PDA

View Full Version : ...so I flew a real F-16 yesterday (not sim) and a validation of IL-2

UberDemon
10-02-2004, 03:55 PM
[I thought Oleg would enjoy this...]

...so I flew a real F-16 yesterday (not sim) and a validation of IL-2

http://www.uberdemon.com/pictures/udf0000.JPG

I apologize for the lack of updates on UQMG lately, especially related to the mission briefer... but I had other matters in mind.

As the pilot started to explain to me the flight procedures I told him that due to my father's experience as a pilot, I had the chance to informally sit and get a feel for flying in a variety of planes including helicopters. I also told the pilot about my involvement with flight simulators, etc... With that info the pilot felt free to throw all sorts of flying jargon, which I promptly understood.

I stuck a "sickness bag" (actually 2) between my flight suit and my G-suit; I was ready for major puking, as I hear some pilots like to have "casualties" in the back seat.

The crew chief helped me throught the cockpit setup which I had been trained on, and made sure I was ready in the back seat. After all pre-flight checks we taxied to the runway. It was time to take off. My adrenaline levels must have been as high as the first time I met my girlfriend's (now wife) father.

We took off on full after-burner. My first real experience with G-forces just happened... the back of my body was very heavy. I saw the ground become distant in a few seconds. But I survived. Next the pilot did a few high G maneuvers to test the G-suits... we were good. I survived those too... my first time experiencing real G-force... the breathing and body posturing training in combination with the G-suit paid off. I did not pass out... although I must say it was a rush experimenting with 4G's from the get go. This was all very fast. We were already fairly high.

http://www.uberdemon.com/pictures/udf0001.JPG