PDA

View Full Version : Open GL?



tljack.71
05-29-2006, 09:47 PM
Is is a matter of personal preference to choose between Open GL and Direct X? Does it depend on what GC you have? I'm clueless here.

I've got the AMD Athelon 64 with 1.5GB RAM and current using the ATI Radeon 9550 AGP card.

FritzGryphon
05-29-2006, 09:54 PM
IL-2 is a OpenGL game, and a directx wrapper is provided for video cards that, for whatever reason, don't support it.

Try both, but the OGL is almost always faster.

I've found Direct3d causes weird lighting and clipping glitches.

Troll2k
05-29-2006, 10:59 PM
Also if you want to be able to choose the"perfect" option in the landscape details window you will need to run open gl,32 bit and stencil buffer on.

Akira_sama
05-30-2006, 01:18 AM
i have a nvidia video card so i prefer to OPENGL mode.

tljack.71
05-30-2006, 10:26 AM
Thanks for not getting mad because I didn't search first. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif I did end up doing a search on the topic and the general concensus is that Open GL runs faster and looks better. Well not on my setup. I tried perfect mode and everything looked so real; waves, shadows, crisp and clear planes... but my frame rate slowed WAYYYY down. Not even playable that way. Even with rez down to minimum and sight distance on low. So gave up on perfect mode and tweaked everything enough to get an acceptable frame rate and had to get everything so low, that it didn't look any better than DX. And after tweaking stuff I was getting glitches too. Guess it's my sucky graphics card?

Edit* In fact when trying to set the display settings before loading up the game, I try to choose Open GL there, and it reverts back to Direct3D when I exit and go back to that. Maybe this GC doesn't even support Open GL? I'm shooting in the dark here... such a newby to all this. Anyway, I guess I'll just run whatever plays the best. Gotta have the smoothness in flight over everything else. Just would be nice to have my cake and eat it too. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

foxyboy1964
05-30-2006, 11:36 PM
The 9550 does support openGL. I just replaced my 9550 with a 6600GT. You wont get Perfect out of the 9550 but at Excellent settings it played smoothly enough. There should be a setting for that card in the il-2 Set Up...go to Video and there is a drop down menu. Your card will be listed there. I found I had to disable clouds in game but other than that I thought the card was ok.

WTE_Galway
05-30-2006, 11:55 PM
my old 9500 pro could do perfect settings but at an abysmal frame rate

i replaced it with an X850XT and the difference was amazing .. the FPS hits i get now are related to having too many objects in the mission not graphics quality

tljack.71
05-31-2006, 02:35 AM
There should be a setting for that card in the il-2 Set Up...go to Video and there is a drop down menu. Your card will be listed there.

Are you saying there is something I should change in there, or is that just to show that my card supports Open GL?

foxyboy1964
05-31-2006, 12:07 PM
Go to Start>UbiSoft>PF+AEP+FB>il-2 Set Up> Video...open the menu and scroll down...you will see a setting for ATI cards which includes the 9550...select that setting...you should get reasonable framerate at Excellent, although you might need to disable clouds. You probably already know this, but your card is the bottleneck in your system. You have more RAM than I have and a better CPU so a better card would be a good idea. Good Luck.

VW-IceFire
05-31-2006, 03:19 PM
ATI or nVidia card regardless...take OpenGL as your API of choice in this game. D3D is purely there for compatibility purposes.

But yeah...everyone is right...the 9550 is not going to be good enough to do Perfect mode. I do recommend making sure you upgrade your video drivers as ATI has tweaked the OpenGL performance and 9550 performance in the last year or so...so if your badly out of date on video drivers upgrading them may be good.

But seek advice on that first before you do it.

dglasal
05-31-2006, 05:48 PM
Since you have an ATI card, this might be of interest. During a recent interview with one of the managers from ATI, he commented that they were working hard for a major improvement in their OpenGL driver. How soon it will be available is open to speculation.

tljack.71
05-31-2006, 05:52 PM
Well I would just like to say that I'm very impressed by the friendly atmosphere in here. Nice to come new to a forum and get good answers to questions that I'm sure have been run in the ground already.

And yeah, I figured my card was the bottleneck. I just have the AGP slot so I guess that'll limit me to some extent but I do need to step up to a better card. I think I'd rather do that than banging my head with this one. Although it's not really bad. I mean the difference between the on-board graphics and when I put the 9550 in was pretty astonishing. HUGE jump in performance. And I can run all the top settings in DirectX at 800x600 32 and it plays real smooth and looks acceptable. I'll try the above-mentioned changes in OPEN GL and see what happens, but yeah, think I'm just gonna have to step up to a better card.

Suggestions? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif $100-$200 range? :

VW-IceFire
05-31-2006, 07:39 PM
Grab an older Radeon 9800Pro if you can ...or a GeForce 6600GT. Both of those are similar in performance and both are in that $100-$200 AGP niche that still exists. Might even find some 6800 or the X800 for that nowadays.

tljack.71
05-31-2006, 09:10 PM
You know I just remembered why I got the Radeon 9550. Well, besides getting it for $50 shipped, it was because my computer only has a 250w power supply and this was the only card I found that said that's all it required. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

VW-IceFire
05-31-2006, 09:16 PM
Originally posted by tljack.71:
You know I just remembered why I got the Radeon 9550. Well, besides getting it for $50 shipped, it was because my computer only has a 250w power supply and this was the only card I found that said that's all it required. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif
Yeah...that'll fubar you then. 250W is just not enough to be safely running anything better. Time to start budgeting for a system upgrade in a year or so http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

tljack.71
05-31-2006, 10:06 PM
Yeah...that'll fubar you then. 250W is just not enough to be safely running anything better. Time to start budgeting for a system upgrade in a year or so http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Or option b: Upgrade my PS then get a nicer card. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif ...Damn I think I've got a new addiction in the works. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

-HH-Quazi
05-31-2006, 11:43 PM
Yea, a definite PSU upgrade is needed before trying out a newer power hungry card. But luckily, a decent quality PSU with plenty of amps on the 12v rail will not set you back to much. But do make sure the 12v rails on any PSU you get has at least 24 amps. I have a 500 watt PSU with 19 amps on the 12v rails and it would not boot my rig with the video card plugged in. Having enough wattage is important, but having enough amperage on the 12v rails is equally important. You should be able to fin a decent 450 to 480 watt PSU at a decent price.

And I also want to let you know about a sale at www.monarchcomputer.com (http://www.monarchcomputer.com) for a VisionTek X800XT retail boxed in AGP for $185. Awesome card at an awesome price.

tljack.71
06-01-2006, 03:31 AM
I can't find that card anywhere on that site.

dglasal
06-01-2006, 05:35 PM
As another note, your performance is determined by the weakest component of your system. I have a 2.8Ghz Intel chip and when I reviewed for cards, I decided to go with an ATI X800 because basically, anything faster/capable would be countered by the processing speed and other limitations from my other components. Of course, I'm not really technical and could be off base, but ask the question from the real computer guys in here.

x6BL_Brando
06-02-2006, 07:07 AM
Hi tljack http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

At the risk of repeating the sensible comments of friends here - do think very seriously about the PSU upgrade. Even the earliest of the externally powered gfx cards - eg a 9700Pro - required a good quality power-supply. Cheap, generic psu's can be rubbish despite the often massaged ratings printed on them. The "450W" Q-Tec is a good example of that http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

You don't say whether you build your rigs or buy complete? Some shop-bought systems may prevent you from upgrading easily - case accessibility & stuff like that - and it may cause warranty issues etc.

If you can upgrade - or you like to upgrade based on original equipment, like using the same case and swapping stuff over time - then try to find the best PSU that you can afford, to allow for the extras you might want to add along the way. Personally I think the 250W is borderline for your system anyway, even before you move on to powered gfx cards.

I would suggest starting a thread in the Community Help forum http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/frm/f/49310655

No offence to the good folks here http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif but a more detailed look at the spec's of your machine may find a way to squeeze a few more fps out of what you have.

B.

tljack.71
06-02-2006, 10:22 AM
Thanks. It's an HP Pavillion a839n. It's very upgradable far as I can tell. And the warranty has already run it's course anyway. Yeah, I'm going to look into a better PSU for sure. Gonna crack her open today and see if I can get the current specs.