PDA

View Full Version : Ti4600 ?



XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 07:54 AM
I currently have a gf 3 ti 200, was thinking of upgrading to either 4800 or ti 4600, what is the difference, the 4600 i found for 180 bucks, and the 4800 for 160 ?

Is the 4800 slower?

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 07:54 AM
I currently have a gf 3 ti 200, was thinking of upgrading to either 4800 or ti 4600, what is the difference, the 4600 i found for 180 bucks, and the 4800 for 160 ?

Is the 4800 slower?

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 08:01 AM
Ti4800 is nothing but a Ti4200 with 8xAGP. Go for Ti4600.

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 08:11 AM
well i tested my humble old PalitDaytonta FX 5200 ultra angainst my freinds Ti4800 and graphics wise there was VERY VERY little difference


i think as long as you get a good VGA that does the job well and you get good graphics results then i wouldn't bother upgrading

its just all the media hype of I HAVE A BETTER VGA THEN YOU that makes people spend sometimes hundreds of dollars on something that there is very little difference between.



LOOK OUT TYPHOON'S COMIN' TO GET YA'

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 08:17 AM
The 4800 is still a nice card. Its faster then the 5200's out ther and even the 5600's!!!

Here is a VGA buyers guild review.

http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/20030714/index.html


LiutenantDan86 wrote:
-
- I currently have a gf 3 ti 200, was thinking of
- upgrading to either 4800 or ti 4600, what is the
- difference, the 4600 i found for 180 bucks, and the
- 4800 for 160 ?
-
- Is the 4800 slower?
-
-



I am now accepting donations to help get the PBY flyable.

<center><form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="business" value="gibbage@lycos.com">
<input type="hidden" name="item_name" value="Gibbages IL2; FB PBY Catalina Fund">
<input type="hidden" name="no_note" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="hidden" name="tax" value="0">
<input type="image" src="http://gibbageart.havagame.com/donations.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!">
</form></center>

Zayets
08-29-2003, 10:31 AM
Go for Ti4600 , is one of the best from nVidia. I have one , and that never let me down.

Zayets out

http://www.arr.go.ro/iar81c.JPG

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 10:34 AM
Yep get the ti4600 ,AGP x8 is a joke anyway

No1RAAF_Pourshot


http://members.optusnet.com.au/~andycarroll68/CAC-15.jpg

CAC CA-15 Kangaroo

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 10:47 AM
If you don't absolutely have to upgrade now save your money and get an Fx5900.(Gainward)
4x Antialiasing on excellent settings is sweet as!

F19_Choocky

http://www.f19vs.tk/

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 11:51 AM
i found out that the 9500 pro, outclasses the the ti 4000 series with anti aliasing and anisotrpic filtering, so im gonna go for it !

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 11:55 AM
I have a Ti 4600, its a good card with a lot of ram. But it CAN NOT do textures like the new ge-force FX range. It might be a better idea to get a lower cost FX card. But the TI range is good and can throw a fair through polygons.

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 12:27 PM
I love my chaintech Ti4600/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.km011a0004.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg <CENTER><Center><div style="width:200;color:F0FFFF;font-size:11pt;filter:glow[color=black,strength=3)">"Landing to avoid combat is akin to slicing off yer face to avoid a few punches, dummy."
<Center><div style="width:200;color:F0FFFF;font-size:9pt;filter:glow[color=black,strength=3)">SmokeJaguar: an online battle somewhere over the Kuban </div></center>

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 01:28 PM
Ti 4600 is a good card. I have one in my back up pc and it just keeps on truckin'



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/p47atm.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 01:33 PM
I got one and I'm happy with it. It's not a state-of-the-art card, but it gives you are very good performance for very few bucks.

cheers/slush

http://dk.groups.yahoo.com/group/aktivitetsdage/files/Eurotrolls.gif

You can't handle the truth!
Col. Jessep

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 04:10 PM
The 4800 has a agp 8X bus
the speed of the ram is 550 mhz
Attention there SE models wich could have a ram with a lower speed.

The 4600 has a agp 4X bus
The speed of the ram is 650 mhz

The speed of the agp bus has little effect on the ram.
More important is the speed of the ram on the card

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 04:57 PM
warbird2000 wrote:
- The 4800 has a agp 8X bus
- the speed of the ram is 550 mhz
- Attention there SE models wich could have a ram with
- a lower speed.
-
- The 4600 has a agp 4X bus
- The speed of the ram is 650 mhz
-
- The speed of the agp bus has little effect on the
- ram.
- More important is the speed of the ram on the card
-
-

I'm not sure about this. I bought a ti4200 a while ago and it has AGP 8X. I know that MSI now has AGP 8X on all their Ti4000 series. I don't know for other manufacturers but sound logical to me that they are doing the same thing (ie Asus). AFAIK, difference between 4x and 8x is hard to see even in benchmark stats.



__
Sharx (Online; WUAF_Sharx)
<A HREF="http://www.il2skins.com" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.il2skins.com/images/banners/il2skins-468x60.jpg</A>

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 05:02 PM
Sharx66 wrote:
- difference between 4x and 8x is hard to see even in
- benchmark stats.

Yup, this is because the AGP port even at 4X tranfer rate is not the limiting factor. Video card is still the limiting factor. They made AGP 8X just to "prepare" for the future /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif Natually, people are in a way misled that video card with 8X AGP is faster than same card with 4X AGP port /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 05:17 PM
Im have read that the 4800 has this name 4800 because
it is agp x 8. The 4200 is only agp 4 x.

I am sure that this card is not more powerful that the 4600 because the speed ram is only 550 mhz. The 4600 is 650 mhz.

The 650 mhz is the ddr speed. The effective speed is only 325 mhz.

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 05:26 PM
i apologize for my answer, it is true that there also
4200 card with agp x8.

this information bellow is from the nvidia site

GeForce4 Ti 4200
w/ AGP 8X

The 4800 are always Agp 8x card but most of the 4200 are
agp 4x.

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 06:18 PM
the 4600 was a great card (you don't need 8xagp or pay extra for it). But as you discovered the 9500pro-9700nonpro run higher res with aa and af enabled at MUCH better fps than an g4 series card-good luck.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/9infinite.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 06:26 PM
the ati are great cards and perhaps better than the nvidia but the drivers are not so good.

Much games are for nvidia graphics and there are still not
directx 9 games.

If you have the money buy the fx or ati 9600/9700/9800. But if you want not waste money, the 4XXX is a good choice.

Does everyone need anistitropic and aa ?

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 06:30 PM
warbird2000 wrote:
- the ati are great cards and perhaps better than the
- nvidia but the drivers are not so good.
-
- Much games are for nvidia graphics and there are
- still not
- directx 9 games.
-
- If you have the money buy the fx or ati
- 9600/9700/9800. But if you want not waste money, the
- 4XXX is a good choice.
-
- Does everyone need anistitropic and aa ?

I own a ti4200 128mb and i run AA 4x and ANI at 4x with avg 80 fps at 1024x768. All on excellent except lightning and clouds at medium.

Xp1700+
1 gig ddr 266
Asus a7v333
MSI ti4200 memory at 581mhz core at 280mhz
Soundblast live oem
WinXP pro



__
Sharx (Online; WUAF_Sharx)
<A HREF="http://www.il2skins.com" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.il2skins.com/images/banners/il2skins-468x60.jpg</A>

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 06:37 PM
I had a Gf3ti200 (paid $190) just like you (still do but it's put away)

I upgraded about 10 months ago to a GF4ti4400 (paid $185)

I was able to bump my resolution up a notch in IL2/FB.

Should you upgrade now to a GF4ti4600? I would say no. You are too late for the product cycle. Not unless you can get one for about $100. It has been a year and Nvidia still does not have a sub-$200 card that will blow a GF4 away.

You should skip the GF4 line altogether and upgrade to an FX. Currently the only FX worth buying is the 5600 but it is on par with a GF4. You should wait a couple months and get a FX5700 when it comes out. THAT will blow the GF4's and FX5600 away, and is supposed to be a mainsteam cost.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 06:39 PM
I have been corrected in the past about this , so i checked and actually the TI 4800 is a 8x AGP Ti 4600 with the same 650 ram speed.
the Ti4800SE is a Ti 4400 with 8x AGP with 550 ram speed.

So the 4800 ( no SE ) should be faster than the Ti 4600 but only by the smallest of margins as 8x AGP doesnt really give much boost anyway.
I currantly have a MSI Ti 4600 running at 315/720 and im shortly going to be getting a 5900 ultra

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/)

http://phantomfighters.sqhq.net (http://phantomfighters.sqhq.net/)</p>

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 07:11 PM
This is the quake III demo four test

1024 X 768 32 bits AA 4X, ANISITROPIC 8x


fx 5600 103 frames /sec
Radeon 9500 95 frames /sec
Radeon 9600 88 "
ti 4600 85 "
ti 4400 67 "


you can see that the results are very close.

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 09:11 PM
I have avoided benchmarks using quake as a benchmark because it's useless with today cards.

Try splinter cell, or UT2003.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/9infinite.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 09:14 PM
If you want to save some money pick up a G4ti4200 (highly overclockable)-you can find them relativly cheap these days and they're a good card.

I liked my gainward g4ti4200 64mb better than my msi g4ti4400 (just a fyi).

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/9infinite.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 09:27 PM
TI4800=TI4600 w/8x
TI4800SE=TI4400 w/8x


The TI4800 is not the 4200 like someone said. I now this beause I own a Evga TI4800 and it is nothing more then the TI4600 with 8x agp. Same clock speeds and the 4600. Which btw is a good card I play FB settings maxed at 1280x960x32 at a adverage of 65 FPS.
S!
4U|FC
51|FC
47|FC

http://www.ultimate-gamers.com/sigs/lulubelle3.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 09:49 PM
I've posted before on this but here goes again. I have a Ti4200 64meg but I got the latest drivers from nVidia that give it a FX panel and boosted it up a bit. I have a 2 gig cpu. I am able to run FB at 1154x868 rez at excellent settings with 4x antialiasing and it runs smooth as glass. If I got any new card it would definately be the newest FX. Right now I have no need to. I think lots of people have their systems messed up a bit and don't even know it. I see people posting often with systems well beyond my own saying that they have too slow game play or graphics look poor or have to turn down too many eye candy settings to make it run smooth. It makes me wonder how many ppl get new cards and other stuff when actually they have conflicts going on in there comps that they aren't aware of.

Mine looks just great with Ti 4200 GF4.

Beware of the Flying Tigers /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-29-2003, 09:55 PM
This are the benchmark for UT 2003
1024 X 768 32 bits AA 4X ANISITROPIC 8X


5600 56,2 FPS
9500 55,5 FPS
9600 53,5 FPS
4600 41,3 FPS
4200 33,4


If the 4200 seems a little slow, the 4600 is very close.
The 4800 with 650 mhz is like the 4600
the 4600 with 550 mhz ( se ? ) is between the 4200 & 4600

I am sure i have seen a 4800 with 550 mhz.

But if you buy a new card and if you have and old gf 3, i will say like ray ban buy a fx 5600.

I have seen the new prices of some fx 5600 and they are the
lower that the 4800 !!!!

But it is possible that there are different memory speed like the gf 4 family