PDA

View Full Version : OT: Making Photos



Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 08:06 AM
Hi all,
need a photographer advice since im not a pro ^^

I have an old Canon AE-1 ( which, in my opionin does an amazing job! ), and i need a specific lens to take planes pictures during airshows..i have a 200mm one but its not enought..any suggestion?

thanks!

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 08:06 AM
Hi all,
need a photographer advice since im not a pro ^^

I have an old Canon AE-1 ( which, in my opionin does an amazing job! ), and i need a specific lens to take planes pictures during airshows..i have a 200mm one but its not enought..any suggestion?

thanks!

tigertalon
09-03-2006, 08:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Fighterduck:
Hi all,
need a photographer advice since im not a pro ^^

I have an old Canon AE-1 ( which, in my opionin does an amazing job! ), and i need a specific lens to take planes pictures during airshows..i have a 200mm one but its not enought..any suggestion?

thanks! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That camera is a legend! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif They stole one from my GF some years ago... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

I'm using Prakticas, and for aircraft photography I use ap.2.8 135mm, ap.4 200mm and ap.5,6 500mm lens plus I combine them with a 2x converter.

Problem is, that you do actually need a lens with high aperture value because times usualy have to be very short.

If you don't want to 'shake' the picture from hand, a thumb rule is that exposure time has to be roughly equal or less than focus length of lens, ie if you are using 200mm lens try with times less than 1/200 sec or risk a 'shaky' picture. If you wanna use times that short, you need high aperture value, which in turn again means much more expensive lens and way shorter 'sharp' interval, which sometimes proves VERY hard to catch a plane in. I always use 400 or 800 ASA (27 or 30 DIN) films for aerial photography.

Will post some of my pictures later.

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 08:58 AM
legends? eheh didnt know ^^
My father bought it years and years ago and now i use it. They told me it's a really good camera..but dont know so much about it ^^
They told me to use Auto mode ( the little green A you find on lens ) and a fast "shooting" time for planes , like 500 or 250 to freeze them in flight.
But with my 200mm i cant zoom enought for my taste...so i was looking for a new lens..tele one i think...i saw some for 199Euro or little more ( anything exagerated...dont have tons of money to spend ^^ ).

Thanks for the reply man! really appreciate the help..but...if i have to be honest there are way too much technical data for me ^^ i only know about shoting time and something about exposure open ( the little number you have on the lens..where i use the green A )..but noghint more^^ . that's because i need little help for a new lens.

dbillo
09-03-2006, 09:09 AM
You can get an idea of the magnification the lens will give you by dividing the focal length by 50 (normal lens). For example, your 200mm lens is giving you an image that is 200/50=4X magnified compared to normal 50mm lens. If you want things twice the size you're getting now, then you need a 400mm focal length.

But what tigertalon is saying is important! The longer the focal length, the harder it is to keep steady without a tripod, and the "slower" the lens will be in terms of exposure. So try to get the largest aperture (lowest f number) you can afford for the focal length you want.

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 09:20 AM
aha...so if i understand right i need a 400mm lens with the lowest "F" number right?

uhm: on ebay i found those...any good model i can look for?
http://cgi.ebay.com/420-800mm-Lens-for-Canon-FD-Mount-A...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/420-800mm-Lens-for-Canon-FD-Mount-AE-1-A-1-T-90-F1-NEW_W0QQitemZ160024186476QQihZ006QQcategoryZ48552Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Lens-for-Canon-FD-Mt-AE-...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Lens-for-Canon-FD-Mt-AE-1-A-1-T-70-T-90-NEW_W0QQitemZ160025160335QQihZ006QQcategoryZ48552Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Mirror-Lens-for-Canon-AE...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Mirror-Lens-for-Canon-AE1-AE-1-A-1-AT-1-AV-1_W0QQitemZ280023485535QQihZ018QQcategoryZ48552QQr dZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-FD-Mount-420-1600mm-Lens-for-...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-FD-Mount-420-1600mm-Lens-for-AE-1-AV-1-T-90-NEW_W0QQitemZ160024001643QQihZ006QQcategoryZ48552Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

tigertalon
09-03-2006, 09:34 AM
Photography on Auto is like driving a car with automatic gearbox. Once you try manual you won't go back, because it offers you so much more freedom, u just have to learn it.

Formula is simple: a certain ammount of light has to come to film in order to make a good photo. It's like filling a glass with watter: you can open the tap widely (ie you open the apperture) and it will fill very quickly, or you can do it drop by drop (close the apperture) and it will take long time. Risk some money, buy 5 films and experiment with them. U will get the basics in no time http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.

Ok, here as promised, two shots on the ground:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0001_1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0002_1.jpg

Here are two of my typical 500mm shots:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0003_1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0006_1.jpg

And here two typical 135mm, first one with closed aperture, second one with open:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0008_1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/aegeeaddict/scan0007_1.jpg

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 09:43 AM
sweet zoom..thats the amount im looking for! so i think a 500mm will do the job ^^

tigertalon
09-03-2006, 09:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Fighterduck:
sweet zoom..thats the amount im looking for! so i think a 500mm will do the job ^^ </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Keep in mind however, that you have two options. A classic lens with lenses and the mirror one. Each of them has it's own advantages and disadvantages. I have a classic lens with lenses, and believe me, it's one heavy mofo. It is impossible to shoot for long periods of time without a mount on which you assemble lenses and camera together, because it's so heavy.

On the other side the 'mirror' version is much shorter and lighter, which makes it easier to handle, but also to shake, plus it does not usually have that large apperture... Mirror versions of 500mm usually have 8, while ones with lenses usually have about 5,6 or even 4 (which is better of course).

orkan_3d
09-03-2006, 11:33 AM
Don`t go over 400 mm, the farther you go images tend to be blurier and blurier due to the atmosphere, and you can hardly keep airplane in viewfinder, specialy with lighter lenses. And it is vital to find the smallest aperture lens you can pay.

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 12:59 PM
uhm...ok...so a 400 or max 500mm with uhm...dunno, 5-6F?

found a 500mm but pretty all have 8F...too much?

tigertalon
09-03-2006, 01:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Fighterduck:
uhm...ok...so a 400 or max 500mm with uhm...dunno, 5-6F?

found a 500mm but pretty all have 8F...too much? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's very simple: if you will be shooting from your hand (and for all action shots of planes in the air, you will be), then you will need times as short as 1/500. At F8 this means you will need to use at least ASA400 film already on a sunny day...

Like orkan also emphasised, at such focal lengths every ring of F is very important, but the choice of "how much for how much money" is still yours. If you can find one not much more expensive with 5,6F, I'd go for it, but you will still be able to take very good shots with F8.

And never forget what Ivan Kozhedub have said about WW2 fighters. It applies to photography very well too:"No matter how good a violin is, much depends on the violinist."

Taylortony
09-03-2006, 02:13 PM
I have a Canon A1 kicking around somewhere not used and a Tamron 500MM Mirror Lens, indeed I am now using this lens with an adaptor on my Canon 350 Digital, but you will struggle without a tripod to lose the shake........... you can pick up lenses for the likes of the AE1 really cheap these days on Ebay as everyone offloads their none digital cameras........ look for FD mounts which is what your camera will have I believe, well the A1 has and thats the next one up..

the lens posted above

http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Mirror-Lens-for-Canon-AE...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/500mm-Tele-Mirror-Lens-for-Canon-AE1-AE-1-A-1-AT-1-AV-1_W0QQitemZ280023485535QQihZ018QQcategoryZ48552QQr dZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

Is to be honest of a lower quality, look for the Tamron one with the interchangable mount if you are going down that route, but you will need an adaptor.. see the lens on ebay here

http://cgi.ebay.com/Tamron-SP-500mm-F-8-MirrorLENS-W-Ma...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/Tamron-SP-500mm-F-8-MirrorLENS-W-Macro-1-1-3-adaptall-2_W0QQitemZ190025695379QQihZ009QQcategoryZ4688QQss PageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

incidently this lens is STILL MADE

this is the mount for it (they are interchangable, hence i can use it on my digital camera too

http://cgi.ebay.com/Tamron-ADAPTALL-2-CUSTOM-MOUNT-FOR-...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/Tamron-ADAPTALL-2-CUSTOM-MOUNT-FOR-CANON-FD_W0QQitemZ150027251645QQihZ005QQcategoryZ30059QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

test on it
http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/tutorials/mirror.html

remember the lens this is being tested against is a 3500 Canon L lense

zoom wise something like this would see you in good stead

http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-100-300-FD-Zoom-Telephoto-Cam...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-100-300-FD-Zoom-Telephoto-Camera-Lens-NR_W0QQitemZ330023343564QQihZ014QQcategoryZ4687QQr dZ1QQcmdZViewItem)


or even simply look for a x2 converter for you existing lens


you could ask in the forum I frequent as people in there can point you in the right direction..see

http://www.eos-forums.com/index.php?board=5.0

Fighterduck
09-03-2006, 02:21 PM
really thanks for help guys! ^^