PDA

View Full Version : AMD 64 owners



Bull_Pup
03-13-2004, 06:42 PM
Have any of you tried running FB on windows XP 64bit edition?

I have xp 32bit and xp 64bit on a dual boot.

I decided to load up AEP on the 64bit os. I was very pleased with the performance.

I have only 2 needs which prevent me from using it as my primary os. Track IR2 drivers and ati drivers with opengl support so I can run ogl/perfect mode.

I have my X45 and ch pro pedals using default windows drivers, they work well. I would like a profiler, but its no biggie.

If any of you A64 users dont have 64bit XP I recommend downloading it from microsoft,

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/64bit/downloads/upgrade.asp

Ati doesnt presently offer a 64bit display driver, Nvidia does. There is a default ati driver in xp 64bit that supports directx, but no opengl. Performance in dx is good.

Device drivers and 64bit apps can be found here,

http://www.planetamd64.com/modules/mx_pafiledb/dload.php?sid=7717f307cc2fc0db5171076a38d8bf70

more b4bit xp info, including native device support info.

creative's 64bit drivers sound awesome imo.

[This message was edited by Bull_Pup on Sat March 13 2004 at 09:08 PM.]

Bull_Pup
03-13-2004, 06:42 PM
Have any of you tried running FB on windows XP 64bit edition?

I have xp 32bit and xp 64bit on a dual boot.

I decided to load up AEP on the 64bit os. I was very pleased with the performance.

I have only 2 needs which prevent me from using it as my primary os. Track IR2 drivers and ati drivers with opengl support so I can run ogl/perfect mode.

I have my X45 and ch pro pedals using default windows drivers, they work well. I would like a profiler, but its no biggie.

If any of you A64 users dont have 64bit XP I recommend downloading it from microsoft,

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/64bit/downloads/upgrade.asp

Ati doesnt presently offer a 64bit display driver, Nvidia does. There is a default ati driver in xp 64bit that supports directx, but no opengl. Performance in dx is good.

Device drivers and 64bit apps can be found here,

http://www.planetamd64.com/modules/mx_pafiledb/dload.php?sid=7717f307cc2fc0db5171076a38d8bf70

more b4bit xp info, including native device support info.

creative's 64bit drivers sound awesome imo.

[This message was edited by Bull_Pup on Sat March 13 2004 at 09:08 PM.]

Bull_Pup
03-13-2004, 06:45 PM
http://www.collosumus.net/amd64/

forgot to add the last link.

tsisqua
03-13-2004, 08:14 PM
Thanks Bull. After testing XP 64 bit, I've decided to go on using the old 32 until (as you've noticed) there is better driver support. I ran FB just fine, but my sound card will not work. It's 16 bit, and XP64 is only backwards compatible to 32 bit peripherals. The bad thing is that this PC was built with an unsupported, integrated chip, for which there is no driver support at the moment. But, yes, when the bugs are finally ironed out this thing is gonna ROCK!

Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

BaldieJr
03-13-2004, 09:26 PM
Got it, tried it, awaiting trackir support. After that, goodbye 32-bit XP. 64-bit XP is WAAAY faster. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

Angelus897
03-13-2004, 09:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
... but my sound card will not work. It's 16 bit, and XP64 is only backwards compatible to 32 bit peripherals...
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

16-bit doesn't mean it's a 16-bit peripheral; it means that it's digital audio is 16-bits. My Audigy is 24-bits, and that's the highest you can get, so far.

Bull_Pup
03-13-2004, 10:07 PM
.

tsisqua
03-14-2004, 07:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Angelus897:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
... but my sound card will not work. It's 16 bit, and XP64 is only backwards compatible to 32 bit peripherals...
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

16-bit doesn't mean it's a 16-bit peripheral; it means that it's digital audio is 16-bits. My Audigy is 24-bits, and that's the highest you can get, so far.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for pointing out what an idiot I am when it comes to these things.

So I suppose that what I am really waiting for is a driver then. That's good news. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

Obi_Kwiet
03-14-2004, 07:55 AM
Hey, i have a 64 3200+ i just built, and I downloaded 64bit. I hesetate to install it because i don't want to reformat my HD, and then reform it to do 32 bit again. When you put in on can you switch bettween the two? Do you have ot reformat to do it?

BaldieJr
03-14-2004, 08:48 AM
If you install it on another drive (i put it on Ehttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif, it will not bother your Win32 installation. In fact, it will give you a selection screen during boot-up that allows you the choice of win32 or win64.

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

mortoma
03-14-2004, 08:54 AM
Yes, I'd say you'd have to reformat and you will not be able to switch between the two. If I were you I'd simply buy another hard drive and install it on that. That way you could go back to the older version if you wanted. I mean if you can afford it...Seems to me they practically give away large hard drives these days.

Obi_Kwiet
03-14-2004, 01:37 PM
Meh. I'll just creat a partition. What elce am i going ot do with 120gigs

HellToupee
03-14-2004, 01:45 PM
just bug oleg for a linux port and get a real 64bit os.

http://lamppost.mine.nu/ahclan/files/sigs/spitwhiners1.jpg

TPCMike
03-14-2004, 02:56 PM
I've been BETA testing XP64 and there are still too many compatibility problems for my liking but it's getting there. (Flash still won't install with 64bit IE for example).

It will be fast though.

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

RobertNighthawk
03-14-2004, 04:33 PM
If it is faster and runs FB, I will dig it. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

I am off to buy new discs as I believe my new burner at 40X does not like this old pile of 16X blank discs I have and I am not getting the damn thing to burn the OS image to the CD. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif I only had to burn like 3 of them before I figured it out. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Thanks all for the 64 bit encouragement (esp. to Bullpup) I am determined to install it tonight.

S!

Bull_Pup
03-14-2004, 04:55 PM
you should be able to limit the max burn speed in nero.

Good luck anyway! Just think of the knowledge and experience you gain. No pain, no gain. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

RobertNighthawk
03-14-2004, 10:03 PM
New disc worked the first time. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Those ones I was using were very aged. I believe the box had the Edison name brand on it. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif