PDA

View Full Version : OT - New AMD Based PC Specs - But what's the Intel equivalent?



Realjambo
01-01-2008, 06:53 AM
I'm window shopping for some new components and would welcome comments from other system builders here.

I will keep my Thermaltake Soprano case, Jeantech 500w PSU and X-Fi Xtreme Game and for the time being my 7900GT 512, but will eventually become an 8800GT. I'll have to update from my current AMD 64 x 2 4400 (939 skt) and as I have only ever known and used AMD, I don't know what the equivalent would be for an Intel based system so those Intel Kaleun's out there speak up! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif I know the Intel CPU's are currently strides ahead of the AMD's if you get the right one, but I don't know an Core 2 Duo E6750 from a Core 2 Extreme QX6 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Any upgrade from 939 skt AMD will mean new ram because of the pin configuration change, so that is part of the consideration too, but at least is compatible with both the AMD and Intel motherboards.

Here's how far I have got, based on Ebuyer UK (http://www.ebuyer.com/) which I like to use. If you enter the quick find codes it will give you the extended spec on the website.

Arctic Cooling Freezer-64-LP Dual Cooling Low Profile Processor Cooler for AMD 939 and AM2 Processors
QuickFind Code: 131148 | Mfr part #: AC-FRZ-64LP
(11.99 inc VAT)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ Socket AM2 Black Edition 3.20GHz Retail Boxed Processor Without Fan
QuickFind Code: 132142 | Mfr part #: ADX6400CZWOF
(110.75 inc VAT)

ASUS M2N-SLI DELUXE Socket AM2 nvidia 570SLi 7.1channel audio ATX (I won't be going SLI but it's a pretty good board from what I've read)
QuickFind Code: 113974 | Mfr part #: 90-MIB030-G0EAYZ
(74.22 inc VAT)

Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory Non-ECC Unbuffered CL4(4-4-4-12) E.P.P. Heat Spreader Lifetime Warranty
QuickFind Code: 111439 | Mfr part #: TWIN2X2048-6400C4
(51.52 inc VAT)

bunkerratt
01-01-2008, 07:45 AM
rj....2 things..first...to save a heartache later...get a bigger case ..it'll give you room for the 8800 later...and ..if and when you can..i would go with a 600 watt psu .... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/typing.gif

Realjambo
01-03-2008, 12:44 PM
Thanks BR. I think my Soprano case will take it all - an 8800GTX card fitted with no problems and hopefully Hiper will replace my 530w M series PSU which 'should' have enough oomf to keep up, but thanks for the advice, I will bear it in mind http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Liddabit
01-03-2008, 01:13 PM
The gigabyte 8800gt is really small if space is a concern, its the one I have. Its also much cooler than the other 8800gt boards so far.

This chart may help you decide:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu_2007.html

I would probably go with Intel if I were making a new system now. I just went with a special low powered cool running AMD 64 X2 4200. I was tired of worrying about heat and listening to fans :P It runs at 86F with stock fan so I never worry about heat anymore. That was awhile back though so it is out of date.

Your power supply should be fine so long as it isn't faulty and has 2 12V rails and you don't run SLI. If you get the HIper one back it should be fine for everything though http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Heres the size comparison picture on the Gigabyte 8800GT compared to the reference size which most are using now.

http://home.comcast.net/~bcoutu/3sizes.jpg

Realjambo
01-03-2008, 01:44 PM
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu_2007.html

Thanks Liddabit! That comparison was exactly what I was looking for! Thanks very much for posting it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Liddabit
01-03-2008, 01:50 PM
Thou art welcome Sir Jambo! http://percival.dungeons.ws/images/smiles/knight2.gif

pookapotamus
01-04-2008, 08:23 AM
well I can at last help out a moderator!!

My AMD6400+ runs great!! the only real issues I had when installing it was to update my bios, which turned out to be a non issue. My motherboard has a bios update utility built into it, the only issue was me learning to use it.

My previous processor was a 4200+ 2.2 gig and the jump up to the 6400+ was great i do notice a lot better load times (although my load times with the 4200+ were in no way horrible) plus better start up times. I am running the power hungry vista but honestly I love it, my only real issue is that a 32 bit system only supports 3.5 gigs of ram. so my next up grade will probably be a 64 bit operating system.

I will keep posting info about my cpu as i know many people want more power from there systems.

Realjambo
01-04-2008, 08:41 AM
Thanks Pookapotamus!

Are you running the stock cooler on that CPU?

pookapotamus
01-04-2008, 09:21 AM
no since it does not come with a cooler I am running a high end zalman cooler coupled with a zalman northbridge cooler. no water cooling as of yet but my chip stays cool at about 21 deg C under heavy loads.

if I new how to post pics I would show you my system but that is a question for later.

Realjambo
01-04-2008, 09:31 AM
Ah OK, I asked as I wondered if it was only the 6400's in the UK that came without a fan.

I use an Arctic Colling fan on my cpu currently, but I am liking the look of some of the newer Zalman ones http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

For a guide on posting pictures, go Here (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/857101043/m/4451080164) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

pookapotamus
01-04-2008, 04:26 PM
http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii191/pookapotamus/Comp006.jpg
well this is my first pic to post hope it works http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii191/pookapotamus/Comp004.jpg

both of these are before my new processor and ram but it is almost identical.

Liddabit
01-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Wow that HSF makes swapping memory look painful :P

Goose_Green
01-04-2008, 05:16 PM
Originally posted by Liddabit:
Wow that HSF makes swapping memory look painful :P

You're not the only one thinking of the RAM change either...that's one hell of a cooling fan http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

pookapotamus
01-04-2008, 05:31 PM
well is not like I change ram everyday but it is a little tricky.

btw it keep the cpu very cool at 21 deg C, and it is very quiet.

IsaanRanger
01-05-2008, 01:46 AM
Interesting how you got such a 3rd party heatsink and extra cooling device for the CPU but your memory does not even have heat sinks????

IsaanRanger
01-05-2008, 01:48 AM
I am keeping my 4400+ x2 AMD 939 socket for the meantime and I am upgrading soon to a 8800GT, I will just go with the new GPU and see how things handle before I bother with a CPU upgrade, cause things seem very decent with the 4400+ and I run it with Kingston Hypermax dual channel 2GB at FSB 400

andy3536
01-05-2008, 04:03 AM
You asked for the intel eqiuvelant, i suppose the closest in terms of price would be the E6750.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=632054
But for only 45 more than your willing to pay for the AMD there's the Q6600 quad core that you should take a look at.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=702631

Just on the off chance you'll go for intel then the G33, P35 motherboards would be the best.

If you go with AMD though the system does look good.

The hiper PSUs haven't always had the best name, your jeanteck 500w would have enough power for a 8800GT but if you were going to upgrade your PSU a better option would be the Corsair HX 520 modular PSU.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=446788
It's not the cheapest but great reviews and a 5 year warrenty and modular so most of the cables stay in the box leaving everything looking neater.

pookapotamus
01-05-2008, 08:08 AM
IsaanRanger Posted Jan 5, 3:46 AM Hide Post
Interesting how you got such a 3rd party heatsink and extra cooling device for the CPU but your memory does not even have heat sinks????


This is because at the time of this pic I only had 2 gigs micron ram not a true matched pair. now I am running 4 gigs of OCD dual channal 800 mhz pair and yes they have sinks and I am considdering a cooler for them although they seem to run fairly cool.

Also I have yet to over clock the new 6400+. So if any one has any tips or suggestions on that i would apreciate it very much.

Realjambo
01-05-2008, 08:29 AM
Originally posted by andy3536:
You asked for the intel eqiuvelant, i suppose the closest in terms of price would be the E6750.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=632054
But for only 45 more than your willing to pay for the AMD there's the Q6600 quad core that you should take a look at.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=702631

Just on the off chance you'll go for intel then the G33, P35 motherboards would be the best.

If you go with AMD though the system does look good.

The hiper PSUs haven't always had the best name, your jeanteck 500w would have enough power for a 8800GT but if you were going to upgrade your PSU a better option would be the Corsair HX 520 modular PSU.
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=446788
It's not the cheapest but great reviews and a 5 year warrenty and modular so most of the cables stay in the box leaving everything looking neater.

Andy3536, Thank you very much for this research on my behalf! I have some thinking to do it seems http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

bunkerratt
01-05-2008, 08:43 AM
depending on the system and the hardware in use a good rule is not to overclock beyond 10% for the mobo and cpu ...the gpu is another story .depending on the card/cards..

IsaanRanger
01-09-2008, 11:04 PM
I just got my 8800gt

in my similiar system as your old 4400+ x2 with 2GB DDR 400

and it makes Silent Hunter 3 go no lower than 60FPS in GWX 2.0 at all settings maxed and 16x AF and 8x FSAA at 1280x1024

Silent Hunter 4 is at 60 and above with ROW and 16x AF and 8xFSAA at 1280x1024 too

I think I screwed up the Crysis settings and the graphics are corrupt plus still cannot get FSAA in crysis? I thought it was cause I could not have HDR and FSAA at same time for the 7950GT, oh well. I may have to reinstall crysis.