PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Starting Up New System - Help appreciated~!

surlybirch
03-15-2004, 06:17 PM
Hello folks~!

I'm trying to get my new system off the ground and I'm stuck.

I can't get the thing to boot up to a DOS environment from any boot source. It tells me to take the discs out to restart.

Here are the basics.

ASUS PC4800 Deluxe MOBO
P4 3.2 HyperThread
1.5 GiG Kingston RAM. PC3200 Dual 400Mhz RAM
ASUS 9950 256MB Vid Card
Audigy 2ZS Sound
2 Western Digital Raptor 36Gig HDD
Plextor 'CD Writer' CD-RW

I just can't get it to boot to a DOS environment. This is my first attempt at a component system so I'm slightly in the dark.

The ASUS manuals are fairly good, but a bit shaky on the initial startup process.

I'm trying to set the HDDs up in a RAID 0 configuration. The fastbuild utility does recognize the array, but the BIOS doesn't seem to. I'm using the MOBOs SATARAID ports for the HDDs.

But it doesn't matter since without DOS I can't format anything.

Any suggestions would be appreciated~!

Thanks~!!

SURLY

http://surlybirch.tripod.com/mudbar.txt

SURLYbirch

surlybirch
03-15-2004, 06:17 PM
Hello folks~!

I'm trying to get my new system off the ground and I'm stuck.

I can't get the thing to boot up to a DOS environment from any boot source. It tells me to take the discs out to restart.

Here are the basics.

ASUS PC4800 Deluxe MOBO
P4 3.2 HyperThread
1.5 GiG Kingston RAM. PC3200 Dual 400Mhz RAM
ASUS 9950 256MB Vid Card
Audigy 2ZS Sound
2 Western Digital Raptor 36Gig HDD
Plextor 'CD Writer' CD-RW

I just can't get it to boot to a DOS environment. This is my first attempt at a component system so I'm slightly in the dark.

The ASUS manuals are fairly good, but a bit shaky on the initial startup process.

I'm trying to set the HDDs up in a RAID 0 configuration. The fastbuild utility does recognize the array, but the BIOS doesn't seem to. I'm using the MOBOs SATARAID ports for the HDDs.