PDA

View Full Version : Not a valid win32 application



MrMojok
12-22-2006, 03:58 AM
I installed 46 over my existing 4.5 installation. Now, I get the error that il2fb.exe is not a valid win32 application.

I suppose I should not be surprised this install was a complete abortion, as the entire project is exactly that. Does anyone know how to fix it? Tomorrow when I come home from work I'll do the obvious and uninstall and reinstall the whole thing. Unless anyone comes up with any ideas.

Yes, I posted this in general discussion. I'm mad as hell right now.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://members.cox.net/f1dude/P51_sig.jpg

MrMojok
12-22-2006, 03:58 AM
I installed 46 over my existing 4.5 installation. Now, I get the error that il2fb.exe is not a valid win32 application.

I suppose I should not be surprised this install was a complete abortion, as the entire project is exactly that. Does anyone know how to fix it? Tomorrow when I come home from work I'll do the obvious and uninstall and reinstall the whole thing. Unless anyone comes up with any ideas.

Yes, I posted this in general discussion. I'm mad as hell right now.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://members.cox.net/f1dude/P51_sig.jpg

TimTam27
12-22-2006, 04:54 AM
Similar story with me. Game installed but oddly the desktop icon is a generic white box thing. When I try to start the game I get the spinning disk and then nothing. Usually IL2 stuff has worked perfectly but this last one has been a disappointment.

Agamemnon22
12-22-2006, 09:48 AM
You know you're not supposed to install 46 over FB ..

It's standalone -- everything back to FB in one.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

---------------------------------
http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/agamemnon22/Pe2sig.jpg

MrMojok
12-22-2006, 01:01 PM
Several people installed it into their existing forgotten battles folder.

bienenbaer
12-22-2006, 01:12 PM
Two notes, probably they help:

1) I installed over existing 4.04 as well, all fine (on XP).

2) I had the same spinning disk + silent exit phenomena. That was due to a mistyped screen res in the conf.ini. Do you have anything special there? After I corrected the conf.ini, it was fine.

MrMojok
12-22-2006, 01:18 PM
[window]
width=1024
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0

CD_kp84yb
12-22-2006, 01:24 PM
Hi,

I had the same ****, Il2fb.exe = 0 , tried the one from the dvd, and got a message that i had some suspicious software installed.

Hahaha totaly forgotten that i had Deamontools installed long time ago, so away with that.
Result , same as you nada zilch niente.
Getting angry and after a few tries i planned to take the dvd back to the store and ahum ,wont subscribe what i planned. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Netx day started my rig and deleted my system partition. Installed XP pro and SP2, and al the drivers and ****, then took the DVD 46 ,installed (funny to see that the pics you see where played in a one minute slideshow http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif) and after 6 minutes, Hurray it worked perfect. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

My conclusion was , the rig on wich i installed 1946 is my surfrig( my gamingrig didnt gave me probs at all installing itonly that i had to buy a DVD burner for it,haha you cant buy DVD players here anymore) and it was full of the usual mallware and virusses, Yes i do run with virusscanners and firewall, but they get blasted away after a long time by those little progs, I think the mallware and virusses may have some influence.
Now i havent installed Nero nor Roxio yet but i will see if it works.

cheers
Ps was a lot of work but it had to be done anyway http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blush.gif