PDA

View Full Version : How Do I Survive As a Kensei?

Vakris_One
06-16-2017, 12:53 AM
I played the early alpha and the subsequent betas and finally decided to buy the game. I main Kensei and I used to win close to 90% of my fights against any characters and against most players. So I'm not a newbie but I have obviously missed a lot in the game.

I've stuck to doing Duels and Brawls just to get back in the groove and because my characters are low gear level. I am getting destroyed by veteran players! There is nothing my Kensei can do - it seems like everyone is intimately familiar with his moveset and knows exactly how to shut him down. They are parrying everything the Kensei can do: his side dodge attack, his top dodge forward attack, his top heavy unblockable, his top heavy cancel to uninterruptible side heavy, guardbreaks... it's crazy. I cannot surprise or feint any of my opponents no matter how much I mix up my attacks. And I'm going, "wtf happened to attacking in this game? Everyone is doing turtle defence + unstoppable counter attack and spamming guardbreak.

The Kensei seems too slow and sluggish to be able to win 1v1s. It feels as if the current meta has left him behind and made him into an obsolete relic of yester year. Or am I just doing something wrong? Any high level Kensei players out there willing to give advice on what I have to do to play my beloved Kensei?

Much obliged for any tips and tricks to playing the Kensei against high level players, which seems to be the whole playerbase. There doesn't seem to be many new players to speak of.

XxHunterHxX
06-16-2017, 01:14 AM
You just w8 for them to atack first...and parry them in to gb coz its 100% garanteed now and thats pretty much how you go about it....

and gb in to the wall for a garanteed top heavy......