PDA

View Full Version : Ideal specs



Baldricks_Mate
09-12-2005, 08:50 AM
I wasn't after a tech heads or overclockers response, mainly because I probably won't understand it or won't be able to source the bits but;

What specs do you think would make the best PC to run SH?

or

What specs to you have that runs SH without any dramas eg: frame rates, crashes etc?

or

What combinations to avoid?

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif (thats me...)

Baldricks_Mate
09-12-2005, 08:50 AM
I wasn't after a tech heads or overclockers response, mainly because I probably won't understand it or won't be able to source the bits but;

What specs do you think would make the best PC to run SH?

or

What specs to you have that runs SH without any dramas eg: frame rates, crashes etc?

or

What combinations to avoid?

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif (thats me...)

WirMussen
09-12-2005, 08:57 AM
i play on a P4 2.8GHz HT, 512MB RAM, ATI radeon 9800.

the game runs smoothly after i leave port, but the load times r ridiculous. it takes about 5mins to start the game sumtimes longer and patrols dont load much quicker

the_rydster
09-12-2005, 09:14 AM
I play on my Vaio laptop!

Centrino 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, Radeon Mobility 9200

It can just about handle it. External cam is not so good but I am at 100% realism now. Load time are ages though.

Messervy
09-12-2005, 09:26 AM
WIN XP SP 2; P4 2.4 @ 2.8 GHz, 1024 MB RAM, ATI radeon 9700 Pro Here

paulhager
09-12-2005, 11:26 AM
P4, 3.0 GHz, 1 Gbyte, nVidia 6800 (something or other). Loads about 10 to 15 seconds at most.

My wife has the ultimate gaming machine but she uses if for image processing - not games. P4, 3.8 HT (decided against Extreme Edition, Dual Core), 2 Gbyte, top-of-the-line nVidia whatever, 2 80 Gig 10,000 RPM HD's in RAID 0 configuration, 1 500 Gig data drive, 19" flat panel monitor (decided against widescreen).

Oldest daughter has configuration similar to mine but 2.8 GHz. She does, however, have an AV/DV capture card and video processing software. Can't get her interested in SHIII.

Youngest daughter has my old P3 machine. No way it could handle the game.

Kaleun1961
09-12-2005, 01:23 PM
I play the game on this system: Athlon 64 3200+ CPU @ 2GHz; NVidia GeForce 6600 GT 128 Mb; 2 Gb RAM; 19" LCD. Runs very well, I've adjusted my top time compression to 2048 from the game's default maximum of 1024; I don't bother to unload my antivirus and such but it still runs smoothly. I've got two separate optical drives, one is a DVD ROM, which I use for the game DVD, the other drive is a DVD-RW.

The_Silent_O
09-12-2005, 01:33 PM
This is from memory only...but...

Dell 8600 (2003 model), Centrino P1.6 1/2 Gig of RAM, but I've got 256 meg on the ATI Radeon Mobility...

...I get frame rates between 40 up to 70 on the 3d stuff, map view goes into the 100s.

Mine also takes about 5 minutes from start until I'm sitting in my U-Boat http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

...But that is drink mixing Time http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif "Special cocktail" anyone?

Baldricks_Mate
09-13-2005, 01:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by The_Silent_O:
This is from memory only...but...

Dell 8600 (2003 model), Centrino P1.6 1/2 Gig of RAM, but I've got 256 meg on the ATI Radeon Mobility...

...I get frame rates between 40 up to 70 on the 3d stuff, map view goes into the 100s.

Mine also takes about 5 minutes from start until I'm sitting in my U-Boat http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

...But that is drink mixing Time http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif "Special cocktail" anyone? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

while reading Mien Kampf at the U Boat inferno disco?

Bladerunner2k5
09-13-2005, 06:42 AM
I run this on my Athlon 64 3200+ with 1gb RAM and a Radeon X800 XT Platinum Edition card (256mb). I have done the necessary so the game can run in 1280 x 1024 mode and it runs as smooth as a babies botty. Load times aren't a problem either. Great game!! Dive Dive Dive whoop whoop! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

The_Silent_O
09-13-2005, 08:49 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Baldricks_Mate:


while reading Mien Kampf at the U Boat inferno disco? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I didn't know that "Mein Kampf" had a section on disco dance instruction... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

...Now, vee, vill Tanz...Ya! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif
http://www.filmbuffonline.com/images/dieter1.jpg

...But No Tanz-ing during silent running! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

sharpy34
09-13-2005, 11:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">WIN XP SP 2; P4 2.4 @ 2.8 GHz, 1024 MB RAM, ATI radeon 9700 Pro Here </div></BLOCKQUOTE> How do i find out what my pc runs on?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

The_Silent_O
09-13-2005, 12:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by sharpy34:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">WIN XP SP 2; P4 2.4 @ 2.8 GHz, 1024 MB RAM, ATI radeon 9700 Pro Here </div></BLOCKQUOTE> How do i find out what my pc runs on?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Go to the RUN command in windows and type in 'dxdiag'

After it's done, you'll have a series of tabs that you can page through chalk full of specs on your computer. It will even tell you how much memory you have on your video card.

sharpy34
09-13-2005, 12:14 PM
thanx

Michiel_88
09-13-2005, 12:19 PM
My system:
Athlon64 3000+ ~2.0GHz, 1024MB DDR RAM, with an Nvidia GeForce FX5700 (256MB), and a 80GB harddisk
Sh3 runs nice, the only drawback is the long loading time.

Baldricks_Mate
09-13-2005, 03:14 PM
Ok, I think I've got a problem...

P4.3.0(E), Gigabyte 8418p, 1024 MB RAM, ATI Radeon 9800XT, Raptor 10,000rpm HDD, xp SP 2

SH runs like a dog. Frame rates are under 10fps (guess). Very dificult to target multiple ships in a convoy. Shifting periscope causes more jerks than a bar on Friday night. I have to save post every attack in case it crashes.

A mate showed me how to do a 3D Mark test: average score over 3 tests was 6,600.

Runs everything else at a blinding speed.

I was thinking of "pimping" the computer but now I am not sure that will fix it.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif