PDA

View Full Version : Newbie and interested in IL2...

Wedge2566
01-24-2005, 07:36 AM
Hello I am new to flight sims and I would like to get started with IL2 where should I begin?

IL2 Sturmovik (initial release),
IL2 FB Gold Ed, or
Pacific Fighters?

Also, I read where PF and FB will be compatible with one another, but will IL2 sturmovik (initial release) be compatible with FB and PF?

Thank you for any help and/or advise.

Wedge2566
01-24-2005, 07:36 AM
Hello I am new to flight sims and I would like to get started with IL2 where should I begin?

IL2 FB Gold Ed, or
Pacific Fighters?

Also, I read where PF and FB will be compatible with one another, but will IL2 sturmovik (initial release) be compatible with FB and PF?

Thank you for any help and/or advise.

VF-17_Yankee
01-24-2005, 07:45 AM
S`

If you would like to fly online, almost everyone has FB+AEP+PF, so buy the Gold Pack and Pacific Fighters, install Gold Pack, and then PF, and then download patches 3.03m and 3.04m and then your good to go..

Taylortony
01-24-2005, 09:58 AM
The initial release of FB was going to have an upgrade cd brought out, but there was so much it was released as a new stand alone version, hence Forgotten battles......... The original version IL2 is not compatible with the later versions and bar the odd patch that came out for it, it is very much a stand alone version but is very cheap these days.

Forgotten battles IS IL2 with all the extras they brought out added....
After that they released a Add on CD with new planes etc as an addition to Forgotten Battles called the Aces Expansion Pack or AEP as we call it.

If you get IL2FB Gold pack that comes with both the cds for IL2 Forgotten Battles and the AEP discs bundled together...... Get that one, after that you can at your leisure add Pacific fighters to give you the whole expansion which along with a couple of online patches will allow all the current maps and planes to be used.