PDA

View Full Version : Differential braking with CH GAMEPORT pedals. How to!



Waldo.Pepper
10-25-2005, 12:57 PM
EAF_92 Whiskey figured out some of this. So full credit to him.

Differential braking with CH GAMEPORT pedals. How to!

Well this is for the very small minority of people out there who
still have CH pro pedals which are connected via GAMEPORT to your
computer.

I figure that there maybe about ten of us left. Anyway here goes.

The game does not support differential braking, but it can be
done, even with GAMEPORT pedals.
For those people who have the USB version of these fine pedals you
can use the Ch manager software to achieve this. It is a little
more difficult with the GAMEPORT version. But it can be done. Here
is how.

Firstly, you need the driver for gameport version from here:

ftp://ftp.chproducts.com/pub/chanlg08.exe

On my machine, Windows recognizes these pedals as ID one. ID two
is my X45, and ID 3 is a controller box I made for trim with a few
extra buttons on it.

My game controller screen looks like this.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/gamecontrollers.jpg

If you click on the CH pro pedals and then on properties, and then
on the Axis settings tab, you get to the rudimentry driver that Ch
supplies for these pedals.
I recommend the following settings for the pedals, on the
sensitivity 5, dead zone 40, and click the invert for both the X
and Y axis. Like in the following image.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/CHsettings.jpg

OK now we need to trick PF into using both of the tow axis on
these pedals as BRAKES. (which I'm sure you'll all remember the
game does not support).
In the main folder for FB there is subfolder called Users.
Inside the Users folder there should be a folder called doe and
possibly other folders which represent the pilots that you have
set up in game.

In my setup I normally use a pilot that I have named myself, but
the following instructions will apply to doe also.
Inside the pilot folder there is a settings.ini file. (Make a
backup before changing anything!)This is where FB saves your
keymapped settings that are set up for that pilot. Open this
folder with notepad. Look at the following section:

[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes----COPY THIS LINE
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder

[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes---PASTE HERE
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder


[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_X JoystickDevice0=brakes---CHANGE TO X
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder

Thats it! We have created an additional axis.

NOTE: If you do go back to the contols screen in game, and make a

change you will lose the additonal axis and you must add it back
to the settings.ini file manually again later.
As a final check to see if it is done right (other than of course
testing it in flight in the game) I recommend that you install
il2sticks from here.

http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm#087

If things are ok, then you should see something similar to the
following image. Note the TWO entries for brakes that are
apparent.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/il2sticks.jpg

It works, its kind of nice.

I also keep a button on my stick set as B for brakes in addition
to this new method.

Waldo.Pepper
10-25-2005, 12:57 PM
EAF_92 Whiskey figured out some of this. So full credit to him.

Differential braking with CH GAMEPORT pedals. How to!

Well this is for the very small minority of people out there who
still have CH pro pedals which are connected via GAMEPORT to your
computer.

I figure that there maybe about ten of us left. Anyway here goes.

The game does not support differential braking, but it can be
done, even with GAMEPORT pedals.
For those people who have the USB version of these fine pedals you
can use the Ch manager software to achieve this. It is a little
more difficult with the GAMEPORT version. But it can be done. Here
is how.

Firstly, you need the driver for gameport version from here:

ftp://ftp.chproducts.com/pub/chanlg08.exe

On my machine, Windows recognizes these pedals as ID one. ID two
is my X45, and ID 3 is a controller box I made for trim with a few
extra buttons on it.

My game controller screen looks like this.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/gamecontrollers.jpg

If you click on the CH pro pedals and then on properties, and then
on the Axis settings tab, you get to the rudimentry driver that Ch
supplies for these pedals.
I recommend the following settings for the pedals, on the
sensitivity 5, dead zone 40, and click the invert for both the X
and Y axis. Like in the following image.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/CHsettings.jpg

OK now we need to trick PF into using both of the tow axis on
these pedals as BRAKES. (which I'm sure you'll all remember the
game does not support).
In the main folder for FB there is subfolder called Users.
Inside the Users folder there should be a folder called doe and
possibly other folders which represent the pilots that you have
set up in game.

In my setup I normally use a pilot that I have named myself, but
the following instructions will apply to doe also.
Inside the pilot folder there is a settings.ini file. (Make a
backup before changing anything!)This is where FB saves your
keymapped settings that are set up for that pilot. Open this
folder with notepad. Look at the following section:

[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes----COPY THIS LINE
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder

[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes---PASTE HERE
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder


[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_RY JoystickDevice1=flaps
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_X JoystickDevice0=brakes---CHANGE TO X
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice0=rudder

Thats it! We have created an additional axis.

NOTE: If you do go back to the contols screen in game, and make a

change you will lose the additonal axis and you must add it back
to the settings.ini file manually again later.
As a final check to see if it is done right (other than of course
testing it in flight in the game) I recommend that you install
il2sticks from here.

http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm#087

If things are ok, then you should see something similar to the
following image. Note the TWO entries for brakes that are
apparent.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/ch%20gameporthowto/il2sticks.jpg

It works, its kind of nice.

I also keep a button on my stick set as B for brakes in addition
to this new method.

FoolTrottel
10-25-2005, 01:19 PM
Wow, impressive find! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

You sure IL2-Sticks works okay with this, as in saving profiles, and saving to conf.ini?
(As I'm not ... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif )

I'd be mighty interested if you'd paste a thus saved <profile>.ini here, and the part of conf.ini that contains sensitivities.. after a save that is...

(Backup conf.ini first! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif )

Waldo.Pepper
10-25-2005, 04:50 PM
Seems to work fine so far FT. (these are after a save in il2sticks, as requested.)

As long as you don't go into the controls section of the game, make a change and save it there.

from conf.ini

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X1=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y1=0 40 46 52 58 64 70 76 82 88 94 0
1RX1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1X2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Y2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0


From settings.ini

[HotKey move]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice1=-trimelevator
AXE_RZ JoystickDevice0=rudder
AXE_U JoystickDevice1=-power
AXE_V JoystickDevice1=pitch
AXE_X JoystickDevice2=trimrudder
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_X JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice2=trimaileron
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes

TC_Stele
10-27-2005, 01:26 AM
Awesome, man! You made my day.

I knew there had to be a way to figure the brakes out with these old gamport CH pedals.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

F19_Orheim
10-27-2005, 03:05 AM
beautiful thing mate.

anyone with a tutorial for the USB version?

WOLFMondo
10-27-2005, 03:19 AM
Nice work Waldo! Will do this to my setup later on.

Hrannar
10-27-2005, 11:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by F19_Orheim:
anyone with a tutorial for the USB version? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Orheim, check this post at the Ch-hangar (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index.php?s=&showtopic=2097&view=findpost&p=13333) forum, worked like a charm for me.

Aaron_GT
10-27-2005, 04:30 PM
I have my pedals plugged in via a gameport to USB adapter. Is there any way of getting this to work with that? The adapter means I have to plug in a joystick in parallel with the pedals and it sees the pedals as a 4 axis 4 button stick, but there is no response that correspounds to toe brake movement...

FoolTrottel
10-27-2005, 04:40 PM
Looks good.

Now how about the contents of a saved profile, from IL2-Sticks?