PDA

View Full Version : A bit of lag with the GTX 1070



SillyJoey.
02-16-2019, 03:04 PM
So I've been playing the game for 2 hours on Ultra now and sometimes I get FPS dips towards 48 FPS.
I know that isn't a huge drop, but when I checked the requirements it said this:

Far Cry New Dawn recommended requirements
OS: Windows 7 SP1, Windows 8.1, Windows 10 (64bit versions only)
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790 @ 3.6 GHz or AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.2 GHz
RAM: 8GB
Video card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 (4GB) or AMD Radeon R9 290X (4GB) or better
Resolution: 1080p
Video preset: High
DirectX: DirectX June2010 Redistributable
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card with latest drivers
HDD: 30GB available space

I have an Intel Core i7-6700 with the GTX 1070 and 16Gigs of RAM, shouldn't that suffice?
Don't get me wrong, I don't want to be picky or something and cry over 50FPS at times, but I hear everyone else running the game with 70 to 100FPS no issue.
So why am I stuck around the 50-60 FPS?

I already tried and re´nstall the drivers, didn't work.

Ubi-Mullac
02-16-2019, 03:25 PM
Just to check, can you try the following steps here: https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/faqs/000025947

SillyJoey.
02-16-2019, 04:07 PM
Tried of all of them, didn't work. It drops when a lot of stuff get on the screen. When I walk into a highly vegetated forest, start driving or when it is dark outside and I look at a building with shining lights, it tends to drop to 50FPS.

Ubi-Mullac
02-16-2019, 04:42 PM
Can you create a ticket on our support site with your system information and leave the ticket number here, I'll see if I can spot anything out of the blue.

https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/faqs/000026442/Submit-Dxdiag-and-Msinfo/

SillyJoey.
02-16-2019, 04:52 PM
I've send a ticket.

Ticket number: 08068026

I hope you can help me out!

Ubi-Mullac
02-17-2019, 09:31 AM
Can you try disabling any overlays you have active including MSI afterburner?

SillyJoey.
02-17-2019, 11:42 AM
Did that, bought the game via Uplay so I don't have the steam overlay, disabled the discord overlay as well. The game won't even start at the moment, switched it back, re-started the PC, still won't launch at the moment. Don't know what's up at this point.

Ubi-Mullac
02-17-2019, 12:13 PM
So now you can't launch the game?

What happens when you disable the HD texture pack?

SillyJoey.
02-17-2019, 12:42 PM
I already re-´nstalled the game and didn't check the HD texture pack box. So I downloaded the normal game, still doesn't launch.

Ubi-Gumdrops
02-18-2019, 07:42 PM
Hey SillyJoey. - thanks for your patience. Can you please try reinstalling Uplay PC (https://support.ubi.com/en-Gb/Faqs/000025799/Installing-or-reinstalling-Uplay) and running it as Administrator?

SillyJoey.
02-22-2019, 01:13 PM
Hey man I did this and the game runs again! However the FPS issues remain. But it's at least playable again. I got 60 FPS but when fire spreads or gunfire starts it hits drops to 45 again.

Ubi-Gumdrops
02-22-2019, 09:16 PM
Appreciate the update! Did you try performing a clean boot (https://support.ubi.com/en-GB/faqs/000025721)to rule out any conflicts at the software level?

akilyoung
02-23-2019, 12:00 PM
I cant believe your getting that high of FPS with a 1070! I have a 1080 and it struggles on ultra. Matter of fact, I switched to HIGH just to get better FPS, and turned off certain settings. Mind ou I am running at 2x resolution using a 1080p projector.

Also noticing this odd blur, like the vegetation movement in the game runs at 30 fps or less, while the game itself might be locked at 60.

I remember this in FC4, and less noticably in FC5.

Its very noticable in areas that are heavily vegetated.

The first tiem I ever saw this kind of sorcery was in Crysis 1 on PS3.

If the veg animation IS running at a lower refresh cycle / FPS than the actual game FPS, than there needs to be an option to force that to run at the same FPS for higher powered systems.

It causes this ugly blur. And no, not motion blur, as I always turn that it. Just makes everything look sloppy.

SillyJoey.
02-23-2019, 12:01 PM
Yeah I did this already, the game is slightly more stable, as in most places where I would get 55 FPS, I get 60 now. However the main issue still remains and that is whenever something big happens, like firefights, heavy vegetation gets on the screen or a fire spreads out, it hits the 45 - 50-ish FPS.

SillyJoey.
02-23-2019, 12:04 PM
Hmm, that seems off as well Akilyoung. Most benchmarks video's shows that the 1070 hits between the 60 to 100 FPS. I just can't believe a 1080 cannot hit the 60FPS in an Ubisoft game! I don't know how stuff like this is possible on some devices, while others perform perfectly fine with the same specs.

djduke99
02-24-2019, 11:42 AM
Ubisoft this game, terrible optimization. Same problem

djduke99
02-24-2019, 01:38 PM
So I've been playing the game for 2 hours on Ultra now and sometimes I get FPS dips towards 48 FPS.
I know that isn't a huge drop, but when I checked the requirements it said this:

Far Cry New Dawn recommended requirements
OS: Windows 7 SP1, Windows 8.1, Windows 10 (64bit versions only)
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790 @ 3.6 GHz or AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.2 GHz
RAM: 8GB
Video card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 (4GB) or AMD Radeon R9 290X (4GB) or better
Resolution: 1080p
Video preset: High
DirectX: DirectX June2010 Redistributable
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card with latest drivers
HDD: 30GB available space

I have an Intel Core i7-6700 with the GTX 1070 and 16Gigs of RAM, shouldn't that suffice?
Don't get me wrong, I don't want to be picky or something and cry over 50FPS at times, but I hear everyone else running the game with 70 to 100FPS no issue.
So why am I stuck around the 50-60 FPS?

I already tried and re´nstall the drivers, didn't work.

My Specs are i7 6700 16Gb Ram & GTX 1080 and Same Problem with you

sorenfk
02-24-2019, 05:21 PM
problem is your cpu, dunia engine is very cpu demanding, my gpu usage with 1080ti at 1440p is mostly at 65% with a ryzen 1600x fps drops all the way down to 45fps in heavy fire fights, far cry new dawn needs a very fast cpu to maintain high fps at all times. try overclocking your cpu if possible.

SillyJoey.
02-25-2019, 10:39 AM
Mate Far Cry New Dawn is made by an AAA studio, I would expect that an I7 6700 and a GTX 1070 would be enough to run it on ultra

djduke99
03-03-2019, 12:00 PM
problem is your cpu, dunia engine is very cpu demanding, my gpu usage with 1080ti at 1440p is mostly at 65% with a ryzen 1600x fps drops all the way down to 45fps in heavy fire fights, far cry new dawn needs a very fast cpu to maintain high fps at all times. try overclocking your cpu if possible.

If you with your setup the FPS down at 45FPS , the game is bad optimized.