PDA

View Full Version : Crew Fatigue



IRONxMortlock
10-13-2005, 05:56 AM
Is there someway I can completely disable crew fatigue?

Thank you,

M

IRONxMortlock
10-13-2005, 05:56 AM
Is there someway I can completely disable crew fatigue?

Thank you,

M

Kaleun1961
10-13-2005, 12:42 PM
If you use the SH3 Commander mod, you can use one of several fatigue models, including no fatigue.

IRONxMortlock
10-13-2005, 04:30 PM
I was hoping to avoid using any mods. Is there any other way?

Kaleun1961
10-13-2005, 05:30 PM
Without a mod, I can only guess that you cannot turn off fatigue, but adjust the settings so that the fatigue is very slow. There was a thread on here a while back by a forum member named van Jast. He detailed what specific lines to adjust and the effect they would have. Try doing a search for that thread; I can't recall offhand where it would be. I tried his fatigue model and found it worked quite well so that fatigue is not the killer it is in the stock game.

If you can't find it, post back here and I will try to find my notes when I have more time.

Dominicrigg
10-13-2005, 05:36 PM
It isnt that hard to manage at all.

Check out our website at the bottom of my sig and there is a crew management hint thingy. You can swap out whole compartments by just double clicking on the name. This moves all tired men out and new ones in with 2 clicks. Also right click on one compartment and left on another swaps the men.

Then there are the auto settings at the bottom. It takes no effort at all, that said there is a way to edit out the tiredness settings.

Its in the Cfg folder and is the Basic.cfg file. I think (best to get a second opinion) that you need to change the numbers in each line to 0 then each weather situation will cause no tiredness. But as i said its easy if you think about it, and after 3 or so patrols becomes even easier.

bunkerratt
10-13-2005, 09:07 PM
have you tried raising both scopes and rigging some sailcloth between them..it will help with the fuel burn rate...... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

IRONxMortlock
10-14-2005, 05:56 PM
thanks for the replies everyone. Dominicrigg, the tips were useful and I'll try to stick with it for a few more patrols and see if it becomes less troublesome.

M

zarker99
10-28-2007, 09:48 PM
Its not the effort of swapping so much, its the having to do it every six hours or so. And then you gave to remember which departments you swapped last time cos here's not enough crew to have a releif for every one on duty. For me the whole game seems to be about crew management amd its detracting from the game - i'm starting to dread playing it.

Its a shame crew fatigue isn't one of the realism options.

I may try this Commander mod - if i can find it.

Will SH4 have the same problem? Cos if it does I think I'll skip it.

zarker99
10-28-2007, 10:28 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Check out our website at the bottom of my sig and there is a crew management hint thingy. You can swap out whole compartments by just double clicking on the name. This moves all tired men out and new ones in with 2 clicks. Also right click on one compartment and left on another swaps the men. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I wish it was that simple.

If you have 8 crew in a compartment when swappinh out, it only swaps 5 back in.

Also, if your swapping out a few compartments, men who've been swapped out of one compartment get swapping into another subsequent one - giving problems after a few hours.

When moving from submerged to surfaced (and vise versa) it doesn't swap all the crew from diesel to electric etc, and most times the boat comes to a stop cos not enough crew in compartment to operate the engines.

Auto crew management is really cracked in this game http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Subject_rod
10-29-2007, 06:36 AM
SH3Commander isn't a mod. It's a manager for your SH3 configuration. Highly recommended and you can get it here: http://www.users.on.net/~jscones/software/products.html (http://www.users.on.net/%7Ejscones/software/products.html)

Very easy to install and use.

re. crewmanagement - it's a pain and I use the "No fatique" setting in SH3Cmdr as I don't want to nurse my crew. How they rotate and do their duties, is not my task, so instead of me telling them what to do where and when, I pretend the Officer on Deck is doing that = no fatique.

In SH4 otoh, it's a completely different story. There it works in a brilliant way and you don't have to get involved.

Good hunting!

rod

edit/ forgot to say, that there's a "bug" in SH3 that means your Watch Officer will not automatical go to bridge, when surfacing. You will have to kick him up there yourself...
Looking at him, I fully understand, why no of my crew dare to wake him up http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif