PDA

View Full Version : Adjust Screen Edge Display?



Viggaz
02-15-2019, 05:33 PM
Text details in-game that run along the edge of the screen are being cut off. I cannot find a setting to adjust this in the game options. Am I missing something?

Ubi-Baron
02-15-2019, 06:22 PM
Hi Viggaz,

Thank you for contacting us.

There should generally be an Option for this in the Video/Audio settings on pause/main menu.

Viggaz
02-15-2019, 07:51 PM
I agree, generally there should be. But I have been through all of the settings menus several times and I am not seeing one. That, or I am blind as a bat. 🤔

Houtakiboy2015
02-15-2019, 08:27 PM
I'm having the same problem as well on PS4. I can't see text or the compass showing objectives and locations at the top of the screen. There is no way to adjust this in the settings. I had to stop playing after an hour because It's really annoying that you can't adjust this. Ubisoft PLEASE FIX THIS ASAP. People paid to play this game and to enjoy it, NOT to miss part of the picture.

Viggaz
02-15-2019, 08:33 PM
So I’m NOT crazy, good. I went and checked the PS4 screen setting, adjusting it so it was well inside the parameters of my actual television screen ... and the same thing was still happening. Shouldn’t a games’ video settings display controls always allow you to tweak it manually? — for this exact kind of issue.

Ubi-Baron
02-15-2019, 08:50 PM
Thanks for checking that.

Please check if your TV is using Overscan in the settings, this is something that we have seen cause this issue and should be resolve if it's switched off.

Houtakiboy2015
02-15-2019, 10:19 PM
My TV isn't equipped with overscan. I tried adjusting the screen size from the PS4 settings, and New Dawn was unaffected. So this glitch is not because of TV or console settings. Far Cry 5's screen displays perfectly, so can you please provide a patch to fix New Dawn, thanks.

Ubi-Mullac
02-16-2019, 10:22 AM
Hey, can I get an image of the screen being cropped, and there being no settings for overscan on your TV. I'll be able to forward that to the team.

PopCulturePooka
02-16-2019, 11:55 PM
Like others have reported, I'm having problems with the UI or screen size of this game going well out of the borders of my TV. Elements of the UI are cut-off, which is especially bad for Objectives etc. The PS4 menu options for screen size don't work. My TV settings dont have "overscan" or anything along those lines. I have options for 16:9, 4:3, Zoom 1 and 2 and Auto, but switching between these does nothing. Even going to 4:3, with giant black bars on either side, still cuts off UI elements! I've not had this problem with any other PS4 game except RDR2, which allowed me to adjust the games screen size.

Ubi-Mullac
02-17-2019, 10:48 AM
Okay no worries, I've passed this on to the devs, I might need to ask you some questions later on.

Houtakiboy2015
02-23-2019, 09:44 AM
https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623135/

https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623120/

https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623105/



My TV is a SONY BRAVIA WITH 1080p RESOLUTION. Please note I have no OVERSCAN adjustment on my TV. I'm also currently playing Far Cry 5, and Primal, and they both display perfectly. This problem is with New Dawn exclusively.

Houtakiboy2015
02-23-2019, 09:47 AM
https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623105/

https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623120/

https://www.pinterest.ie/pin/684476843345623135/



My TV is a SONY BRAVIA WITH 1080p RESOLUTION. Please note I have no OVERSCAN adjustment on my TV. I'm also currently playing Far Cry 5, and Primal, and they both display perfectly. This problem is with New Dawn exclusively.

Ubi-Swaggins
02-23-2019, 01:11 PM
Hey Houtakiboy2015

Thank you for the images, I have passed that to the dev team.

Cheers.

dtyler8457
02-25-2019, 03:48 AM
I am having the same issue... There is no screen size adjustment option like there is in nearly every other game these days...should be an easy fix

WOLVYR
02-28-2019, 04:56 PM
Any update?

TheRuggedMan777
03-01-2019, 06:09 PM
I have an xbox one, I'm having the same issues. My compass is barely visible and the text in the top left corner of the screen is cut off. I also have far cry 5 and I never had any issues with it

Liam_Morris4369
03-05-2019, 10:17 PM
I've got the same problem on a PS4 - images and text at the edge of the screen can't be seen.

I have gone through all of my TV and PS4 settings and nothing works. I can only assume that the image is being rendered this way by the game - a fix for this issue would be appreciated please as it is definitely spoiling my experience of the game.....

Houtakiboy2015
03-12-2019, 06:37 AM
That was 2 weeks ago. I have since gotten further into the game where I am now looking for crafting materials to make the Elite weapons to complete all the weapons challenges. The game gives you the option to tag the resources so they are displayed on the top right hand corner of the screen. However, because of the *ongoing* cropping issue, I can't see the icons properly. See link below for image:


https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/684476843345972437#

Ubisoft, come on, a staff of thousands and you can't write a little patch to fix this? How many people must report this as an issue before you respond? I'm getting through the game regardless, but it's an annoyance that shouldn't be there. Let me give you an example of excellent developer response to an issue I had a couple of years back. Techland's Dying Light gave you the option to choose an outfit colour for the main character in the colours of many world flags, however my country, Ireland, wasn't included. I went to Techland's Facebook Page to complain on a Friday. And by the following Monday, when I checked the game, there was the Irish flag included in the outfit selections. I got back onto Techland to thank them and they apologised for not including Ireland in the selections. That took just one weekend to fix.

Why then, are we still waiting almost one month since New Dawn was released, and still no fix for this screen cropping issue? And just to reiterate, this isn't in your other games. Or ANY other games I play on my PS4. I read on this forum, under this subject that an Xbox One user is also having the same problem? So it's not just an issue with a console. It's the game, Ubisoft, a game you released with a flaw that shouldn't be there.


I'm really annoyed, and it's not just me, I'm sure.


Kind-ish regards

Houtakiboy2015
03-14-2019, 10:01 AM
Thank you, Ubisoft. Got the update patch just now and booted up New Dawn. It's perfect now. And about 2cm of picture has been restored on each side of the screen. All text and icons are now readable and visible. Many thanks.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

atomtinkle
02-18-2020, 12:29 AM
It actually is also a problem with Far Cry 5. Can we get a patch for that too? I can’t find an adjustment option for the display borders. There is only one for the brightness.

Ubi-Raziel
02-21-2020, 01:13 AM
It actually is also a problem with Far Cry 5. Can we get a patch for that too? I can’t find an adjustment option for the display borders. There is only one for the brightness.

Hey! Would you mind please creating a thread in our Far Cry 5 forums, if this issue is affecting you?

Please also make sure to check the video options on your TV. It sometimes happens where the overscan is slightly off and a TV setting may fix that for you.

I_m_DemonHybrid
02-24-2020, 08:05 PM
Hey I'm experiencing the same issue, if there is a patch for it. I haven't received any patch. Can you please advise how I get this game to fit my tv screen. Like some other my tv doesn't have that function you spoke about earlier. I've just checked and I'm also on PS4

UbiDork
02-28-2020, 01:52 AM
I_m_DemonHybrid: Welcome to the forums ! If you're currently having this issue, can you please tell me if you have tried PS4 troubleshooting steps (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-US/faqs/000025501/General-PS4-Troubleshooting/) for this issue?

HBLoki
07-19-2020, 06:18 PM
Good day im having a problem with the resolution of farcry 4 where it cuts off around the game can you please assist

Ubi-Swaggins
08-04-2020, 09:13 AM
Hey HBLoki,

This specific thread is referring to Far Cry New Dawn.

I would advise that you try the steps listed in this FAQ. (https://support.ubisoft.com/en-US/faqs/000025501/General-PS4-Troubleshooting/)