PDA

View Full Version : Vulching: I need your opinion

stitchjones1971
02-05-2007, 08:07 PM
Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the IL2 game and I had a question about vulching:

Scenario 1: My airfield is under attack and I take off and engage two enemies. I shoot one down and then the other enemy gets on my tail. I try to shake him then figure my only way to escape is to make some abrupt manuevers and try to land. I throw the gear down and extend flaps on final and the guy blows me away. The server rules say no shooting at aircraft landing and taking off.

Technically, I was landing but I don't consider this vulching because I was engaged and was trying to escape.

1) What do the old pros out there think? Is this vulching?

Scenario Two: I come off the high perch and make a diving attack on an enemy. I miss the enemy and continue on toward another enemy. One of my teammates injures the enemy then breaks away. I take a couple wild shots at him from 400 meters and miss, but he sees me and starts jinking. We are a good five miles from his airfield. I continue to take random shots at him, and cannot close the distance. He continues toward his airfield in an attempt to land his damaged bird. About one mile out, he throws gear and flaps, and also turns on landing lights. I start to close to "Galland ramming distance" and he is easy prey.

2) Can I shoot him down since I had him engaged the whole time or is this considered vulching?

Pirschjaeger
02-05-2007, 08:16 PM
Scenario 1 is the same as 2, engagement happened first. It's not vulching.

Vulching is when you attack someone who just spawned and hasn't taken off yet. Once you are airbourne, you are fair game, even if you managed to escape a fight and are landing.

Xiolablu3
02-05-2007, 08:21 PM
These things all depend on what server you are flying.