PDA

View Full Version : I done lost my dolphins...



cgkstealth
07-22-2011, 03:58 PM
Well I was playing around in ME and managed to find DLF.mis, which I understood as the dolphins file. I figured it would be neat to put some in Midway (instead of out in the middle of nowhere which is where they were) so I started moving the Pearl based ones to Midway. I moved the way points around a bit too. Got all done, saved the file and loaded up SH4 to see my dolphins.

Only one problem, I have no dolphins. Matter of fact, when I load up the DLF.mis file in the ME there is nothing there. No more dolphins for me.

So I was wondering if anyone could tell stupid ole' me what I perhaps did wrong and also maybe tell me if there is anyway I could get my dolphins back. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

MWolfe1963
07-22-2011, 05:09 PM
Hard to know, several steps.

Do you use any mods or work within a mod? If so, you have to deactivate it and reactivate it so it will take effect. With stock, you should just be able to restart the game.

Which file did you make changes, normal or round layers?

You're not missing much. Here are some Dolphins I placed in RSRD outside Kiska. You can hear them on sonar. You can find them in TMO or RSRD if you know where to look, most are just outside of docking ports.
http://i651.photobucket.com/albums/uu235/Armistead1424/SH4Img2010-10-17_095243_824.jpg

I assume the changes were in existing campaign files?

cgkstealth
07-22-2011, 09:51 PM
Hmm, mods, well shucks. Didn't know about the mods part. I guess next time I will abide by that rule. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I made changes (ok, well tried to make them) in round layers.

And as far as I know the changes were in existing campaign files. I'm pretty new to this "moding" stuff though so who knows what I was messing with. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

P.S. You bring up a good point MWolfe, what's the difference between round and normal layers? I don't wanna be a super big bother, but now I'm curious.

MWolfe1963
07-22-2011, 11:11 PM
When you make changes in campaign to ships and planes you do so with round layers. Shore guns, etc, you save to land layers.

What mods are you using, are you working within any to change traffic such as TMO or RSRD? If you're working within RSRD better to use the SH4 batch editor although I found you can use the ME as long as you don't mess with lurkers existing traffic and do a lil editing with notepad.

Sometimes when people add stuff, they forget to set correct spawn dates, etc.

You can also add sharks, maybe whales and lot's of other ships.

They're are a few good tutorials on the ME

cgkstealth
07-23-2011, 11:30 PM
Ok, well at least I had the round layers part right. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Yes, I'm working with TMO and RSRD. I'm not really looking to add traffic (ok, well I sorta am) but I'm just wanting to edit traffic and ship properties, i.e. actually make the tankers carry fuel, not cargo like some of them do according to the ME.
I've also noticed when looking at the convoy files some of the convoys will spawn but won't move along their route. From what inexperienced me can tell they have their max speed set to 0.0 knots. It would be nice if I could give them some movement.

It's starting to sound like I'm gonna have to find me some of those tutorials. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

WernherVonTrapp
07-24-2011, 05:33 AM
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa266/annelies1951/flipper.gif

MWolfe1963
07-24-2011, 01:22 PM
Originally posted by cgkstealth:
Ok, well at least I had the round layers part right. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Yes, I'm working with TMO and RSRD. I'm not really looking to add traffic (ok, well I sorta am) but I'm just wanting to edit traffic and ship properties, i.e. actually make the tankers carry fuel, not cargo like some of them do according to the ME.
I've also noticed when looking at the convoy files some of the convoys will spawn but won't move along their route. From what inexperienced me can tell they have their max speed set to 0.0 knots. It would be nice if I could give them some movement.

It's starting to sound like I'm gonna have to find me some of those tutorials. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I know of no convoys in RSRD that have a O speed, unless it's a docked ship and I've probably looked at them all...Name just one http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
The only time lurker brings convoys to a stop is changing speed at a set waypoint, but that doesn't reflect overall convoy speed you're probably looking at in group properties. Convoys travel many waypoints, you can change speed at each one if you want. Sometimes lurker will bring a convoy to a halt to mimic troop landings, etc, but after time it takes back off.

The changes you want to make are better done with notepad or batch if you know how, but with notepad.

Go to your mods folder inside the SH4 dir and open it,
Find RSRD mod, open.
Data.
Campaigns
Campaign

Here you will see the list of all files. Let's open the 42_Jap Con file. Right click on it and open the file with notepad. If you left click, it will open the ME, not what we want, so right click, notepad


You should see this first, These lines mostly set group parameters, not really working with ships themselves,, so best to ignore these changes


[Mission]
MissionType=0
MissionDataType=0
MultiMissionType=0
Year=1940
Month=1
Day=1
Hour=0
Minute=0
Fog=0
FogRand=0
Clouds=0
CloudsRand=0
Precip=0
PrecipRand=0
WindHeading=0
WindSpeed=5.000000
WindRand=0
WeatherRndInterval=5
SeaType=0

The first convoy is Rndgroup one. With the batch editor it's easier to adjust, but you can make some changes to these lines if you know what your doing.

[RndGroup 1]
GroupName=C 1942/1/14 6+2
Category=0
CommandEntry=5
Long=15707790.000000
Lat=4068460.000000
Height=0.000000
DelayMin=1
DelayMinInterv=1
SpawnProbability=100
RandStartRadius=0.000000
ReportPosMin=6555
ReportPosProbability=8
Heading=318.595551
Speed=10.000000
ColumnsNo=2
Spacing=850
DeleteOnLastWaypoint=true
CurrentInstanceID=0
GameEntryDate=19420114
GameEntryTime=0800
GameExitDate=19451231
GameExitTime=0
MaxInst=1
MaxUnitsCreated=100
DockedShip=false
NextWP=0

The next list are the units in the convoy 1, it can contain several and you see it list each one as units, Here is where you can change cargo, crew ratings, etc of each ship.Notice the lines for

CargoExt
CargoInt.

[RndGroup 1.RndUnit 1]
Class=KMCSHeito
Type=102
Origin=Japan
Side=0
CargoExt=3
CargoInt=1
CfgDate=19420101
No=1
Escort=false
SpawnProbability=100
CrewRating=2

I'll have to check but I'm fairly sure

Internal Cargo:
Freight=1
Ammo=2
Fuel=3

External:
oil=1
Freight contaniners=2
Freight crates=3
ammo containers=4
Ammo crates=5
Aircraft=6
Tanks=7
Trucks=8
Trap container=9
"maybe more for american side, but we don't need those"

You change the cargo to match numbers what you want, obvious, oil, fuel and ammo make big explosions and ships sink with one torp.

If you want to change crew ratings, you can change that value. RSRD does overwrite many of TMO' harder crew ratings, most in RSRD are competent, some vet, so increasing the value can make killer out of escorts. The numbers range 1-5, 4 is vet, 5 is elite.

Again, don't forget to save, then back out and reinstall RSRD mod so changes take effect. It can take some time to edit each ship. The batch editor is easier, but much more complex and I would have a hard time explaining unless you learn the basics first, still much quicker this way than using the ME, plus the changes won't hold in RSRD using the ME.

cgkstealth
07-24-2011, 06:22 PM
Well, I'm not sure that the file actually came from within RSRD (it was under the path Silent Hunter 4/Data/Campaigns/Campaign/42b_Jap_Convoys.mis) but I did take a few pics to hopefully describe what I did or didn't find.

I was messing around with the time accel and play/pause/stop buttons and figured out I could see the little green circles move (exciting stuff, I know http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif ) . I've assumed these to be the convoys making their merry way across the ocean.

Anyways, I came across a few that wouldn't move, they would spawn, but not move. Here is one example of many

http://i43.servimg.com/u/f43/15/03/87/97/sh4-me13.png
(Sorry about size on this one. I had to scale it down to fit properly.)

No matter how long I waited, or how much I played with time compression and such, it wouldn't move like the others. I clicked on group properties and came across this

http://i43.servimg.com/u/f43/15/03/87/97/sh4-me12.png



Now, I understand I could be totally off here, but I'd think that under speed there should be some kind of number other than zero.
My one (and so far only) explanation is that I opened up a file that wasn't part of RSRD or TMO. Perhaps I'm just looking at a stock bug or something? Heck, I don't even really know what exactly I'm looking at, but I've got enough sense to know that if you want something to move it's got to have "speed."


Perhaps I will go watch some tutorials before bothering you with more questions. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

MWolfe1963
07-24-2011, 08:53 PM
What ver of RSRD are you running? However, those screenies doesn't look like you'e working within the RSRD campaign files, possibly stock or TMO.

RSRD convoys spawn once, this one is set to spawn numerous times. Also RSRD convoys are listed by number of merchants and escorts, like 1942/4/24 6+2. He list the year, month and day of spawn then the group, as in 6 merchants with 2 escorts.

The green circle for me represents random spawn plane groups, they should move fast

cgkstealth
07-24-2011, 09:14 PM
Yep, after looking at other files a bit I'd kinda figured that the one I was originally looking at was probably a stock file. I loaded up a convoy file from RSRD and immediately noticed two things. 1. Being an increased number of convoys and 2. being (as you mentioned) the spawn limit was different. After some head-scratching and reading of your post I finally caught onto the 6+2 thing also.

So, just to clarify what you hinted at earlier, if I were to edit files I would first need to de-activate the mod, then edit the file(s) and re-activate the mod. If I've got that correct I'm going to load up a few tutorials and have at it. It looks and sounds like a guy could really have some fun with this stuff. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

MWolfe1963
07-24-2011, 10:08 PM
You must activate the mod first, make changes, then deactivate it and activate it again so changes will take place. You need the mod installed so it shows in the ME, but have to reactivate it so your changes will overwrite.

Lurker created RSRD using SH4batch editor, if you want to make changes you're better using that.

I found you could add ships and your own traffic within the ME with RSRD, just don't mess with his traffic. Create your groups the same way, random, but using the same format he did.

cgkstealth
07-24-2011, 11:50 PM
Ok, activate, modify, de-activate, activate. I think I got it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Well I found a ME tutorial courtesy of Whisperer here on the forum and had to do a bit of reading.
I ended up making a rather non-realistic mission in which I got to sink the Shinano (never sank it in game yet so I just had to once). Pretty set up I admit, but having 6 DD's on elite escorting one ship was rather fun. Of course I had to also set it up with a Narwhal class and sub-nuclear DG shells for some added fun once the Shinano had slipped under. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Anyways, I think I'm getting the hang of this modding thing. Seems like I've got a lot more to learn, but it doesn't seem that bad yet.

By the way, where could one come across a copy of the SH4batch editor you mentioned? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blush.gif I tried looking at SubSim but couldn't find it. Maybe I wasn't looking hard enough, but I'd appreciate it if someone could steer me in the general direction. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

denis4510
07-25-2011, 01:41 AM
Beyond me! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Wolferz
08-01-2011, 04:28 PM
Since the Japanese are still of the opinion that the Dolphins were the ones that dropped the A-bomb on them, they herd them all up and kill them.
"EFFA YOU DOLPHEEN!"