PDA

View Full Version : Starlink Cannot run under a Virtual Machine (Straight PC Windows 10)



FalconGrey
11-20-2019, 10:09 PM
I decided, after reading other posts, to make my own being this is straight Windows 10 Pro off the desktop from the Ubi Launcher. I'm NOT using nVidia gForce Now. I am not running in a virtual machine, though there IS one configured on my system for testing other programs (I DO test software for people and NEED this machine that resides on an entirely different hard drive). I have tested various settings, trying to get this game to work... I only JUST purchased it and have not gotten it to run ONCE yet. On launch the error "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine." instantly pops up and execution haults! I have even gone as far as going into Windows 10's security settings and turned off the Core Isolation Memory Integrity settings which 'should' have stopped isolating any and all programs in a virtual state of memory on execution... didn't help. Uninstalled Avast Antivirus with the thought 'maybe it's use of virtual isolation testing is triggering this error...' nope... Gone so far as to uninstall and disabled ALL antivirus / malware protections to find it is none of these that are throwing this 'error'.

From what I have been reading, the only conclusion is there is code that is detecting the virtual machine software is installed and or hardware is active even though the game is not running within the software, it is refusing to run because it detects the needed software and or hardware turned on.....

How is someone supposed to play this game in this situation? Turning off the hardware and / or uninstalling the needed software every time is unacceptable!

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/20/2019, 12:48:44
Machine name: MEMORYALPHA
Machine Id: {DFB10772-6321-4B0B-B3DF-80CD8BA4513C}
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 18363) (18362.19h1_release.190318-1202)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: 5220 (type: UEFI)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Eight-Core Processor (16 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16316MB RAM
Page File: 7075MB used, 17432MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DirectX Database Version: Unknown
DxDiag Version: 10.00.18362.0387 64bit Unicode


https://ibb.co/Pj24srq

FalconGrey
11-20-2019, 10:10 PM
https://i.ibb.co/zx3bWmq/Virtual-Machine.jpg

FalconGrey
11-21-2019, 12:36 AM
Update: I have submitted a support request for this. Reference number for the support request is 10165041.

And sorry for the frustrated rant in the request... After uninstalling all the virtual machine components to test only to find the game STILL came up with 'Sorry, can't run in a virtual machine'.... I really got frustrated. Yeah, no virtual machine parts are installed and it STILL isn't running now! Hyper-V, Virtual Machine, all of it was removed. All the drives.... still not running!

UbiCovah
11-25-2019, 04:05 AM
Hey, FalconGrey!

Apologies for the delay. If you are still experiencing this issue, please reopen/update case 10165041 so that a specialist can help diagnose the issue.

Thanks :)

Fazeball
11-27-2019, 09:05 AM
Update: I have submitted a support request for this. Reference number for the support request is 10165041.

And sorry for the frustrated rant in the request... After uninstalling all the virtual machine components to test only to find the game STILL came up with 'Sorry, can't run in a virtual machine'.... I really got frustrated. Yeah, no virtual machine parts are installed and it STILL isn't running now! Hyper-V, Virtual Machine, all of it was removed. All the drives.... still not running!

it doesn't matter what you have on your machine, what matters what's enabled in your bios. you have to disable virtualization support there (which, depending on your motherboard/bios has an acronym you'd have to look up to know if it's for it or not, especially on amd boards).

EDIT:
look for: AMD-V (also called SVM and initially codename Pacifica). if you see any of those settings in the MIT menu, disable it and try again.

Ubi-Woofer
07-30-2020, 12:46 PM
Fazeball - Thanks for sharing these troubleshooting ideas with FalconGrey - I appreciate that I'm replying to this thread a while later, but I just wanted you to know your assistance didn't go unnoticed!

FalconGrey - Did you happen to try any of those recommendations? Did you manage to get the issue resolved? I checked case 10165041 but see that it was never reopened, so wondering if you found a solution. :)