PDA

View Full Version : Tech question



altstiff
06-30-2004, 04:33 PM
Ok, I'm considering upgrading JUST my CPU to a 3.06GHZ with HT.

Will I notice much of an improvment or should I save the $$ and wait it out to get an 800fsb mobo and cpu?

I wait for the debate to begin and will thank all those in advance (specs below).

See you in the fence....

Asus P4B 533 Intel 2.4GHZ
1 GIG Ram
GeForce FX 5700 256MB (56.72)
SB Audigy
MSFF2 & X45 throttle

altstiff
06-30-2004, 04:33 PM
Ok, I'm considering upgrading JUST my CPU to a 3.06GHZ with HT.

Will I notice much of an improvment or should I save the $$ and wait it out to get an 800fsb mobo and cpu?

I wait for the debate to begin and will thank all those in advance (specs below).

See you in the fence....

Asus P4B 533 Intel 2.4GHZ
1 GIG Ram
GeForce FX 5700 256MB (56.72)
SB Audigy
MSFF2 & X45 throttle

CDN_Merlin
06-30-2004, 05:21 PM
You would need to upgrade your MB, CPU and RAM (dual channel) to take advantage of the 800FSB.

Beta tester for:
C&C Generals, Independance War 2,Starfleet Command 2,Settlers IV,Tzar,Allegiance,Starfleet Command,MAX 2,Defiance

Weather_Man
06-30-2004, 05:21 PM
You would see some improvement, but probably not enough to warrant the money. You can overclock your current CPU and get the same results.

Just pure Mhz upgrades are generally not worth the investment, IMO. Only if you are upgrading the total package does it yield significant results. Higher FSB, more CPU cache and faster RAM is what you want.

A better vid card would probably make more of an impact than the cpu upgrade you mentioned.

http://banners.wunderground.com/banner/smalltemptr/language/www/US/TX/Dallas.gif

WTE_Galway
06-30-2004, 05:25 PM
although overclocking can be risky with a "good" CPU if you are about to replace this CPU anyway why not overclock it .. if it cooks .. so what ?

Dawg-of-death
06-30-2004, 06:09 PM
Cool it propery and you wont cook it.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WTE_Galway:
although overclocking can be risky with a "good" CPU if you are about to replace this CPU anyway why not overclock it .. if it cooks .. so what ?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Bad-MF(Mongrel Fighter) AKA .......Dawg-of-death

altstiff
06-30-2004, 07:36 PM
Funny thing is I can O/C to 2.7GHZ with ease (using default heatsink and fan and thermal grease).

Even with it clocked higer I get no performance gain. In fact I get less performance.

I was *thinking* with HT and the 600MHZ clock speed increase it might be a good idea.

See you in the fence....

Asus P4B 533 Intel 2.4GHZ
1 GIG Ram
GeForce FX 5700 256MB (56.72)
SB Audigy
MSFF2 & X45 throttle

Flying_Merkava
06-30-2004, 08:09 PM
Only people who are wussies and don't have experience with overclocking say things like "it'll burn" or worse "you computer will blow up." I ran my T-bred XP 2600 overlocked to 85 celcius running a bench mark with fan turned off, it crashed at 85 celcius. That's what happens -your pc craches. So go ahead and experiment on you pc and dont be a pc.

bun-bun195333
06-30-2004, 08:18 PM
You'll put your eye out, kid.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

http://home.comcast.net/~argylestransom/Pics/A10Bun.jpg

WTE_Galway
06-30-2004, 08:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Flying_Merkava:
Only people who are wussies and don't have experience with overclocking say things like "it'll burn" or worse "you computer will blow up." I ran my T-bred XP 2600 overlocked to 85 celcius running a bench mark with fan turned off, it crashed at 85 celcius. That's what happens -your pc craches. So go ahead and experiment on you pc and dont be a pc.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


managed to fry an old TNT video card by overclocking it

but it was SERIOUSLY overclocked .. like by about 40%

Bearcat99
06-30-2004, 08:23 PM
Hey Alstiff.. you have a decent rig now... try OCng a bit and check your settings. If I were you with a rig like that I would just wait...and start saving for the BoB upgrade in 06/07... Also.. I see you use an X45/MSFFB2 combo... why dont you use the X45 stick as a button bay? Hit the link in my sig to our squad site and go to the downloads page and DL my X45/MSFFB2 combo profiles. Follow the directions in the readme.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | Sturmovik Essentials (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

IMMERSION BABY!!

altstiff
07-01-2004, 07:59 AM
Hey Bearcat. Your the reason I got an X45 (hope your on commision!). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Like I posted above, I have O/C this system to as high as 2.7GHZ using only the stock heatsink and fan (and some thermal compound over the defualt tape).

My performance is actually LOWER when I'm O/C. I was hoping for the $200 USD on a 3.06GHZ with H/T I would get a 20-25% increase.

Myabe I will sit it out for a bit. I'm looking at around $550-$600 USD before I can upgrade my CPU/MOBO and Ram.

See you in the fence....

Asus P4B 533 Intel 2.4GHZ
1 GIG Ram
GeForce FX 5700 256MB (56.72)
SB Audigy
MSFF2 & X45 throttle