PDA

View Full Version : Areoplane speed

ste_cowell
12-31-2004, 06:20 AM
Hi I am new to iL2, can happily takeoff, land and have shot down a couple of bombers. I have one real problem. No matter how hard I try, I can't keep up with everyone, even wt WEP on! I tried auto pitch on the props but everything just leaves me standing. for example take off on mission one, fighter. Fouor planes, I am the last. Full throttle, autoprop, flaps to take off, WEP at take off and gear up as soon as I get off the ground. The other three planes leave me for dead AND they have climbed higher than me. /Any assistance greatly appreciated.
Steve

ste_cowell
12-31-2004, 06:20 AM
Hi I am new to iL2, can happily takeoff, land and have shot down a couple of bombers. I have one real problem. No matter how hard I try, I can't keep up with everyone, even wt WEP on! I tried auto pitch on the props but everything just leaves me standing. for example take off on mission one, fighter. Fouor planes, I am the last. Full throttle, autoprop, flaps to take off, WEP at take off and gear up as soon as I get off the ground. The other three planes leave me for dead AND they have climbed higher than me. /Any assistance greatly appreciated.
Steve

monarch1956
12-31-2004, 08:01 AM
hi m8 same happens to me . i think its an AI thing , pacific fighters does seem a bit better to me

ste_cowell
01-01-2005, 06:34 AM
Cheers for replying, maybe I should go pacific or simply continue cutting corners!

FoolTrottel
01-01-2005, 07:32 AM
Do not worry about them (AI) gaining height initially. Do not try to climb with them, in stead keep your airspeed up. Once you are nearer to them (as in 'map-location', not in height), then slowly start climbing to their level.

Tully__
01-01-2005, 06:49 PM