PDA

View Full Version : Starlink Cannot run under a Virtual Machine (Straight PC Windows 10)



InterUse
05-03-2019, 11:49 AM
Hello!
Recently i tried to launch Starlink using NVIDIA GeForce Now Beta, and you guessed it, that didn't work.
Every launch attempt ended up with the same error - "Starlink.exe | Sorry this application cannot run under a virtual machine"
Can you give any comments - why? Any possibility of fixing this in the future?


After googling about this error, it seems that it is rare in general and the only "fix" for it from user side - to disable Hyper-V and some NET. 3.5 features in system, but because few people have admin access to GeForce Now servers (at least i hope only intended personnel have), that is not possible solution.
The main reason i ask and "strange part" is - even though Starlink is not listed as "officially supported" title in GeFNow, i've tried a lot of different "not supported" titles that worked fine, and this is first game with this problem encountered.

ipariszalonna
05-07-2019, 04:10 PM
I get this same error message but I'm not using GeforceNow. I'm trying to run this on my own physical PC, no VM involved. A thread on Steam forums suggests that disabling virtualization in UEFI might solve the issue but that's an essential feature of my PC that I do use for other stuff. Frankly, it's ridiculous that the game is not able to run because of this. I opened up a support ticket with all my config details and screenshot. I'm eagerly waiting for a response.

UbiMorning
05-11-2019, 10:44 PM
Hey guys. Just to clarify, we do not officially support GeForceNow. We apologize for the inconvenience.

xcyoteex
06-15-2019, 10:56 PM
Could you resolve the problem with having Hyper-V enabled?

I don't want to have to restart to change my BIOS settings just to play your game.

Ubi-Woofer
11-04-2019, 07:05 PM
Could you resolve the problem with having Hyper-V enabled?

I don't want to have to restart to change my BIOS settings just to play your game.

Hey xcyoteex, would you mind clarifying if this issue still persists for you even now?

If unable to run the game on your PC even after disabling Hyper-V, we'd like to see your MSinfo and DxDiag files (https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/faqs/000026442/Submit-Dxdiag-and-Msinfo/) to investigate further. Please submit these to us via a support case (https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/Cases/New) on our website, and drop the case reference number in a reply here so that I can take a look. Thanks!

FalconGrey
11-20-2019, 10:09 PM
I decided, after reading other posts, to make my own being this is straight Windows 10 Pro off the desktop from the Ubi Launcher. I'm NOT using nVidia gForce Now. I am not running in a virtual machine, though there IS one configured on my system for testing other programs (I DO test software for people and NEED this machine that resides on an entirely different hard drive). I have tested various settings, trying to get this game to work... I only JUST purchased it and have not gotten it to run ONCE yet. On launch the error "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine." instantly pops up and execution haults! I have even gone as far as going into Windows 10's security settings and turned off the Core Isolation Memory Integrity settings which 'should' have stopped isolating any and all programs in a virtual state of memory on execution... didn't help. Uninstalled Avast Antivirus with the thought 'maybe it's use of virtual isolation testing is triggering this error...' nope... Gone so far as to uninstall and disabled ALL antivirus / malware protections to find it is none of these that are throwing this 'error'.

From what I have been reading, the only conclusion is there is code that is detecting the virtual machine software is installed and or hardware is active even though the game is not running within the software, it is refusing to run because it detects the needed software and or hardware turned on.....

How is someone supposed to play this game in this situation? Turning off the hardware and / or uninstalling the needed software every time is unacceptable!

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/20/2019, 12:48:44
Machine name: MEMORYALPHA
Machine Id: {DFB10772-6321-4B0B-B3DF-80CD8BA4513C}
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 18363) (18362.19h1_release.190318-1202)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: 5220 (type: UEFI)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Eight-Core Processor (16 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16316MB RAM
Page File: 7075MB used, 17432MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DirectX Database Version: Unknown
DxDiag Version: 10.00.18362.0387 64bit Unicode


https://ibb.co/Pj24srq

FalconGrey
11-20-2019, 10:10 PM
https://i.ibb.co/zx3bWmq/Virtual-Machine.jpg

FalconGrey
11-21-2019, 12:12 AM
XCyoteex, exactly WHAT dot net 3.5 features did you have to disable because even disabling all Hyper-V, Virtual Machine features (and I NEED these for other programs that I work with to function for beta testing!!!) that still didn't get this game to work! I've tried blanket disabling 3.5 and it still came up unable to run this game... I started my own thread on this as I'm not playing this other than straight Windows 10 Pro. I'm not using nVidia GeForce Now so we have different threads for this reason... but sharing notes won't hurt on this! (No sense re-creating the wheel if someone made it already...)

FalconGrey
11-21-2019, 12:36 AM
Update: I have submitted a support request for this. Reference number for the support request is 10165041.

And sorry for the frustrated rant in the request... After uninstalling all the virtual machine components to test only to find the game STILL came up with 'Sorry, can't run in a virtual machine'.... I really got frustrated. Yeah, no virtual machine parts are installed and it STILL isn't running now! Hyper-V, Virtual Machine, all of it was removed. All the drives.... still not running!

UbiCovah
11-25-2019, 04:05 AM
Hey, FalconGrey!

Apologies for the delay. If you are still experiencing this issue, please reopen/update case 10165041 so that a specialist can help diagnose the issue.

Thanks :)

Fazeball
11-27-2019, 09:05 AM
Update: I have submitted a support request for this. Reference number for the support request is 10165041.

And sorry for the frustrated rant in the request... After uninstalling all the virtual machine components to test only to find the game STILL came up with 'Sorry, can't run in a virtual machine'.... I really got frustrated. Yeah, no virtual machine parts are installed and it STILL isn't running now! Hyper-V, Virtual Machine, all of it was removed. All the drives.... still not running!

it doesn't matter what you have on your machine, what matters what's enabled in your bios. you have to disable virtualization support there (which, depending on your motherboard/bios has an acronym you'd have to look up to know if it's for it or not, especially on amd boards).

EDIT:
look for: AMD-V (also called SVM and initially codename Pacifica). if you see any of those settings in the MIT menu, disable it and try again.

Fazeball
11-27-2019, 09:09 AM
Hey xcyoteex, would you mind clarifying if this issue still persists for you even now?

If unable to run the game on your PC even after disabling Hyper-V, we'd like to see your MSinfo and DxDiag files (https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/faqs/000026442/Submit-Dxdiag-and-Msinfo/) to investigate further. Please submit these to us via a support case (https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/Cases/New) on our website, and drop the case reference number in a reply here so that I can take a look. Thanks!

you need to check your internal docs, being forced to disable hyper-v is common knowledge by now, thanks to an over-aggressive denuvo setting (same reason you have to start uplay as administrator - no, elevation after launch doesn't work - else the game simply won't start. ofc you don't get an error message about this).
you also need to do this AFTER SHUTTING WINDOWS DOWN and turning off your system. a restart will use fast boot (unless disabled) and might use the old setting.

@everyone else
game's dead, this will never be fixed. if you bought it on steam leave an appropriate review and remember it as a cautionary tale before purchasing ubisoft games in the future.

cdytoby
12-07-2019, 09:44 PM
After so long this is still not fixed?!?!?!? WTF and WTH??

Ticket created, 10283301, FIX IT ASAP!!

I'm not disabling HyperV or disable Virtualization for this BS!

ChakotayChou
12-08-2019, 04:16 AM
I have the same problem and send support ticket. Just remove the G**D*** "Denuvo".

cdytoby
12-12-2019, 09:00 AM
Hey,

I created that ticket, and they told me to close Hyper V and virtualization.

B**ls**t support from you. You don't want to even admit it's your fault.

@Fazeball is right, this game is dead, they don't even bother to fix the issue.

ChakotayChou
12-28-2019, 12:57 AM
UPDATE:
After a long time negotiating with UBI support, I got refund. If you cannot play Starlink, just ask for refund.

Ubi-Woofer
07-30-2020, 12:46 PM
Fazeball - Thanks for sharing these troubleshooting ideas with FalconGrey - I appreciate that I'm replying to this thread a while later, but I just wanted you to know your assistance didn't go unnoticed!

FalconGrey - Did you happen to try any of those recommendations? Did you manage to get the issue resolved? I checked case 10165041 but see that it was never reopened, so wondering if you found a solution. :)

Ubi-Woofer
07-30-2020, 01:02 PM
Hello everyone,

As an update to the previous page, in case anyone should still be facing this issue - we do recommend to disable Hyper-V, and / or virtualisation, as a first troubleshooting step. If issues should persist even after these steps have been done, we would appreciate it if you could provide your MSINFO (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/faqs/21216/) and DXDIAG (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/faqs/21185/) files to us in a support case (https://support.ubisoft.com/Cases/New) for further investigation.

(I have updated my post on the previous page, as I realise my wording regarding contacting us regarding this issue may have been confusing - I apologise for that!)

Additionally, I can confirm that streaming services such as Shadow PC, Parsec and GeForce NOW are not officially supported, so attempting to use such a service to play Starlink will always result in this error message. I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment caused by this.

Ouss.Salmii
07-30-2020, 01:59 PM
I thought Ubisoft is fully supporting GeForce Now !

Ubi-Woofer
07-31-2020, 12:20 PM
Many of our games are officially supported by GeForce NOW and other services, Ouss.Salmii, however I'm afraid Starlink: Battle for Atlas is not one of them at this time. I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment. :(

jurjir
12-15-2020, 05:59 PM
It is a game problem, bad design or poor develop.

Workaround found here:

https://illuminati.services/2019/12/07/starlink-sorry-this-application-cannot-run-under-a-virtual-machine/

good luck!

mafogga
12-15-2020, 07:26 PM
...if the game doesnt start at all.
So the bug is well known but never got fixed.
I played more thann 1.000 games on my pc bit this little game just wont start and ubisoft is unable to resolve.
happy christmas

Velensar
12-16-2020, 12:15 AM
Interesting to see that this bug was never fixed, even though the game is only 2 years old.

Also interesting to see that a game that's literally unplayable is handed out for free.
Great gift Ubisoft.

Also, apparently because of COVID, only chat support is enabled at this moment.
I guess people can't answer emails from the same safe location as they can answer chat messages?

redlath
12-16-2020, 01:53 AM
ohh YOU HAVE TO BE F K N kidding me!!!

You CAN'T expect to force users to deactivate virtual machines, not even think about changing stuff in the BIOS.

This is a poorly thought corporate decision done by ppl who are not techsavy nor gamers... GET SOME BALLS DEVS!

zhushenli
12-16-2020, 02:40 AM
Same problem on Win 10 Pro, uninstall Hyper-V don't solve it. Have to uninstall the game.

chl44
12-16-2020, 01:16 PM
I have the same problem !

StereoDanO
12-16-2020, 02:14 PM
Giving away a game for free with known issues that'll stop it from launching?

Merry Christmas Ubisoft.

Well done.

DotNetWarrior
12-17-2020, 04:05 AM
Same problem.... Game won't start....

redlath
12-17-2020, 07:44 AM
So I went thru the trouble of deactivating Intel Hyper-V in the BIOS and the game indeed ran...

So it is outrageous...I understand why the corporate morons decided to get denuvo shiat! ----this game is just promoting merchandising! to advance in the game you may buy your pilots/weapons/spaceships...and connect them thru hardware ID or simply codes... IT IS A SHAME CUZ THE BASE GAME IS ACTUALLY GOOD - the ideas, the execution is alright, the world is beautiful... shame these devs sold the soul of the game to corporates creeps...

So now back to enable Hyper-V cuz I ain't sticking around...

Mordwynn
12-17-2020, 12:08 PM
I sure hope someone can come up with a fix for this. Pretty disappointing.

Spamcatcher5000
12-17-2020, 05:58 PM
Its amazing: Ubisoft are literally giving this game away for free and still keep the DRM in that is preventing people from playing. Could have made some money off the DLC if people liked the base game but NOPE!.

spitfire_8_7
12-18-2020, 10:26 AM
I just checked - just disabling Hyper-V and rebooting doesn't help. Needed to disable SVM (Virtualization extensions) in BIOS. Please fix it.

Gokkster
12-19-2020, 06:33 AM
Still doesn't work. Fresh install doesn't work. Fix the game please.

Amielucha
12-19-2020, 06:48 PM
Wasted an hour looking for a solution and still no luck. I will not be changing BIOS settings or disabling crucial Windows functions just to play it. It's the developers' responsibility to make sure the game works on common Windows setups.

k0phoegon
12-20-2020, 02:11 AM
Hello everyone,

As an update to the previous page, in case anyone should still be facing this issue - we do recommend to disable Hyper-V, and / or virtualisation, as a first troubleshooting step. If issues should persist even after these steps have been done, we would appreciate it if you could provide your MSINFO (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/faqs/21216/) and DXDIAG (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/faqs/21185/) files to us in a support case (https://support.ubisoft.com/Cases/New) for further investigation.

(I have updated my post on the previous page, as I realise my wording regarding contacting us regarding this issue may have been confusing - I apologise for that!)

Additionally, I can confirm that streaming services such as Shadow PC, Parsec and GeForce NOW are not officially supported, so attempting to use such a service to play Starlink will always result in this error message. I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment caused by this.

Not only did I report you, but you're lucky that no one has the mind to push for criminal charges as this game is basically demanding that you disable core windows 10 security features (application guard & Hyper-v) along with .net 3.5 things, along with reducing functionality of their system.


I was seriously looking forward to playing this game, but like I said to the early 'steam developers'
-- **** you, disabling security for the sake of your lazy *** isn't going to happen & to the poor souls you've tricked into doing this..... I hope the dev house goes under.
=== In their case it was an UAC disabling... but this is somehow 100x worse

chaosth30ry
12-20-2020, 03:32 AM
Why does this check for a VM anyways? I just bought all the DLC too, and I feel cheated because I likely can't return it now.

Why? Why does this force me to disable key, basic Windows security features just to play a game? It's always related DRM related protections isn't it?

Tanrica
12-20-2020, 06:32 AM
Game write message :
Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine

I have windows 10 and the game tries to install patches on windows 8
why?
a nice gift to destroy the system windows 10

Thanks Ubisoft

WizardCM
12-20-2020, 06:51 AM
I have Hyper-V installed because I use it on a weekly basis. I should not have to disable that and virtualisation in the BIOS to play a game. I'm glad I didn't spend money on this or I'd be annoyed.

WhoIsHantI
12-20-2020, 07:46 PM
Virtualization is a powerful security feature in the processor and operating systems.
I won't disable it not just to play a game, but for nothing else either. And I advice the same to everybody.

twmeyer1103
12-20-2020, 10:37 PM
Thank you for the Giftbox. But it was Empty. Starlink wont run, so deinstalled alle the empty giftboxes. Dont want to buy or play Ubisoft in Future. Thanks again for the info what quality you sit on.

ItronnX
12-21-2020, 06:36 AM
What an utter waste of time and bandwidth ! No wonder this game is listed for free - it just doesn't work ! UNINSTALLED.

Ubi-Borealis
12-21-2020, 11:45 AM
Hey there guys!

I'm sorry to hear that you are encountering this issue when trying to launch Starlink: Battle for Atlas.

As mentioned earlier in the thread by my colleague Ubi-Woofer, streaming services such as Shadow PC, Parsec and GeForce NOW are not officially supported. If you are using these, attempting to play Starlink will always result in this error message. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this.

If disabling Hyper-V and/or virtualisation on your computer doesn't help to alleviate this issue, please can you open a support ticket so our team can take a closer look. You can reach our support teams here:
- Open a Support case (https://support.ubisoft.com/Cases/New)
- Start a Live chat (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/Article/000060578) (please be sure to check your region's opening times (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-gb/Contact) first!)
- Twitter (https://twitter.com/ubisoftsupport?lang=en) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/UbisoftSupport)

When opening a support ticket, please attach an MSinfo (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-GB/Article/000078753) and a DxDiag (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-gb/Article/000078583), as this will help the team to investigate further. Please also include all troubleshooting steps you have tried in your case notes.

Thanks!