PDA

View Full Version : Runways soooo short....



XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:05 PM
Ok playing online with the D9, wid the newly installed patch 1.1 HARRAH!! But after 2 kills and no ammo i had to head home. So at an alt at 3000 and the airpot at 2000 feet i started descending, hit the runway with my engine off and flaps on landing. I hit the runway on the begging bit./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif ok so i touced it at 110 speed and pulsed my brakes and started to slow down, but at 40 i just ran over the runway and blew up!! HELPPPPPP!

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:05 PM
Ok playing online with the D9, wid the newly installed patch 1.1 HARRAH!! But after 2 kills and no ammo i had to head home. So at an alt at 3000 and the airpot at 2000 feet i started descending, hit the runway with my engine off and flaps on landing. I hit the runway on the begging bit./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif ok so i touced it at 110 speed and pulsed my brakes and started to slow down, but at 40 i just ran over the runway and blew up!! HELPPPPPP!

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:07 PM
AHS_VIPER wrote:
- Ok playing online with the D9, wid the newly
- installed patch 1.1 HARRAH!! But after 2 kills and
- no ammo i had to head home. So at an alt at 3000 and
- the airpot at 2000 feet i started descending, hit
- the runway with my engine off and flaps on landing.
- I hit the runway on the begging bit./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif ok so i touced it at 110 speed
- and pulsed my brakes and started to slow down, but
- at 40 i just ran over the runway and blew up!!
- HELPPPPPP!

WAR IS HELL! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


<font size= 3> <font color= blue>
TAGERT
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If WAR was not the ANSWER.. Than what the H was your QUESTION?

http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=forum
http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=discussion

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:17 PM
You hit the runway at 110 and could only get down to 40 by the end of the runway? You sure yur flaps were down all the way and you pumped yur breaks enough? This sounds strange....maybe the D9 cant break real well...(I dont know...im a P47 jock /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif )


hmmmmm

Steaks
375th FS

Is it Pets Mart...or Pet Smart????

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:19 PM
Really? I fly a bf-109 and I can land usually with half the strip still to go. Bleed speed on approach. I trim tail heavy, sideslip, break turns or just pull back on the stick. I have found that flaps are not as effective as in IL2, so you have to start approach farther out.


http://www.stormbirds.com/warbirds/header.jpg


<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_henry_blake.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:19 PM
You have to bleed off some speed before landing - takes much more effort to do that after the patch.

Use Radiator open, full flaps, and - why didn't i hear this anywhere:

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif set prop pitch to 0%

that way you get more drag from the prop - but it wont give must thrust in this position - so turn it back when needed for speedup hehe

landing speed is 155 km/h

hope this helps

Another way is to just put a buddy of yours at the end of the runway to catch ya /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

And a D9 dont blow up! - it cant be destroyed /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif



<center>
http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/sleek190.jpg

... And then I flew home ...
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
</center>

<center> http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/Animation1.gif
Night is better than Day</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:24 PM
Hmmm... sounds like you you were going too fast over the threshold of the runway and didn't actually settle down onto it until you got at least one third of the runway's length. Try to land at the very first part of the runway. It takes prcatice, I can land, if I remember right, every flyable plane in the FB arsenal without even using the brakes at all. With the notable exception of the 262 jet, but I can get it down on a grass runway with only moderate braking. It can be done with practice and experience.

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin - 1755

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:30 PM
lil_labbit wrote:
- You have to bleed off some speed before landing -
- takes much more effort to do that after the patch.
-
- Use Radiator open, full flaps, and - why didn't i
- hear this anywhere:
-
- /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif set prop pitch to 0%
-
-
- that way you get more drag from the prop - but it
- wont give must thrust in this position - so turn it
- back when needed for speedup hehe
-
- landing speed is 155 km/h
I tried the prop pitch, and I did'nt find any apprecialble drop in speed, same with the radiator. I wonder If its a bug?? I fly 109s and in the late g or k, I really have a tough time decelerating.

http://www.stormbirds.com/warbirds/header.jpg


<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_henry_blake.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:38 PM
shouldnt have to do anyhting mentioned above. as soon as we get the throttle back, everything will be fine again

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:41 PM
Are you sure your brakes work?
Are you really going 110 km/h? Maybe it was 210?
Or 1100 ?
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://www.goblins.net/immagini/Logo/tdglogo_eng.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:43 PM
yeah, landing's tough, but I can even land the BI-1, and that's really hard. You just need to put everything to zero when you hit the runway. prop pitch, mixture (if you can) throttle, etc... shut the engine off if you have to! Try to land at the first part of the runway too. It helps.

Boosher-PBNA
----------------
<center>Heaven is a place where the French are the cooks, the British are the butlers, the Germans are the mechanics, and the Swiss are the politicians. Hell is a place where the British are the cooks, the French are the butlers, the Swiss are the mechanics and the Germans are the politicians.<center>
<center>Boosher-ProudBirds-VFW<center>
http://proudbirdswing.tripod.com/proudbirds.htm

http://www.escadrila54.com/logo_sm.jpg

<center><marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"The ProudBirds..Fly High and Proud..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee>

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:45 PM
mike_espo wrote:
- I tried the prop pitch, and I did'nt find any
- apprecialble drop in speed, same with the radiator.
- I wonder If its a bug?? I fly 109s and in the late g
- or k, I really have a tough time decelerating.
-

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif Did you get it off off auto ?

German planes tend to start with auto-setting for prop pitch...

Press Shift-0 (zero that is) and try again - it works really well.

I even am thinking of switching my prop pitch and my throttle controllers... i believe i get better control then - think im gonna try that tomorrow /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center> http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/Animation1.gif
Night is better than Day</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 06:47 PM
Lmao, i just went off ubi after playing online and sumthin REALLY funny happend.............HAHAHAH ok HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHA i shot someones wing off over thier airbase then he spinned ALL the way down to his mates plane and BOOM!! HAHAHAHAH got 2 birds wi one stone

http://www.x-plane.org/users/12thiaptbone/viper.jpg
47|FC

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 08:44 PM
I don't know about the game but in reality to use the prop to increase drag you set max rpm, i.e. fine it off so it is running flat with zero power, it provides a disc effect and a lot of drag. Modern a/c have beta mode which is another way of saying reverse, and to minimise drag on a prop you feather it.

I found the best way to lose speed is to be rough pull some g,
after all its only a bunch of 1's and 0's.