could try this as well to verify it as a bug.

Ubi-Raziel
03-10-2020, 06:53 PM
Ok, last night I spent about three hours in the editor with "Rider Path" Turned off and had no crash even doing long tests.
So, while there seems to be a way to avoid the crashes, it doesn't really resolve the issue because having the Path on is handy for placing objects.
Might be nice if someone else could try this as well to verify it as a bug.

Hey! I'm not sure if you remember but we've spoke before here on the forums :)

Thank you very much for providing as much information as you have, your memory crash issue makes perfect sense to me.

I have reported the issue to the team. They will test multiple runs of a track with Rider Path enabled and see if we experience the same issue.

All the best!

MadMotoMan
03-11-2020, 02:14 PM
Yes Ubi-Raziel, I remember talking with you before (about the Track Sharing / Inappropriate Language bug. which by the way is still happening even after the last update)
That's awesome news. I look forward to hearing what they find.

Ubi-Raziel
03-11-2020, 07:44 PM
I've been keeping track of the inappropriate language investigation. Reports from other players are still coming in but it's a very intermittent and rare issue, which is why we've still not been able to reproduce it ourselves. Testing is still ongoing however and once we narrow it down we'll make sure to implement a fix.

Moving on to the crashing issue! Our testing team were able to reproduce this issue very quickly and the dev team has been notified.

I don't have any further information just yet but if we are able to design a fix, that will be included in a future update.

Thank you again for keeping us informed of your experiences, I hope you're doing well!

MadMotoMan
03-12-2020, 03:58 PM
Good to know, and doing well, thank you. Spent a lot of time again yesterday in editor with no crash so yup, I'm sure that's the one. On one hand it was nice though having longer recorded paths to examine. Maybe when they fix they can have it record longer than originally but obviously not forever. :)

Ubi-Viral
03-15-2020, 08:43 PM
Good to know, and doing well, thank you. Spent a lot of time again yesterday in editor with no crash so yup, I'm sure that's the one. On one hand it was nice though having longer recorded paths to examine. Maybe when they fix they can have it record longer than originally but obviously not forever. :)

Hopefully they can implement that suggestion. Fingers crossed this issue is resolved quickly for you. Let us know if we can help you with anything else for now.

MadMotoMan
03-16-2020, 02:56 PM
Thank you.