PDA

View Full Version : creating server



GLC13
10-11-2006, 03:21 PM
Hello,
For play with a friend over internet,
how do I set up a server?
On my friend's machine, does he need my IP to lof onto me, and what exacty does he put in the field?
Thanks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

GLC13
10-11-2006, 03:21 PM
Hello,
For play with a friend over internet,
how do I set up a server?
On my friend's machine, does he need my IP to lof onto me, and what exacty does he put in the field?
Thanks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

vocatx
10-11-2006, 04:53 PM
Yes, he needs to enter your IP followed by the open port; by default port 21000, unless you have changed it.

When I host I have to drop my Windows firewall, but I leave both my anti-virus programs running and give permission for them to allow FB/PF through.

GLC13
10-11-2006, 07:14 PM
So,
My friend's login would look like this:

###.###.#.#:2100

(IP:2100)

?

rnzoli
10-11-2006, 11:01 PM
yes, ###.###.#.#:21000

(watch the number of zeros in the port number, it's twenty-one thousand, not two-thousand and one hundred)

Vike
10-12-2006, 06:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HuninMunin:

We are working on the project, but it takes time because we want it to be the best experience possible within the context and limits FAP sets us.
But if you had something to contribute to the project; I might have something in exchange *cough*PM*cough* </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oops,okay! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://vike01.free.fr/images/avatars/signIL2.jpg
- AthlonXP 2400Mhz + 1024MB DDR CL 2.0
- Radeon 9800XT 460/790Mhz
- Saitek X-52 + Track IR 4 Pro
- Aka JV69_Vike http://vike01.free.fr/images/avatars/jv69.jpg

HuninMunin
10-12-2006, 05:40 PM
I just thought about something.
We miss one airplane from the '46 addon wich is not listed officialy.
Then I re-read the Q&A and stumbled upon the bit concerning the Lerche pit.
They allready have parts of the Hs 132 pit modelled.
Both the Lerche and the 132 have the pilot in prown position.
The 132 would be a perfect match into the planeset of '46 and would make a usefull adition to the scenario aswell.
They have cockpit reference for the 123 and have modelled part of it for the Lerche.
Sounds like a good guess?
*crossing-fingers*

(Hey Vike; I meant you sending me PM; mate http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

----------------------------------
.....he was seeking that one moment...the moment in wich all his life would crumble under the bright clearness of his mind.....where in a second everything would be lost or won.
Clearness in the last moment - The warrior's only hope and dream
----------------------------------

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/633/sigvp0.jpg

Simon "Hunin" Phoenix
Servant of Wotan and Tyr
True knight of the Endlich-Thread

juryman03
01-21-2007, 07:13 AM
Here's a related question I've been meaning to ask.

I regularly host multi-player sessions for our little group, and everyone joins over the internet as described above. Is it possible to have clients connecting over the internet and locally (behind the router) at the same time? In other words, can my son join the game from the computer in his bedroon, along with everyone else who is connecting via the internet?

It would seem he could do it by connecting to my local network address (192.168.1.100:21000), but I don't know. As of now we don't have another rig to test this out with.

blairgowrie
01-21-2007, 07:39 AM
Yes, juryman03. He can connect to you in two different ways. He can either go out to the Internet and come back in by using your external IP or he can connect directly using your internal IP. Too bad you didn't have another computer to try it out on. Sometimes you might have to port forward or set up your firewall to allow connection. If you check your traffic logs for your router and/or firewall you will be able to see if the connection is being allowed or blocked.

juryman03
01-21-2007, 07:59 AM
Thanks. My son has been showing some interest in the game lately, and I was thinking about cobbling together a system he could use, but I wanted to make sure the multiplayer would work.