PDA

View Full Version : No Grummans for Lang



Lang1969
04-24-2006, 09:05 AM
Gentlemen:

Recently, I had to reinstall PF+AEP+FB. I discovered that when I start to apply the patches, I lose all the Grumman aircraft (Hellcats and Wildcats) beyond patch 3.04m. After patch 3.04m in QMB the aircraft appear as a flyable, but when selected, and the game launched, they can only be viewed from the outside and cannot be controlled from outside views either €" each of them flies on autopilot. I tried the following:
1. downloading fresh copies of the patches from different sites
2. turning off Norton Antivirus AND Norton Internet Security before install of patches
3. restarting the computer and the game after each patch install
4. de-fragmenting my HD

The only thing I did not try was updating the BIOS on my MB, because it seemed way too complicated for me.

Has anybody had the same problem yet? Any help, advise, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

~S!~
Lang

PS For the record here is my system:
Processor: AMD Athlon 3000
MB: Asus 7N8X-e
OS: XP Pro

Lang1969
04-24-2006, 09:05 AM
Gentlemen:

Recently, I had to reinstall PF+AEP+FB. I discovered that when I start to apply the patches, I lose all the Grumman aircraft (Hellcats and Wildcats) beyond patch 3.04m. After patch 3.04m in QMB the aircraft appear as a flyable, but when selected, and the game launched, they can only be viewed from the outside and cannot be controlled from outside views either €" each of them flies on autopilot. I tried the following:
1. downloading fresh copies of the patches from different sites
2. turning off Norton Antivirus AND Norton Internet Security before install of patches
3. restarting the computer and the game after each patch install
4. de-fragmenting my HD

The only thing I did not try was updating the BIOS on my MB, because it seemed way too complicated for me.

Has anybody had the same problem yet? Any help, advise, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

~S!~
Lang

PS For the record here is my system:
Processor: AMD Athlon 3000
MB: Asus 7N8X-e
OS: XP Pro

Platypus_1.JaVA
04-24-2006, 09:21 AM
This is not normal. I suspect you applied the patches in the wrong order or something. Check this thread for details:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/5581083643

Also makes sure you don't mix up the patches for the merged game with the patches for the standalone PF game.

JG53Frankyboy
04-24-2006, 09:22 AM
you messed up the patches.
make live easy, download this community made but officialy announced MEGA update (from 3.00 tp 4.04 in one install !) , its 382 mb size.

http://www.pacific-fighters.com/de/pacific_updates.php

so you not have again proplems http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

koivis
04-24-2006, 09:22 AM
It must be some pissed-off Northrop-Grumman guy who has hacked to your system to prevent people flying their 60-year-old (___-cat = registered trademark?) planes and especially to keep them safe for japanese Mitsubishi A6M Zero's guns. Remember, those are very old and valuable toys you are playing with! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Lang1969
04-24-2006, 01:04 PM
Gents:

Thank you for the invaluable advise. I will reinstall the patches following the advise per post by Tully___. Hopefully that will fix the issues.

~S!~
II./JG1_Lang

Lang1969
04-25-2006, 09:00 AM
Thank you guys for all the advise. I was indeed installing wrong patches. Once I followed the directions suggested by Tully___ it worked like a charm.

Once again, I appreciate your help.

Over and out.
Lang