PDA

View Full Version : Transition to Online Play

Vaporizeme
05-02-2005, 11:22 AM
Some background:

1. I've been playing simulations since the late 1970s. My first 'flight simulator' was an X-Wing program on my TRS 80.

2. I've played a variety of flight sim games on-and-off over the years. Red Baron still ranks as one of my favorite of all time.

3. I suck online.

I really relish the idea of playing against live opponents online but I get my azz handed to me every time.

I installed the game on Friday, practiced a few times, then headed to the arena. Nothing like flying for 20 minutes to get somewhere only to have your screen go black and say "XXX has been killed."

Lots of fun.

Heck, even getting off the runway was a saga most of the time.

Now I've resigned myself to the fact that I'm only going to get frustrated and quit playing if I try to go online. But really the main reason I bought the game was to do just that.

So the question is - on average - how long will it take of playing single-player on max difficulty before I'm even close enough to being able to enjoy the game online? What are some tips for improving to the point I don't just provide fodder for you experts?

Thanks,

Sitting Duck

Biloxi72
05-02-2005, 11:30 AM
S!
From what I have learned off line play does little for you other then getting familliar with your ride. My best advice is drop the offline play and just go on line. Yeah you will get shot down a lot, but you will find your self getting better and better each time. In online game play staying with your planes best strengths and staying with them usually means you will come home more often. Getting better at seeing what is a safe time to engage that best suits your plane for the best chance of a kill and still staying alivce afterwards, only happens on line.