PDA

View Full Version : Trouble With Downloaded Missions/Campaigns



Breeze147
05-17-2004, 06:25 AM
I download, unzip, drag and drop folders where they should go, but I cannot find the .ini file I'm supposed to edit to get the missions/campaigns to show in the game. I spent 2 hours of a sunny Sunday afternoon in May trying to figure it out. Can someone point me in the right direction? Specifically, I tried to download the Crimea 43 campaign and another single I-153 mission.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

Breeze147
05-17-2004, 06:25 AM
I download, unzip, drag and drop folders where they should go, but I cannot find the .ini file I'm supposed to edit to get the missions/campaigns to show in the game. I spent 2 hours of a sunny Sunday afternoon in May trying to figure it out. Can someone point me in the right direction? Specifically, I tried to download the Crimea 43 campaign and another single I-153 mission.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

Breeze147
05-17-2004, 07:54 AM
Seriously, folks, I'm on WinXP Home, I have opened everything imaginable to find these .ini files that are supposed to be edited and I just can't find them. Doing this stuff is just not as simple as a lot of people think. I'm not whining, I'm just saying, I want to try out these user made missions/campaigns and I just don't know how to manipulate the files to get them to work. I read the Read Me's over and over and I just don't get it. Sorry, I'm in the early stages of senility. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

fabianfred
05-17-2004, 08:05 AM
we are talking about il2/FB aren't we?

there is no need to mess with any 'ini.' file if the mission/campaign has been written correctly.....

take a mission... called 'blast' consisting of 'blast.properties and blast.mis'
these two files are put in the correct folder.... i.e. FB/missions/single/US/p-47
then you open the single mission screen from the main FB screen, and 'blast should appear under US... then the P47 tab.... go!

campaigns should work in a similar way.....??

Antony_B
05-17-2004, 08:20 AM
Hi there,
Don't despair. If you are running Il-2FB you shouldn't have to edit any files to get a campaign to work. In each campaign folder there should be the mission files (e.g. mission1.properties and mission1.mis) for each mission of the campaign and also the following single files: campaign.ini and info.properties. The campaign won't show up in the game without these last two files. I downloaded a Crimea campaign the other day and it didn't have these two files - and didn't show up. But all the other campaigns I've downloaded do have these files and work fine (this even seems to include campaigns for the original Il-2 Sturmovik, including Crimea43). Try downloading another one.

However, if you are running the old Il-2 Sturmovik you do have to edit a file in the country's campaign mission folder (called all.ini or something like that. You'd just add the entry Crimea43 to the list.

Hope this helps

[This message was edited by Antony_B on Mon May 17 2004 at 07:41 AM.]

[This message was edited by Antony_B on Mon May 17 2004 at 07:49 AM.]

Breeze147
05-17-2004, 08:28 AM
Yes, I am referring to IL2/FB/AEP/BOE. Maybe the Crimea43 I was referring to was written for the original. (It's the first one on the front page of this website under missions). Thanks for the info. If anyone else has anything, I'm all ears.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

Antony_B
05-17-2004, 08:55 AM
I just tried out that campaign and it works fine in IL-2FB-AEP. Just make sure that the files are in C:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Campaign\RU\Crimea43 (or wherever the game is installed on your machine). Forget about editing the all.ini file; you don't have or need that in FB.

All those campaigns and missions on the Il-2 website front page were written in the Il-2 Sturmovik days, but should still work. For newer campaigns which use the FB-AEP aircraft have a look at: http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/

Breeze147
05-18-2004, 06:25 AM
I went home last night and spent another 2 hours trying to load the aforemntioned campaign. I changed the file extensions on the campaign file to .ini and on the info file to .properties. I still does not show up in the game.

At the risk of kicking this old horse to death, I know this is an old campaign but I am just using it to try to get the download thing going and I am hitting a brick wall. I just don't understand how one member can download it and run it with no problem and I have spent over 4 hours on it and I still can't get it to run.

On the subject of Netwings, I found out that I cannot download anything from that site because of privacy software conflicts with my Norton Anti-Virus and possibly my download manager (Get Right or MSN Download Manager).

I hate to say it buddies, mates, amis, and comrades, but I'm pretty much the ******* when it comes to this stuff. I feel really FUBAR right now. I sometimes wish I had stuck to Solitaire and Minesweeper.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

plumps_
05-18-2004, 09:11 AM
Disable Getright before you download anything from Netwings. Right click on the Getright tray icon and select 'Close Getright'.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

plumps_
05-18-2004, 10:07 AM
The Info.properties and campaign.ini files in this campaign do have their extension. If you don't see it in Windows Explorer the reason must be your settings in Explorer. There is a option 'Hide known extensions" (or similar) somewhere in the Explorer menu. Uncheck the box. Sorry, I can't tell you the exact names as I don't work with an English interface.

If you have added extensions to files that do have extensions already you must have broken something that should have worked.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

plumps_
05-18-2004, 11:45 AM
If your question is 'What to do now?' my answer would be:
1. Backup your campaigns.ini just in case something goes wrong (you find it in the 'Users' folder).
2. Delete the campaign folder '...\IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Campaign\RU\Crimea43'
3. Unzip the downloaded campaign to '...\IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles' again.
4. Start FB and select the campaign from the menu. (Career/New/Ussr)

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Breeze147
05-18-2004, 12:07 PM
Thank you. I will try that when I get home and let you know how I make out.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

Breeze147
05-19-2004, 06:28 AM
I did absolutely everything correct last night in downloading and installing the files and the campaign still does not show up in the game.

I did absolutely everything that was suggested as far as downloading files from Netwings and I still get the leech file.

I give my wholehearted thanks to the 3 guys who tried to help me. It seems as though I posess a pc that is completely unique to the rest of the ones in the world.

I guess I'll have to go through life without these two resources.

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

Antony_B
05-19-2004, 07:46 AM
I'm sure you'll come back to it in a day or two and immediately spot what the problem is. That happens to me sometimes. It's probably something so simple that it is being overlooked. Hope so anyway. Good luck http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Breeze147
05-20-2004, 06:25 AM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifFinally!!!!! Just like you said, Antony, it was something really stupid. Well, I feel somewhat better now. You are a good guy for hanging with me after nearly everyone else on this forum brushed me completely off. I remember you for that, buddy. Thanks again!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/air_power/ap16.jpg

mungee
05-30-2004, 12:18 AM
Dear Breeze147 - what was it that you did? - I'm experiencing the same problem of not "seeing" a (downloaded and installed)campaign folder in my DE campaigns main folder. Thanks.