PDA

View Full Version : Game-breaking stuttering after 20-30 minutes of play

DoctorMcBatman
10-05-2018, 03:13 AM
I have the Gold edition so I started playing on Tuesday. No problems Tuesday, but yesterday after playing a bit I started getting a very nasty stuttering. I closed the game and reopened it, and it went away. Today, it started after about 30 minutes of play, so I quit the game and reopened it. The stuttering came back again after about 30 minutes, and this cycle has been going on all day.

i7 3820
GTX 1080
SSD
16GB RAM

Been running on all Ultra except Volumetric Clouds on High and AO on High. Getting a steady 50-70 fps, even during the stuttering. Temps are staying within reasonable levels too.

Here's a video I took of the stuttering - the capture wasn't great quality and YT certainly didn't help, but hopefully you can see what I'm referring to. Technically this isn't game breaking since I can restart the game every 30 minutes... but that's no way to play an immersive, long RPG.

(Note: you can see relevant system readouts on the top left, and don't mind the 0 VRAM display bug)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLWC4IMNSfM

EDIT: Right, forgot to mention I've already taken many troubleshooting steps. I downloaded the newest NVIDIA driver, went into Properties on the executable to disable fullscreen optimizations, and managed my 3D settings in NVIDIA Control Panel to set max pre-rendered frames to 1. And I followed a guide on dealing with Windows' standby memory issue. None of that fixed the Isu (good pun? LOL)

Lysette88
10-05-2018, 03:34 AM