PDA

View Full Version : This PC. Is it going to be enough for Maddox "Battle Of Britain"?



Atomic_Marten
01-13-2005, 07:59 PM
Let's say, PIV 3200, and 1-1,5GB RAM? And decent VGA http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

I'm not interested in "Perfect" mode, just "normal" play with decent settings.

What you guys think? Any suggestions?

Atomic_Marten
01-13-2005, 07:59 PM
Let's say, PIV 3200, and 1-1,5GB RAM? And decent VGA http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

I'm not interested in "Perfect" mode, just "normal" play with decent settings.

What you guys think? Any suggestions?

pourshot
01-13-2005, 08:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Atomic_Marten:
Let's say, PIV 3200, and 1-1,5GB RAM? And decent VGA http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

I'm not interested in "Perfect" mode, just "normal" play with decent settings.

What you guys think? Any suggestions? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I would say anything you can buy now will strugle to run BoB smoothly.

Atomic_Marten
01-13-2005, 08:09 PM
Uh. It isn't funny you know http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

Just kiddin' http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif. But seriously, is that game going to be *that* demanding?

ImpStarDuece
01-13-2005, 08:28 PM
I'd say the requirements would be comparable to what was reqired to run IL2 when it first came out.

Its a new game, with a new engine, designed to take advantage of continual increases in memory, processing power and graphics cards.

I dont have the faintest clue about how far 1C is down the track developing BoB. However, if for arguments sake, the engine was being finalised now and the graphic levels of detail sorted out then I would expect a current 'top of the line, off the shelf ' PC to be able to run it without any degree of difficulty.

If it was me and my game was due out in 12 months or so I would be designing it so that a 'standard, run of the mill' home computer bought today could run it at lower settings. However, I would want the highest graphical settings to take advantage of future enhancements in technology, so would make the 'perfect' settings somewhat beyond what current PCs are capable of.

Just my 20 yen though

TgD Thunderbolt56
01-13-2005, 08:31 PM
and on the other hand, I would think that a high-end rig now will run it at least at medium settings. Look at the history. A rig that was a scorcher even 2 years ago is STILL capeable of running PF adequately even now (P4 2.4 and a Ti4600).

I am fairly sure though, the increase in RAM will be a definite "plus".

My .02c

adlabs6
01-13-2005, 09:24 PM
I wondered about what Oleg's BoB would need to run back when those WIP screens of the ambulance were posted. If you have a mission with ground war/airstrip static scenery total of 30 to 50 ground objects that detailed... yikes. One can only hope the new engine will scale well.

crazyivan1970
01-13-2005, 10:14 PM
No mate, not enough. Maybe to run it on mid settings.

Chivas
01-13-2005, 10:51 PM
Oleg stated once that if you can run IL-2/AEP/PF in perfect mode, you will be able to run BOB. Albeit at reduced settings.

WUAF_Darkangel
01-13-2005, 11:03 PM
BoB as demanding as LOMAC or more?

h009291
01-13-2005, 11:23 PM
If it's ANYTHING like LOMAC ... it's Bargain Bin Material as well ......

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WUAF_Darkangel:
BoB as demanding as LOMAC or more? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LuckyBoy1
01-13-2005, 11:34 PM
Oleg, like most game code punchers types in the code with the top end computers in mind at the time he expects the game to be released and yes, he knows and has known it won't be finished by summer. The problem is, the game code punchers are still thinking of technological progress like in the 186, 286, 386, 486 days. Even if technology would march along at that fast a pace, few would get it because all their other applications currently run fine on what they've got.

Atomic_Marten
01-14-2005, 01:00 AM
I have posted this because I'm planing to order myself a new components today. They will include P4 3200, 1gig of RAM and some other stuff. I'm going to keep my FX5600 for now.(due to lack of.. money http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif).

Actually guys I was hoping for some answers like that. Currently I'm running merged PF on my Celeron 1000, and believe it or not, sometimes I get more than 25fps in game (I admit I must be on decent alt, and sky can't be overcrowded http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif).

That machine is several years old. And if the game (PF) is even playable on that machine, I figured that I must be able to run BoB decently on P4 3.2. Nothing fancy (but hey, I ain't used to that http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif).

Like you guys stated, with some more RAM it must be playable decently.

The basic reason why I was questioned you to help me out with this one is the fact that I do not have money to upgrade PC when I want, but instead when I got the opportunity (I have saved some money now, so..http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif).

Thanks for the answers.

falco_cz
01-14-2005, 03:03 AM
IMO, if you can run LOMAC at max setting now smoothly you goona be able to run BoB in the same way http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ruxtmp
01-14-2005, 10:41 AM
I have a
P4 3.4Ghz with 2MB cache
2GB of RAM
ATI X800XT video card
Should I expect from BOB mid level settings or would perfect run well (minus water=3 of course http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif ).

Chivas
01-14-2005, 12:09 PM
You should have no problem running BOB at mid settings....but thats just speculation.

adlabs6
01-14-2005, 02:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by h009291:
If it's ANYTHING like LOMAC ... it's Bargain Bin Material as well ...... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Heh. LOMAC isn't even funny performance wise. When I upgraded from an XP2000 to a Sempron 3100 every single game I play nearly doubled it's performance at 1280x1024 resolution... except LOMAC. Even HL2 on maxed out game details can muster 30+fps during canals or highway 17 on my cpu, with some parts of the outdoor maps jumping to 100+fps at 1280x1024.

LOMAC on the other hand still stumbles along at 20-30fps on LOWEST settings. And it still has some of the most unrefined AI aircraft and ground models I've seen.

Anyway, maybe we'll get some idea as to BoB's performance/quality at E3.

DuxCorvan
01-14-2005, 02:40 PM
The rig able to cope with BoB has not been developed yet. I hope they don't misscalculate the time for release... it could be well that no one could run it decently...

And we assume that PCs will develope to that point... but it has to have a limit someday... just like steam engines.

ASM 1
01-14-2005, 03:41 PM
Well I currently have a P4 3.4 @ 3.7 (270 FSB), awaiting an X800XTPE... I want my gratification NOOOOOWWWWW http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Which is why I have PF.....

Seriously, I'm not going to start worrying about a game that hasn't been released yet - there's no point.

I'm sure by the time BOB is out... 5Ghz Dual CPU's will be the norm http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

Sultan_of_Swing
01-14-2005, 07:34 PM
My two cents;

I just got a rig (P 4-3.4extreme/256MG-X800XT/2 gigs ram/Audigy2) that can run, for the first time since IL-2 came out, any version of this sim in full-maxed-beauteefool technecolor settings. I get a weary of all the "what's" next talk. For gawd's sake, we just got PF and an add on still to come.

Brain32
01-15-2005, 03:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I have posted this because I'm planing to order myself a new components today. They will include P4 3200, 1gig of RAM and some other stuff. I'm going to keep my FX5600 for now.(due to lack of.. money ).
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you still haven't ordered it go with the AMD if your choice is not based on the current MB.
You will get a lot better performance/invested money ratio.

Odi si na www.nabava.net (http://www.nabava.net) skini cijenike i usporedi. Intel je pogotovo kod nas bezobrazno preskup a ne daje vise performansi i grije se ko' gjubre.

Tvrdi
01-15-2005, 05:34 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Brain32:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I have posted this because I'm planing to order myself a new components today. They will include P4 3200, 1gig of RAM and some other stuff. I'm going to keep my FX5600 for now.(due to lack of.. money ).
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you still haven't ordered it go with the AMD if your choice is not based on the current MB.
You will get a lot better performance/invested money ratio.

Odi si na http://www.nabava.net skini cijenike i usporedi. Intel je pogotovo kod nas bezobrazno preskup a ne daje vise performansi i grije se ko' gjubre. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Brain ti fakat nisi normalan..ovdje nitko ne kuzi kaj ti pises na hrvatskom..inace intel je mrvicu sporiji od amd-a za Fb/PF a tocno je da se grije jako ALI to mu ne smeta(ne steti) kao nekada AMD-u....

Juju_uk_68
01-15-2005, 06:01 AM
Forgive me, I am very non techie, but I understand that Intel for one have recently cancelled their development on a 4 gig processor, feeling that the present motherboard and chip technology needs to focus on other things than processor speed to speed things up.I would hope the BOB software isn't being written for a pc that will never be released...

Bearcat99
01-15-2005, 04:38 PM
Since BoB wont be out for at least another year.... whoi knows. I wouldnt try to upgrade for BoB if I were you. If you can run FB 3.0 decently then by al means save your money for that monster upgrade. I spent a few hundred bucks upgrading again over the past 3 months. The only reason I di it was because my daugter needed a new PC so I upgraded mine and rolled it down. I noticed however that FB 3.0 ran decently on my 2500 Barton with 2100 RAM and a 9500 Pro video card on it. So the moral to the story is..... dont waste your time upgrading for a product that is at the very least a year out. Thats a lifetinme in the PC world.. and you can bet that todays blazing rig will be adequate a year or two from now.... but certainly no longer blazing.

fabianfred
01-15-2005, 05:30 PM
I also think it depends on the complexity of the mission you are flying...I have never flown on-line, but ealise that it is an ideal thing for those who love the dogfight kind of mission...

dogfights are probably the least FPS hit as they are often at altitude where high ground detail is not needed and large amounts of objects and AAA are also not required...

my own set-up is very modest... Athlon XP 2200+ (1800mhz.) 1 gig RAM Nvidia Geforce 4 MX440 128mb...

but I mostly like ground pounding and enjoy writing very complex missions full of action on the ground and in the air, so I often have to struggle through intensive parts by dropping to half-speed, and I've never seen perfect settings or water in my life....
but i hope that one day the technology will give me a computer capable of running missions of any complexity with all settings maxed out...

I have just written a Pearl Harbor mission using the PF Hawaii map and many skins etc.

it is still not that realistic in numbers, but currently has 180 planes flying....
if I save an NTRK from the complete mission from take-off to landing which takes about 45mins the file size is about 10mb.
there is so much action that I have to run at half speed all the time to get a smooth view from the static cameras, but when flying with full cockpit view at normal speed it isn't actually so bad, well not a slide show anyway...

but I doubt if there is a set-up out there which can run my mission perfectly smooth and on perfect graphics settings right now...


I tend to agree with the poster of the first reply to this thread....nothing available now will do more than struggle with BOB if the mission is anything like realistic, with 100+ bomberscoming in, and your squadron of spitfires taking-off from a nicely detailed landscape with patchwork fields etc.

heywooood
01-15-2005, 10:21 PM
I dont know if anyone else has said it yet but, I think Oleg designs his software to run well ahead of the hardware curve intentionally...so that his sims will remain cutting edge for a longer period of time. Thats why they are so scalable too...so that current machines of decent strenght can run it adequately off the bat, and then to full potential as upgrades become available or more affordable.

Seems no one should expect to run BoB full pop on day one....maybe not even in year one of its arrival....seems pretty smart to me, be sure.

Brain32
01-16-2005, 04:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I dont know if anyone else has said it yet but, I think Oleg designs his software to run well ahead of the hardware curve intentionally...so that his sims will remain cutting edge for a longer period of time. Thats why they are so scalable too...so that current machines of decent strenght can run it adequately off the bat, and then to full potential as upgrades become available or more affordable.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thats the biggest reason I respect that guy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BTW, Tvrdi I pointed Atomic Marten to Croatian site about hardware prices in Croatia ONLY because I know he is a Croat just like us, that site wouldn't be of use to anybody abroad and that's why I have written it in our language.
And yes Intel is not much slower comparing to AMD put it consumes 100Watts(Prescott) and it is quite expensive comparing to similar performance rating AMD processor.

han freak solo
01-16-2005, 09:14 AM
I always seem to chase games with my PCs.

This rig is now old with 2.0 Gig Athlon, 640 Meg RAM, and a 64 Meg Video Card. It works well with FBAEP. But, it can't keep up with PF when there is a lot of AAA fire. Sure, I'll upgrade the RAM and Vid card soon, but this rig will never run BOB well, I predict. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Who was it that quoted in the 1960's something like "every 18 months computer speed and efficiency will double"? Will this race ever level out in gaming or graphics? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

Atomic_Marten
01-16-2005, 01:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tvrdi:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Brain32:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I have posted this because I'm planing to order myself a new components today. They will include P4 3200, 1gig of RAM and some other stuff. I'm going to keep my FX5600 for now.(due to lack of.. money ).
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you still haven't ordered it go with the AMD if your choice is not based on the current MB.
You will get a lot better performance/invested money ratio.

Odi si na http://www.nabava.net skini cijenike i usporedi. Intel je pogotovo kod nas bezobrazno preskup a ne daje vise performansi i grije se ko' gjubre. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Brain ti fakat nisi normalan..ovdje nitko ne kuzi kaj ti pises na hrvatskom..inace intel je mrvicu sporiji od amd-a za Fb/PF a tocno je da se grije jako ALI to mu ne smeta(ne steti) kao nekada AMD-u.... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

He-he.. that's what I heard too.. AMD Athlon 64 3200 is suppose to be somewhat 'better' than PIV 3200. So I trusted the guy (seller) in the shop (he's my friend BTW, so.. it better for him for that to be the true http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)).

Old Duron 700 (yeah, one of my previous crates http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif) these ones were over heating like mad and crashing.. so I switched to Intel. But as I said b4.. these new generations of AMD processors are way improved than those old ones, so I go after them. And also there's money factor involved.. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

www.nabava.net (http://www.nabava.net) is good page with fair prices.. thanks for link. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Bearcat99:
dont waste your time upgrading for a product that is at the very least a year out. Thats a lifetinme in the PC world.. and you can bet that todays blazing rig will be adequate a year or two from now.... but certainly no longer blazing. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think you're right. I must upgrade my system (upgrade is small word, I'm going to buy almost every component involved, I'm saving only my VGA and HDD).

Also, I have some info that the BoB should be released sooner.. but I suppose that you have better info.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I have found some info about BoB and it's release date -- they say "summer 2005" which in that case, isn't so far away (compared to a year).

But I'll put my money on year, just like you -- that release date sounds more 'realistic' (I figure that by that time Oleg&Co. will be able to completely dedicate their efforts on finishing the BoB, since FB+PF project should be done by then -- all patches new planes and other add-onns that are currently WiP), than on 6 months..

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>heywooood:
I dont know if anyone else has said it yet but, I think Oleg designs his software to run well ahead of the hardware curve intentionally...so that his sims will remain cutting edge for a longer period of time. Thats why they are so scalable too...so that current machines of decent strenght can run it adequately off the bat, and then to full potential as upgrades become available or more affordable. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That is correct IMO.


Grunf: <span class="ev_code_PINK">"Tko leti vrijedi, tko ne leti ne vrijedi"</span>

Pa se vi sad mislite. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif