PDA

View Full Version : My 2 cents on Time Skip and Real Life...

sd_davis
11-02-2004, 08:30 AM
I have read all the board has to offer on the subject, and as a new user wanted to chime in on my opinion.

First, love the game. Kudos to programmers and devlopment. Without question one of the BEST tru flying sims I have seen. (I have been doing sims since MSFS 1, via keyboard and my 8086). Does that date me or what?! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Second, I have more to say, but I DO want to chime in on the only real complaint I have about PF. The time of missions and the LACK of time compression.

I am a programmer, so I understand constraints, limitations, and trade offs. Additionally as an avid gamer for many years I enjoy many types of games, with differing levels of reality.

However, in my experience, with flight sims, and more over combat flight sims, if you do more flying than you do combat, then something is wrong. Now, don't turn me off yet...

All of us here know the different types fo gamers. The hardcore, the realistic freaks, the arcader, etc... I can be all of them depending on the game, and my time available. Hence my problem with time compression here in PF.

I have patiently played it now for 5 different nights. With 1-2 hours per session. Last night was the first time I had any real combat. Most of that time was spent flying over water. Let me say that again. Flying over water. The first two nights I was insensed! I could not believe that even with the time compression, I was spending 45 mins flying over water to just enjoy 5 minutes of true combat.

If you reply that I can just build a mission you are way off, and not understanding the consumer producer relationship of business.

I WANT to play a campaign. I LIKE the campaign style. However, I do NOT want to fly over water for 45 minutes, even using time compreesion and time skip! There HAS to be a compromise.