PDA

View Full Version : TrackIR3 PRO + Vector promotional deals?



StylezXP
01-03-2005, 06:43 PM
I know earlier I saw a trackir + vector expansion deal either posted here or otherwise. Does anybody have any information on if this deal is still around? Xmas left me with a little cash so I can indulge http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

StylezXP
01-03-2005, 06:43 PM
I know earlier I saw a trackir + vector expansion deal either posted here or otherwise. Does anybody have any information on if this deal is still around? Xmas left me with a little cash so I can indulge http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PriK
01-03-2005, 06:54 PM
Try here...

http://www.edimensional.com/index.php?cPath=24&osCsid=e3b6227405966f9de7fbc6410f03affb

Hunter82
01-04-2005, 05:53 AM
you mean like this?

https://magnum-pc.securewebsiteserver.net/product_info.php?products_id=665&osCsid=e4dc0d5f4b9954149aa4fe307a3c9aa8

StylezXP
01-04-2005, 07:31 AM
You're the man Hunter!

JG51Beolke
01-04-2005, 01:57 PM
Does, or will PF support the Vector Expansion? Just curious before I go and buy it.

Thanks

StylezXP
01-04-2005, 03:26 PM
Pacific fighters will never support 6 degrees of freedom, but it does support the vector software. What this means is that although you can only move on the x/y axis you don't have to hold your head perfectly still as with the TIR 1 since all the data taken from the device is in 3 dimensions instead of the original 2.

JG51Beolke
01-04-2005, 03:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by StylezXP:
Pacific fighters will never support 6 degrees of freedom, but it does support the vector software. What this means is that although you can only move on the x/y axis you don't have to hold your head perfectly still as with the TIR 1 since all the data taken from the device is in 3 dimensions instead of the original 2. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ahh, Thanks for the info................

Hunter82
01-04-2005, 03:41 PM
Honestly even though the 6do support is not there.....movement and positioning is 10 x's better vs older units and even track ir 3 pro standard. Now if I could just get COD to work with native support I'd be a happy guy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

blairgowrie
01-07-2005, 07:38 AM
What exactly is the Vector Expansion module they talk about? Is it software? I have Tir3pro now but Hunter suggests VE would make it 10 times better. Or do I misunderstand his comments?

Ketalar
01-07-2005, 07:52 AM
blairgowrie:
Check this (http://www.naturalpoint.com/trackir/products/vector.html) link to the official webpage, there's photos and movies that show it in action.

Basically it's a device with three reflectors that you put on a baseball cap. This allows the TrackIR 3 Pro to register movement in six degrees (with registered software, so you can't make your own...) instead of two (hence 6DOF (Degrees Of Freedom) instead of 2DOF). Now we can look left/right and up/down, with the Vector Expansion you can look left/right, up/down, lean left/right, move forwards/backwards, move up/down, and rotate left/right.

This doesn't work in IL-2 or FB (which is too bad, otherwise we could look over the bar in the Fw-190!), but it works in FS2004 and CFS3 and it's going to be implemented in BoB. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Apparently it also makes tracking more stable in IL-2, so you'd benefit some from using it (although you can't look left/right by leaning left/right any more, you have to turn your head).


Ps
You have to watch the video called Full Vector Expansion Demo Video! I just watched it, and boy, did it make me reach for my wallet! I think you need Win2k or WinXP though to run the latest software, so I guess I'll have to wait until I upgrade my computer next time (still running WinMe)... Good thing my TrackIR 1 works fine. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

blairgowrie
01-07-2005, 09:46 AM
Thanks for the link and all the info Ketalar. Most useful.

I have CFS3 and FS 2004 so it might be a good option to add.

I will have a look at the movie once I d/l it with my "steam" dial up.

Il2pongo
01-07-2005, 09:52 AM
The vector driver alone without the vector expansion makes Il2 work better. With the vector device it really makes track ir in Pacific Fighters work flawlessly. No profile changes at all required for me.
Aces High 2 supports the 6 DOF really well. But looking down at your insterments there will not exaclty help your imersion like it does in PF

blairgowrie
01-07-2005, 10:01 AM
Didn't I read somewhere that Ver. 4 drivers provide an extra 6 degrees viewing area towards the tail to match the mouse view?

RoughRaider1
01-07-2005, 12:57 PM
I ordered one and it's on some truck somewhere crossing the US.
I have the first generation TrackIR and I use it all the time but it does get frustrating when you zoom in and try to hold your head still to get a kill.
I'm really looking forward to see how well this newest TrackIR works with the vector expansion. Hoping to have much more stability to where I can zoom all the way in on my gunsights without risking total disorientation.
I'm not so sure I'll use it in FPS though like COD. Maybe when Operation Flashpoint 2 comes out if it has the ability to have seperate head movement from your aim and run direction like the original had, then it might work out pretty good.

StylezXP
01-09-2005, 10:36 AM
My TrackIR is first gen too and I've gotten used to it. It's not much of a bother to hold my head still, but from what I've heard the TrackIR 3 is a wholly better experience.

Bikewer
01-09-2005, 10:51 AM
Mine is enroute as well, and I'm eager to try it out. I've been reading all the back posts about setting up various tracking improvements and such.

CD_kp84yb
01-09-2005, 12:34 PM
I have that vector stuff for 3 weeks now, i tried it the moment i had it , couldnt get it work properly, tried it again this week, it worked fine could bring my head towards the screen and back without any movements in the game.
So i went online that evening, and it was crapola in big capitals, could look back over leftshoulder, when i looked down it only looked down a litle then it did looked down al the way and stayed in that position for 6 seonds.
So im back to the old verion 3 software. and this pos will stay in the closet till i have the time to give it a try again.
For a cap, a clip and 2 sheets of paper(with an activation key) and some software you must download, its a waste of money.For me and Fb it didnt worked fine all the time.
Ow i tried several setups and profiles been working it over an hour.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

blairgowrie
01-09-2005, 04:35 PM
Sorry to hear that CD_kp84yb.

Sometimes it better to wait until they get it properly sorted until you/we try it out.

I don't mind spending the money, but I do expect positive results.

Hunter82
01-10-2005, 07:17 AM
Don't use the track hat combined with the vector... I found it works much better that for me. That happened to me also but using a regular ball cap fixed it.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CD_kp84yb:
I have that vector stuff for 3 weeks now, i tried it the moment i had it , couldnt get it work properly, tried it again this week, it worked fine could bring my head towards the screen and back without any movements in the game.
So i went online that evening, and it was crapola in big capitals, could look back over leftshoulder, when i looked down it only looked down a litle then it did looked down al the way and stayed in that position for 6 seonds.
So im back to the old verion 3 software. and this pos will stay in the closet till i have the time to give it a try again.
For a cap, a clip and 2 sheets of paper(with an activation key) and some software you must download, its a waste of money.For me and Fb it didnt worked fine all the time.
Ow i tried several setups and profiles been working it over an hour.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

CD_kp84yb
01-10-2005, 09:58 AM
howdy guys

Ok about the cap, i noticed there is a reflector on it, so combined with the clip it gives 4 reflectors. i put some tape on it to cover it, it had no effect.
The problem i have with the Tr4 software is that when i setit up it works once good, then when i try it again the stuff happens that i described earlier.
I run the game in the native resolution of my TFT monitor its 1280X1024X32, hmmm didnt test it in lower resolution, could it be the problem with Fb not supporting this resolution, cos i can only set this resolution by using notepad.
Hmmm why is the version 3 software running perfect in the same res.
I must honestly say that i was pissed when i posted the other message, and i havent use the dot mode in the version4 software only the vector stuff.

Well maybe im the only 1 who have this crapola we will see, i will try it again sometimes.
What i did discovered in my try, is that the position of the camera is very important, the thing has to be placed very precise on the monitor, it wont tolerate any freedoms in height or angle.

cheers
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

StylezXP
01-11-2005, 10:27 AM
Hmm. I hope it all works out for me. I do intend to use it in FS2004, Sturmovik, and Lo-mac. In any case I've been super happy with my TIR 1 and I'm pleased that I am passing it along to a budding flight simmer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

RoughRaider1
01-11-2005, 12:59 PM
At least you got to try yours. I've been tracking my shipment with UPS eager to get mine. Well today I got the package. But to my surprize, the vector piece wasn't in the package. Said on my invoice it was shipped and not backordered, but it wasn't in there. I Called them right then, but only got an answering machine. Tried again a bit later, and they said they would ship it to me next day air. I hope I can get it to work ok though when it gets here. After reading your post I'm a bit worried.

Bikewer
01-11-2005, 09:18 PM
I just got my TIR3 Pro today. Setup was quick and easy, and so far the standard "combat flight" profile seems just fine, maybe just a tad too fast as you track back to the rear of the aircraft.

What a difference! This is actually like flying.
I flew around for a couple of hours doing quick missions with a variety of aircraft, and set up some dogfights. No problems sighting, taking off, or landing. I'm using one of the standard square dots on my microphone boom, and I had to duct-tape the legs of the little tripod for stability.
So far, no problems noted. I have not noticed any effect on FPS.

marcocomparato
01-11-2005, 11:39 PM
www.trackir.com/fighters (http://www.trackir.com/fighters)

30$ discount for Pacific Fighter consumers.